We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just too expencive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #120 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2008

room is good, beds are very comfy, but it is not special when i think about it after paying almost 300 euro for one night, breakfast for two and parking at the hotel.
parking is not a problem in the area by the way.
this place of amsterdam is also nice and you feel safe outside
but 230 euro just for a room is to much
i had an upgraded room, but i could here my neighbours talking to each other (there was a closed door between the rooms)
also the jaccuzy is not special (save the money for this)
breakfast is also expencive and not as good as i hoped for
many times we had better breakfast !
we had a good time but next time i take another hotel and save some money
city center is 20 minutes walking

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
There are newer reviews for Bilderberg Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2008

The hotel was nice, but I would have expected more from a 5*. Have stayed in nice 4* ones. Towels and sheets were old, there was even a hole in the sheets! Carpets in halls and elevators were dirty. Otherwise nice lobby and good restaurant, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank inga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My five month old son, two dogs (can't leave dogs in the room if you're not there), husband, and I stayed in this hotel for almost two weeks while waiting our apartment to be ready. The porters were incredibly helpful, room service and staff at the bar were fabulous, the front desk was hit or miss. Some of the staff went above and beyond (found us daytime quarters for our dogs, gave us suggestions on where to eat/live/visit/etc). Some of the staff told us they were too busy to fax documents for us, turned their nose up at an unusual request, etc. We figured out quickly who to ask for help and stayed away from the other staff. Housekeeping was fabulous--always had a green apple and turn down ready for us at 7PM. Everything was a little expensive but the room service was yummy, the service was pleasant, and it was located in a lovely neighborhood. The only downside (which for my needs was a very large downside) was that the internet was down for quite a few days and when it came back up, we had a very slow poor connection.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any businessperson.
In response to those saying the rooms weren't very large--I found them to be quite large. We came with 10 bags and a ton of baby gear but still had quite a bit of room left for ourselves!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtkinsonsinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed in the hotel for a weekend in Aug 2008. I had pre - booked an executive room and was dissapointed to find it not nearly as big as the website pictures had shown, nor did it have a flat LCD TV as stated. The room was otherwise clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was OK, but it did take a long time to run a bath!

Other reviews that I had read before going stated there was a free mini bar - which I was looking forward to, but unfortunatly it was far from free! Everything in the hotel was over priced, the mini bar, the resturant, breakfast, etc. The hotel even tried to charge us for milk to make a cup of tea!

The staff we nice, friendly and spoke good english. They were also quite informative about the local area and helped with directions, etc.

The hotel is located about a 10min tram ride out of the city (number 5 or 24). We found this a blessing as it was nice and quite, unlike other areas. We spent most of the time out and about sightseeing, which was good as to be honest the hotel wasn't very special and it was much cheaper to eat and drink out.

Taxi back to the airport cost about 35 euros.

Overall a plesent hotel but overpriced, more like a 4* hotel, not luxurous enough to be a 5*.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

The Bilderberg Garden Hotel is located in a lovely neighborhood to the south of central Amsterdam, within a 10 minute walk of the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. It is a pleasant location with lots of greenery, set among beautiful houses, lovely shops nearby, and canals to explore. The hotel’s brochures and website information describe the area of the hotel quite accurately.

However, it is over-rated as a 5-star hotel and over-priced. Most of the rooms look like a typical 3-star hotel would look in the US with similarly modest furnishings. The room we stayed in was rather worn-out and needed updating, carpet-cleaning, etc. Staff at the desk were polite but not well-informed and not especially helpful. There is a rather spartan “Business Center” consisting of 2 computers and a printer in the hallway of the lower level of the hotel. There is no Fitness Center or pool. Several guidebooks described this hotel as a top-level hotel with beautiful furnishings, etc. Maybe this is true of selected rooms, but it seems that most rooms are not like this at all.

Beware – guidebooks say that rooms have Jacuzzis. This is not the case for the average room here. One guidebook called the Lobby “spectacular.” We thought it was rather small and darkly lit --- not very inviting at all.

We felt ripped off by the high prices of this place and left after 2 nights to move to a real 5-star hotel in the center of Amsterdam. We are not sure why the guidebooks have gone so far wrong on this place. Unless you stay in the very top-level rooms, you will not find this to be a 5-star hotel. If you want a quiet and pleasant suburban location, walking distance to the big museums, and a rather unspectacular and somewhat over-priced hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pgreenld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

If you're looking for somewhere which LOOKS swanky from the exterior, then this is not the hotel for you.

Located 10 minutes taxi ride from the centre of the city, the BiIderberg Garden Hotel looks like an office block from the outside.

But to be fair, this is perhaps the harshest criticism to be levelled at this hotel.

Although it can feel slightly claustrophic due to it's low ceilings, it does in fact have attentive staff, and a better than average restaurant.

The rooms look a little tired, but all in all, this is a good hotel if you want to stay somewhere slightly quieter in this city.

It's a just a shame it doesn't look like a hotel, but more like an office.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed in an executive room on the third floor which was very large for Europe and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our stay was for a Sunday night only with a late Monday checkout. The restaurant was closed so ate in the bar/lounge from their limited menu and we enjoyed our meal. This hotel is not located in the tourist centre which we found a blessing as it's situated in a quiet, pleasant neighbourhood. It is about a 30 min walk or a short tram ride into the busy, noisy part of town. We walked in to town both days and trammed it "home" once. Each day, on arrival back to the hotel, we felt we'd arrived back to the sane part of town! Reception staff very helpful and friendly staff in bar/lounge area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lucy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#39 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,938 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,316 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £104 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing