We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #108 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Don't normally write reviews for hotels and haven't even left yet (last of two nights here) but the service here has been AMAZING.

didn't give the hotel 5 stars on everything solely because the room sizes are slightly small compared to North American standards and we are traveling with an 11 month old baby. Also there was an old receipt on the floor between a stool and the desk from a previous guest so housekeeping gets a slight minus for that. Also one phone in the room was broken and didn't get fixed but no biggie. If these are your only problems then really there's no problem!

But - front desk staff super helpful, super friendly and patient with all my numerous questions/requests.

Bar staff - frank was the best. Took a husband and baby free break in the bar after baby fell asleep both nights and frank made me very welcome. Super friendly And wonderful service.

If we come back to Amsterdam will definitely try to stay here again.

We stayed in an executive room - not sure if it's worth the extra as I didn't see a regular room. But figured it might be nicer with a baby. They have very nice cribs with cute duvets for the babies and toddlers. The room is a little small if you do have a baby but definitely manageable.

Otherwise the room is very well appointed and comfortable. They even leave the lights on and some music playing for you for when you return to the room.

Tram was very easy to catch. Less than 5 min walk to the stop with about 15-20 min to dam square.

Overall one of the most memorable hotels I've stayed at based on the service alone. I'm known as very picky usually so that's saying something. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest,


How wonderful to hear your stay in our hotel was so memorable for you in a postive way.
We always strive to provide the best service as possible and I will give your compliments to the front desk and Frank. I regret that I did not have the chance to read this review earlier to thank you personally during your stay. We will pass on the two notes about the cleanliness and phone to our managers of Housekeeping and Maintenance. Thank you for noticing our turndown service. By providing our turndown service we make sure you have a goodnight sleep.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable in this out of town location, not far from Zuid. The breakfast buffet is very disappointing but the evening bar service is very good - sadly there are very few bars nearby.

The staff are very helpful and attentive, speaking perfect English.

Sadly there is no free Wi-Fi, but a paid service is available.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Mr. Wilson,


Thank for you taking the time to write this review about us. We appreciate that you have taken the effort to inform us about your stay. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Because we want to make our foreign guests feel as welcome as possible we make sure that all our staff members speak good English. Please be informed that Wi-Fi in our luxurious Executive rooms is included. I am sorry to hear that you are dissapointed about our breakfast buffet, if you have any further suggestions about our breakfast please contact us directly.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the bilderberg on accident. We got to amsterdam a day early and had no hotel. OBama was in town for the g7 and we were nervous about finding a hotel as we heard many press were on the area filling up hotels. We found this on priceline. It was beautiful and quiet. Not in the center of town, but a quick tram ride to leidesplein. It was spacious and clean. Linens were could quality and bed was comfortable. Our reservation couldn't be found when we arrived. They offered us free beverage and internet usage while we waited. They sorted it out and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Biggest pitfall by far was No FREE Wifi?! It cost 17 euros per 24 hour period, which I thought was ridiculous. The location has a very pleasantville atmosphere. Other than wifi, no complaints.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thommy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Thommy,


Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased hearing that you enjoyed our hotel, service and location. Please be advised that our Executive rooms do have free Wi-Fi and are even more spacious.
We hope to welcome you again in the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked this through secret escapes so at first I wasn't sure about the location but it's actually a really lovely base with some great cafes and restaurants just minutes away. It's also in walking distance to some attractions but if you don''t fancy the walk there is also the tram in close proximity and you can buy tickets from the hotel. We were also given a good map of the area for free which came with a mobile app.

The staff are excellent, really informative and friendly but professional at the same time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the executive rooms and found it very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,


How nice to start the day reading your review. I will pass on your positive comments to our entire staff. We give all our guests a free city map and a brochure with touristic information.
Our front desk and doormen are always willing to help you find the hotspots in Amsterdam.
For the best and personal service please make reservations directly with us.
We hope to welcome you again.


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We enjoyed our three day stay in an executive room at the hotel, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend the hotel for sight seeing in Amsterdam using the nearby tram to get to the museums, centre and canal boat trips. The hotel sells 48 and 72 hour tram tickets which are good value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Peter,


Thank you so much for recommending the Bilderberg Garden Hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services. We do indeed sell public transport tickets, next to that we also sell entrance tickets for the famous Rijks and Van Gogh Museum.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

At first I was disappointed that the hotel wasn't right in the center. But it's a quick enough walk away, and I was very thankful for the quiet nights of sleep! What I did NOT like was the fact that Internet is not included in the cost of the room. In this day and age, with the room rates as high as they are, I find this very unfriendly of any hotels. Also, the service, while friendly, was not perfect: I ordered room service, but apparently the girl who took the order forgot to write down my room number, so the food was only sent up after I called an hour later to ask what happened. The upside was that the room was clean and comfortable. The biggest surprise was the restaurant downstairs with their amazing food! Yes, you do pay for the high quality, but frankly when you travel for work, all you want is a good night's sleep and great food, and for this reason I give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgNY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest,


We appreciate the time you have taken to write this postive review. As you mentioned our hotel is located in a quiet area (Museum Disctrict). However we are still in walking distance from the city center and nearby public transportation. In our more luxurious Executive rooms Wi-Fi is included. I do appologize about the miscommunication regarding your roomservice order, and will discuss this with our roomservice staff. Furthermore I will pass on your complimenst to our housekeeping and restaurant employees for your note about the cleanliness of the room and high quality of the food. Hopefully we may welcome you again.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We've spent 2 nights in Bilderberg Garden for a weekend in the beginning of March 2014. Hotel is really far from the center. Of course it depends on what you mean "center". I consider it as Dam Square and Red Lights District. So by walk it takes at least 25 min, if you don't run 30 km/h when you are on vacation :)
Tram station is 200 m far from hotel entrance, trams go every 10 min, there is a schedule which they follow strictly.
Around the hotel there is quite area with private houses and green park.
But we didn't find good place to eat, everywhere cafés offer only sandwiches/burgers or organic food. We like meat, so we used to eat in China Town in the center of city.
Deluxe Room was clean and cosy, not very big, bed was comfortable. Interior needs to be renewed. Special word for a balcony: amazing! 2 cheers, 2 tables, green plants - it makes nice atmosphere to sit in the morning with cap of coffee.
I will barely choose this hotel again for a weekend, but because of great balcony and perfect bed I can advise Bilderberg Garden for people who likes to sleep very well and drink morning coffee outside.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yukkaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe room with balcony, especially in the summer it is nice to end the day with a cold drink on your balcony. You mentioned the lack of good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Our reception and doormen can always help you to find a cosy and good restaurant. Closeby there are several nice areas to have dinner. In case you are coming back to Amsterdam I can recommand the Beethovenstraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat and de Pijp, wich are all nearby.
We are located in the Museum District and are also in walking distance of the famous Leidseplein and highend shopping street P.C. Hooftstraat. If you like to see the famous market in Amsterdam, the Albert Cuyp market is only 10 minutes away from us.

We hope to welcome you again and let you discover the nice area around our hotel.
Once again thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Ed. W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#91 of 375 in Amsterdam
806 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#117 of 375 in Amsterdam
889 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#30 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £91 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing