We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Ranked #114 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the Garden hotel after reading reviews and were not disappointed. It was in a quite area but very close to the main tram stops for the centre of Amsterdam. We had breakfast a couple of mornings and it was very good. There were lots of choices and there was plenty of it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    542
    233
    72
    42
See reviews for
142
664
60
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We wanted somewhere quiet and this hotel is in an ideal location. About 400m from a Tram stop and close to Museums, Parks and walking distance to restaurants. The Hotel is very welcoming and after a difficult flight, we just wanted to eat; I’d recommend the Gourmet Burger in the bar. The rooms are very spacious, modern and had the thing we like; plenty of pillows, warm duvet, air con and mini bar. Apples everywhere, are a nice touch.
The staff in all departments are very friendly and turned nice hotel into a pleasant stay. Small grumble, the breakfast selection was adequate but I would expect a little more from a place of this standard. Overall; good 3 nights and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely brilliant and I would defiantly come back here. The reception staff are amazing and so so helpful and will help you out at every opportunity. Check in is quick and easy and so is check out, one thing to remember is you have to pay city tax which is around €16 I think?? The rooms are comfortable and they have the usual tea and coffee facilities plus the addition of fresh apples everyday!! The tram service is at the end of the road which takes you any where you want to, you will need the 5 or 24. A €16 3 day tram ticket does the trick to get you about the city. I cannot find one fault with this hotel and will look forward to coming back!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fonseca-Denning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had 3 nights here late July / early August. We had 2 rooms, 1 twin on the ground floor, and 1 executive double on (surprise surprise) the executive floor. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were reasonably quiet, and the Nespresso machine in the executive room was a nice touch, as were the apples given out in every room. Oddly, the executive floor was the only floor requiring a room card to enter, meaning we kept having to allow half of the party to enter the floor at the top of the stairs. Only other thing about the rooms I would say to the hotel, if they come round to refurbishing at some point, ditch the brown / beige colour scheme. It really doesn't do much for the otherwise lovely rooms.

The staff here were all great. When we arrived our car was parked for us by a friendly chauffeur, after what was a very hassle free drive, the hotel is very easy to access by car! The receptionist was really helpful throughout the stay, and the hotel provides almost every service possible from a front desk. The guy manning the bar whilst we were there was just fantastic, he had a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Also, as a last and unexpected (by me) point, everyone here spoke great English, which made the stay easier.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground floor and on the executive floor, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omearatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your three night stay at the Bilderberg Garden Hotel.

I am delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff. For your next visit, please ask our reception to activate your key to access the Executive floor as well.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a short holiday. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful in providing directions, letting us store our luggage, and being ready to answer any questions we had. Good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ellen,


How nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with your daughter in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.

I really hope to welcome you another time.


Best regards,

Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed a good 10 nights here. Conclusion: If you are looking for a luxury hotel, skip this one. Every thing is extremely dated and worn off. The room service breakfast (about EUR 47 for room service, 2 pers) is very inconsistent. One day you get nicely presented scrambled eggs and fruit. The next day you get no eggs (even when requested!) and just some things tossed in bowls. The worst is the service, my friend - who is English speaking - called the reception to book one extra night, she was told to check on Booking.com herself and if available book it. I had to call back in Dutch to arrange it. But the extra booked night was not added to our room, even when reception told it was arranged, obviously leaving us locked out our room friday night. The restaurant has been closed down. There is no gym, no spa, no swimming pool (all 5 star standards) making me wonder how this 80's relic ever obtained its star rating. The bar: a small selection of single malts and standard liquors. Ordered a Mojito. All members of the bar staff clearly do not know how to make this simple cocktail. They just put some ice cubes in a small lemonade glass, some mint and soda and rum and a quarter of a lime on the edge. The wine is terrible, no difference in white wine or red wine glasses, sticky bar stools, rinses the cloth lounge chairs with the same cloth as he did the beer drenched draught system... this all indicates the staff is not trained. The worst is they just walk off and dissapear and come to leave the bar again after 15 min. Never seen management on the floor. It goes on and on: If you have English plugs and need an adaptor, dont expect the reception to have a converter. Roomservice: When you work behind your laptop naked to check some late morning emails, expect the room service to just walk in (very rude). Transport: the hotel has no affiliation with any transport service and has no own drivers. Greeting: Expect no help to offload your luggage, in fact no one stands outside here, no one sees that you arrive until you dragged everything to the check in desk. After a robotic smile, they make you sign immediately and pay extra deposits (EUR 50 a night!). Internet and entertainment: pay tv or movie channels are simply not there (!?). very limited channels. The internet is available for EUR 17.40 for 24hr. if your friend wants to use the wifi too for his or hers device or phone, expect to pay another EUR 17.50 to connect an extra device. I am a experienced traveler and this all has been the worst 2K I spend on any hotel by far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geese V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sir,


Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your detailed feedback.

I am really sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with our hotel and services.
Please be assured that these issues already have been discussed in our management team.

Last week I have sent you an email. Please contact me at your earliest convenience by phone: +31 20 5705600 or email: ejongen@bilderberg.nl
I would highly appreciate to get in contact with you to solve this matter of inconvenience.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on the Friday morning to a lovely friendly greeting from staff. They took our luggage to put in a locked room whilst we spent the day in amsterdam. Check in was smooth and easy. We went out for dinner and returned to a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch! Everyday our room was tidied and bed made. They even came in the evening to see if we needed anything. We booked for breakfast when booking our room which was 44 pounds for two for the four days. Breakfast was a lovely buffet of local food it was delicious! Again staff was friendly and cleared away plates quickly! We had a room service breakfast on our last full day and it was amazing even bringing me sparkling water! I cannot recommend this hotel enough it's in a beautiful area but with good connections to the centre and airport. I can't wait to come back and would like to thank all the staff that made our stay amazing!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJongen, General Manager at Bilderberg Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Madam,


Thank you for taking time to share your comments with other travelers in this forum.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience.

Especially your comment about the nice, helpful staff and the excellent overall standard of service makes us extremely proud. It is indeed a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward very much to welcome you back when you are returning to Amsterdam.


Kind regards,


Ed W. M. Jongen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,814 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,416 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#178 of 368 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Garden Hotel

Property: Bilderberg Garden Hotel
Address: Dijsselhofplantsoen 7, 1077 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bilderberg Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bilderberg Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Garden Amsterdam
Hotel Bilderberg Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing