We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, not too far from everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #116 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely brilliant and I would defiantly come back here. The reception staff are amazing and so so helpful and will help you out at every opportunity. Check in is quick and easy and so is check out, one thing to remember is you have to pay city tax which is around €16 I think?? The rooms are comfortable and they have the usual tea and coffee facilities plus the addition of fresh apples everyday!! The tram service is at the end of the road which takes you any where you want to, you will need the 5 or 24. A €16 3 day tram ticket does the trick to get you about the city. I cannot find one fault with this hotel and will look forward to coming back!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fonseca-Denning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had 3 nights here late July / early August. We had 2 rooms, 1 twin on the ground floor, and 1 executive double on (surprise surprise) the executive floor. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were reasonably quiet, and the Nespresso machine in the executive room was a nice touch, as were the apples given out in every room. Oddly, the executive floor was the only floor requiring a room card to enter, meaning we kept having to allow half of the party to enter the floor at the top of the stairs. Only other thing about the rooms I would say to the hotel, if they come round to refurbishing at some point, ditch the brown / beige colour scheme. It really doesn't do much for the otherwise lovely rooms.

The staff here were all great. When we arrived our car was parked for us by a friendly chauffeur, after what was a very hassle free drive, the hotel is very easy to access by car! The receptionist was really helpful throughout the stay, and the hotel provides almost every service possible from a front desk. The guy manning the bar whilst we were there was just fantastic, he had a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Also, as a last and unexpected (by me) point, everyone here spoke great English, which made the stay easier.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground floor and on the executive floor, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank omearatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,



Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your three night stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff. For your next visit, please ask our reception to activate your key to access the Executive floor as well.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a short holiday. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful in providing directions, letting us store our luggage, and being ready to answer any questions we had. Good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ellen,


How nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with your daughter in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.

I really hope to welcome you another time.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed a good 10 nights here. Conclusion: If you are looking for a luxury hotel, skip this one. Every thing is extremely dated and worn off. The room service breakfast (about EUR 47 for room service, 2 pers) is very inconsistent. One day you get nicely presented scrambled eggs and fruit. The next day you get no eggs (even when requested!) and just some things tossed in bowls. The worst is the service, my friend - who is English speaking - called the reception to book one extra night, she was told to check on Booking.com herself and if available book it. I had to call back in Dutch to arrange it. But the extra booked night was not added to our room, even when reception told it was arranged, obviously leaving us locked out our room friday night. The restaurant has been closed down. There is no gym, no spa, no swimming pool (all 5 star standards) making me wonder how this 80's relic ever obtained its star rating. The bar: a small selection of single malts and standard liquors. Ordered a Mojito. All members of the bar staff clearly do not know how to make this simple cocktail. They just put some ice cubes in a small lemonade glass, some mint and soda and rum and a quarter of a lime on the edge. The wine is terrible, no difference in white wine or red wine glasses, sticky bar stools, rinses the cloth lounge chairs with the same cloth as he did the beer drenched draught system... this all indicates the staff is not trained. The worst is they just walk off and dissapear and come to leave the bar again after 15 min. Never seen management on the floor. It goes on and on: If you have English plugs and need an adaptor, dont expect the reception to have a converter. Roomservice: When you work behind your laptop naked to check some late morning emails, expect the room service to just walk in (very rude). Transport: the hotel has no affiliation with any transport service and has no own drivers. Greeting: Expect no help to offload your luggage, in fact no one stands outside here, no one sees that you arrive until you dragged everything to the check in desk. After a robotic smile, they make you sign immediately and pay extra deposits (EUR 50 a night!). Internet and entertainment: pay tv or movie channels are simply not there (!?). very limited channels. The internet is available for EUR 17.40 for 24hr. if your friend wants to use the wifi too for his or hers device or phone, expect to pay another EUR 17.50 to connect an extra device. I am a experienced traveler and this all has been the worst 2K I spend on any hotel by far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geese V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir,


Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your detailed feedback.

I am really sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services.
Please be assured that these issues already have been discussed in our management team.

Last week I have sent you an email. Please contact me at your earliest convenience by phone: +31 20 5705600 or email: ejongen@bilderberg.nl
I would highly appreciate to get in contact with you to solve this matter of inconvenience.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on the Friday morning to a lovely friendly greeting from staff. They took our luggage to put in a locked room whilst we spent the day in amsterdam. Check in was smooth and easy. We went out for dinner and returned to a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch! Everyday our room was tidied and bed made. They even came in the evening to see if we needed anything. We booked for breakfast when booking our room which was 44 pounds for two for the four days. Breakfast was a lovely buffet of local food it was delicious! Again staff was friendly and cleared away plates quickly! We had a room service breakfast on our last full day and it was amazing even bringing me sparkling water! I cannot recommend this hotel enough it's in a beautiful area but with good connections to the centre and airport. I can't wait to come back and would like to thank all the staff that made our stay amazing!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Rockalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Madam,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments with other travelers in this forum.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience.

Especially your comment about the nice, helpful staff and the excellent overall standard of service makes us extremely proud. It is indeed a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is really nice, rooms very spacious and big bed (we were originally a twin room but got changed to double) reason why I'm giving a 4 is because of the mice running around the bar! Maybe someone should start buyin mouse traps or get a cat!

To get here cheaper than a taxi, get train to zuid station, and from there you can get a tram to Central (tram no 5) and get stop at apollolaan (4th stop) get of tram an there is a street to right (when ur facin the way you came!!) walk down it an the hotel is at end of it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Ashley,


Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.
Please be advised that we took direct action concerning the issue in the bar. We work together with an external pest control service who prevents our hotel on a regular base. The situation during your stay was an incident, I do appologize for this.

I really hope we may welcome you next time you will visit Amsterdam.


Warm regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Based on the outskirts of the ciity in a residential area but with excellent tram links nearby the Bilderberg is a quality hotel with outstanding service. Huge room with a fantasic (really wide!) bed, mini bar, and all the usual facilities from a 4 star hotel. Staff all speak excellent English, were always helpful and courteous and provided a free of charge service to hold our luggage after checkout.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Pat,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff, location and all hotel facilities.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,974 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing