We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - but head to Cornelis Schuystraat for food and Vondel Park for the walk into town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #110 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location - but head to Cornelis Schuystraat for food and Vondel Park for the walk into town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in late May 2014. The location of the hotel is good – reasonably close to Vondel park and the Concertgebouw. a 10 minute walk through the Vondel park gets you into the western part of the canal district not far from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gough museum. The beds were comfortable and the washing facilities reasonably good. There were very few drawers in the room. We were woken every morning before 7am by activity in the loading bay which seemed to be immediately below our room 1123. On our last day there was very noisy and prolonged activity by a dust cart which started at about 6am.That really spoiled the experience. For the price we would have hoped for breakfast. Breakfast was expensive (Euro 22.50 or Euro17.50 if pre booked) and we were able to find excellent breakfasts just down the street in Brasserie Van Dam and Pain Quotidien at half the price of the hotel option. These are located on Cornelis Schuystraat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms abopve the loading bay if you want to sleep beyond 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristopherHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mr. Head,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

My sincerest apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay.
I will discuss this matter with all our suppliers.

Hopefully we can welcome you another time in the nearest future to make you stay even better than your previous visit.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    522
    222
    67
    41
See reviews for
135
639
57
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I've stayed at the Bilderbeck twice this month.

(I've also stayed at the more famous, more expensive more corporate hotel across the road, which was a bit too cookie cutter for me. I would always choose to stay at the Bilderbeck)

The Bilderbeck is in a convenient quiet location and the staff are friendly and helpful

I've had two types of rooms - for my first stay I had a superior room, with its own balcony. This week I stayed in a much smaller one which was stuffed with so much furniture that I could barely move (1417 - management, please take out some of the chairs, there isn't enough space for them!) but both rooms did the job and had all the facilities I needed, though the desk in the smaller room was teeny.

Beds in both rooms were really comfortable. Bathrooms were ok, though the hair dryer on both occasions was dreadful. All rooms have Nespresso coffee machines, and they leave an apple for you by the side of your bed, which is a nice touch

I've had breakfast in the dining room, which is excellent, and also through room service, which is more basic, but gives you everything you need(great coffee).

I'd lost my toothbrush and rang reception to ask if they had a spare, within 5 minutes someone was at my door with one for me - thanks Bilderbeck

I used the free internet, the speed was enough for me

This hotel has a really nice atmosphere, it's cosy and civilised and the staff make you feel very welcome. I'll definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jane,


Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our level of service, atmosphere, location, comfortable beds and breakfast. Concerning your note about the different room were you have stayed the second time, we will take it in consideration during our managers meeting, thank you for letting us know.

Do you plan to come back to Amsterdam? If so, could you please let us know directly as we would love to show you our more spacious rooms. Our email address is: garden.reservation@bilderberg.nl


Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got this hotel on a deal and 12 of us stayed here. It was not expensive and was close to the tram stop for access to the city. I had no issues, it comes across as more for business use that tourist but other that that all good. They do have a thing for Apples (you get fresh apples every night) and the bar staff where great. The reason this is 4 and not 5 star is when we checked out they tried to add 220 euros to our bill and would not believe us when we explained we did not spend it! (not great at 4am) I would recommend it as a hotel but suggest checking your bill carefully!

Room Tip: The doubles are nice than the twins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Abai,


Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, it means a lot to us.
It is great to hear that my colleagues have all been very helpful. We will make sure that our bar staff will receive your kind compliments. I am sorry to hear that there were some difficulties upon your check out. If there is still anything not clear to you regarding your invoice, please contact us directly by email: garden.reservation@bilderberg.nl and I will take care of it personally.

We really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
299 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

i had 4 nights here and moved from the NH Grand Krasapolosky which could learn a lot from this hotel. we had an executive room which was big, bright and well apppointed. Large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. Nespresso machine in room was good too. Staff all very friendly and although we did not eat in the hotel the restautrants looked good. lots of lovely places to eat nearby and tram stop a block away and less than 15 mins into town ( only 30 mins walk).

tiny negatives-air conditioning very old so very noisy and not that effectiove and no ability to opn a window so the room was very stuffy ( this extended to the corridors too). Also i think all modern hotels should have a seprate hairdryer as hate the "whisperers" on the wall but that is a personal thing!

Room Tip: executive rooms worth it for extra space and free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Katie,


Thank you for sharing your opinion and experience on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our Executive rooms and our friendly staff members.
Concerning your remark about not being able to open your window. We do have rooms available with windows that can be opened. For your next visit contact us directly and make a request for a room were the windows can be opened. Also we do have seperate hairdryers available upon request. Our front desk is more than happy to bring this up to your room at any time.

We really hope to welcome you back another time and that you can experience our lovely restaurant de Kersentuin.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Bilderberg Garden, and were pleased with everything we found there. Further, it's easy walking distance to much of the area which interested us, namely the museum district. The elegant street was quiet, the food was tasty, and staff really helpful. We'd go back any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Catti,


How lovely to read your friendly review about the Bilderberg Garden Hotel. Thank you very much!
We really hope to welcome you and your daughter another time.


Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from 3 days in this hotel. Having been to Amsterdam previously and stayed in a hotel in the canal ring this was more relaxed and altogether more suited to a relaxing break. We booked an executive room which I would recommend as it is one of only 20 or so with its own lift to the third floor. The room was spacious in Dutch terms, well appointed and just what was expected. Breakfast in the hotel was included and this was more than adequate for a busy day in the city. If it had not been included then there are loads of cafes serving breakfast within a 5 / 10 minute walk from the hotel. As far as location is concerned it is about a 15 minute walk from the Museum quarter which is best achieved by walking through Vondel Park which is full of activity. I suppose overall I would say this hotel is in the Fulham / Chelsea area of the West End of London. Close enough to be very pleasant but just far enough away from the centre to be quieter.

Room Tip: If your budget will stretch go for an executive room
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Button08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailled review.
Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our modern and spacious Executive rooms which include WI-FI, Nespresso machine and extra ammenities.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel.
Don't hesitate to contact us when you are visiting Amsterdam again in the future.

Warm regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel was in a much quieter part of town (far from the madding crowd) and had easy access to all the attractions with a tram stop around the corner. The room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed and maid service twice daily. The staff were extremely helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant although it looked extremely lovely. We travelled by public transport to and from the airport and it was extremely easy to get to the hotel. Would definitely stay there again, first class choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel. It sounds like you had a great time exploring all of the Amsterdam attractions.
Please be advised that the tramtickets and tickets for the main museums are available at the reception desk.
Hopefully you can visit us again and will be able to experience our fine restaurant De Kersentuin.
We wish you a great day.

Kind regards,

Ed W.M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Property: Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing