We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, plain but lacking free wifi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #108 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable, plain but lacking free wifi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable in this out of town location, not far from Zuid. The breakfast buffet is very disappointing but the evening bar service is very good - sadly there are very few bars nearby.

The staff are very helpful and attentive, speaking perfect English.

Sadly there is no free Wi-Fi, but a paid service is available.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mr. Wilson,


Thank for you taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate that you have taken the effort to inform us about your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Because we want to make our foreign guests feel as welcome as possible we make sure that all our staff members speak good English. Please be informed that Wi-Fi in our luxurious Executive rooms is included. I am sorry to hear that you are dissapointed about our breakfast buffet, if you have any further suggestions about our breakfast please contact us directly.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    521
    222
    66
    41
See reviews for
135
639
57
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iola, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the bilderberg on accident. We got to amsterdam a day early and had no hotel. OBama was in town for the g7 and we were nervous about finding a hotel as we heard many press were on the area filling up hotels. We found this on priceline. It was beautiful and quiet. Not in the center of town, but a quick tram ride to leidesplein. It was spacious and clean. Linens were could quality and bed was comfortable. Our reservation couldn't be found when we arrived. They offered us free beverage and internet usage while we waited. They sorted it out and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Biggest pitfall by far was No FREE Wifi?! It cost 17 euros per 24 hour period, which I thought was ridiculous. The location has a very pleasantville atmosphere. Other than wifi, no complaints.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thommy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Thommy,


Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased hearing that you enjoyed our hotel, service and location. Please be advised that our Executive rooms do have free Wi-Fi and are even more spacious.
We hope to welcome you again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked this through secret escapes so at first I wasn't sure about the location but it's actually a really lovely base with some great cafes and restaurants just minutes away. It's also in walking distance to some attractions but if you don''t fancy the walk there is also the tram in close proximity and you can buy tickets from the hotel. We were also given a good map of the area for free which came with a mobile app.

The staff are excellent, really informative and friendly but professional at the same time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the executive rooms and found it very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,


How nice to start the day reading your review. I will pass on your positive comments to our entire staff. We give all our guests a free city map and a brochure with touristic information.
Our front desk and doormen are always willing to help you find the hotspots in Amsterdam.
For the best and personal service please make reservations directly with us.
We hope to welcome you again.


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our three day stay in an executive room at the hotel, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend the hotel for sight seeing in Amsterdam using the nearby tram to get to the museums, centre and canal boat trips. The hotel sells 48 and 72 hour tram tickets which are good value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Peter,


Thank you so much for recommending the Bilderberg Garden Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services. We do indeed sell public transport tickets, next to that we also sell entrance tickets for the famous Rijks and Van Gogh Museum.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

At first I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't right in the center. But it's a quick enough walk away, and I was very thankful for the quiet nights of sleep! What I did NOT like was the fact that Internet is not included in the cost of the room. In this day and age, with the room rates as high as they are, I find this very unfriendly of any hotels. Also, the service, while friendly, was not perfect: I ordered room service, but apparently the girl who took the order forgot to write down my room number, so the food was only sent up after I called an hour later to ask what happened. The upside was that the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest surprise was the restaurant downstairs with their amazing food! Yes, you do pay for the high quality, but frankly when you travel for work, all you want is a good night's sleep and great food, and for this reason I give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgNY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to write this postive review. As you mentioned our hotel is located in a quiet area (Museum Disctrict). However we are still in walking distance from the city center and nearby public transportation. In our more luxurious Executive rooms Wi-Fi is included. I do appologize about the miscommunication regarding your roomservice order, and will discuss this with our roomservice staff. Furthermore I will pass on your complimenst to our housekeeping and restaurant employees for your note about the cleanliness of the room and high quality of the food. Hopefully we may welcome you again.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We've spent 2 nights in Bilderberg Garden for a weekend in the beginning of March 2014. Hotel is really far from the center. Of course it depends on what you mean "center". I consider it as Dam Square and Red Lights District. So by walk it takes at least 25 min, if you don't run 30 km/h when you are on vacation :)
Tram station is 200 m far from hotel entrance, trams go every 10 min, there is a schedule which they follow strictly.
Around the hotel there is quite area with private houses and green park.
But we didn't find good place to eat, everywhere cafés offer only sandwiches/burgers or organic food. We like meat, so we used to eat in China Town in the center of city.
Deluxe Room was clean and cosy, not very big, bed was comfortable. Interior needs to be renewed. Special word for a balcony: amazing! 2 cheers, 2 tables, green plants - it makes nice atmosphere to sit in the morning with cap of coffee.
I will barely choose this hotel again for a weekend, but because of great balcony and perfect bed I can advise Bilderberg Garden for people who likes to sleep very well and drink morning coffee outside.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yukkaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe room with balcony, especially in the summer it is nice to end the day with a cold drink on your balcony. You mentioned the lack of good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Our reception and doormen can always help you to find a cosy and good restaurant. Closeby there are several nice areas to have dinner. In case you are coming back to Amsterdam I can recommand the Beethovenstraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat and de Pijp, wich are all nearby.
We are located in the Museum District and are also in walking distance of the famous Leidseplein and highend shopping street P.C. Hooftstraat. If you like to see the famous market in Amsterdam, the Albert Cuyp market is only 10 minutes away from us.

We hope to welcome you again and let you discover the nice area around our hotel.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed. W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night break in Amsterdam, and we couldn't have been happier with the Bilderberg Garden Hotel - we're quite bemused by some negative reviews we've read here. The location is great - in a lovely, peaceful area, but with a couple of minutes' walk in either direction to catch a tram into the centre. We walked to the Rijksmuseum from the hotel, which was a very pleasant 10 minute walk. As for the hotel itself - we booked an all-in-one break with flights, so we chose one of the cheaper hotels on offer, to keep the overall cost down. Therefore we were very pleased with the quality of the accommodation we were found at the Bilderberg. We had a very nice room, with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in a hotel, and it had all the usual little touches of luxury, like the bathrobes and slippers, and the organic toiletries. I'm not sure what some people expect for the money - we're not talking The Savoy here, but it's a very comfortable, very warm and, we think, very well situated hotel, which we will definitely be recommending to anyone who's interested.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PlymouthJazzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service as posible and appreciate that you have noticed our good location and the litte touches of luxury. Did you know that we also have Executive rooms for even more comfort. These rooms include free Wi-Fi, Nespesso machine, extra large bath towels and a Jacuzzi.
We higly appreciate your positive review and are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Property: Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing