We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Amsterdam address”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“New Amsterdam address”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just spent two nights at this new hotel. I am a regular client of Vondel Hotels and was pleasantly surprised by this third property. Location is GREAT , near enough to all the action but away from the hordes of tourists and backpackers. The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable although some aspects of the room were a bit quirky. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would be coming back for sure. I like ALL the Vondel hotels and thus it's hard to choose a favorite among the three.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmadsameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    323
    62
    18
    12
See reviews for
104
628
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

THE area to be in: museum and fancy shopping district, yet quiet and with a real neighborhood feel.
Arriving at the hotel I thought 'great, that was the right choice'. Nice building, homey feel good bar area and a friendly welcome.
But bad luck, my room was in the basement. -1. Or a room with a special view: legs of passers by. Despite being a shoe fetichist I didn't enjoy this, feeling locked away. In addition it was a bit noisy due to the door of the public? loos right across the corridor.
Certainly a very nice hotel, but make sure you get a room on the upper floors. For one night, arriving late and leaving early, I survived, but had I been there for a weekend and some time off, I would have been seriously annoyed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suessmaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great location, within walking distance from main spots. Totally quiet area. Not big but cozy and very comfortable room with very large windows. Beds cold be stiffer. Quiet hotel could almost hear no noise at night which is quite a valuable factor in Amsterdam... Friendly staff, with a special mention to Andre. Prices varied along the four days ranging from affordable 125€ to overpriced 220€... Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epicedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was the last hotel of our 3 week and some vacation in Europe. I wanted it to end on a high note, so I took the best room category available (room 201) in this ``Boutique Hotel``. Disappointment.

I am not sure when this hotel opened but it doesn't seem to be a fully oiled machine. For example, on check in, the front desk person seems more interested in getting us processed than anything else (and there was no line up). No info on hotel, what's included or not (I had to ask). No map. She gave us only one key, I had to ask for a second. One other time I asked the person at the reception what was the best way to get to the Airport he had no clue. Eventually another member of the staff helped but I would expect even a junior person to be able to help (or find) this basic info.

The room: was clearly made to look design hotel. But I had quite a few issues with it. First: it wasn't small as such but all the furniture was suffocating the room. We had one armchair too many. One would have been a lot better, instead of the second one blocking access to the balcony. The room didn't have any airy (let's not even talk minimalistic) feel. And speaking of balcony: quite uninviting. Wooden camping-like small chairs.

The bathroom was the perfect example of ```smells like a boutique hotel, but isn't one``. The shower looked neat, with an interesting only half door covering the shower. Interesting. Until you start taking the shower and the water gets in the bathroom. There is no slope so it just stays there until you wipe it. Worse: there was no tablet to put the soap and the shampoo. There was a metallic arm sticking out of the wall, so I thought they were supposed to have those two in one soap/shampoo bottles and just forgot to put one. But it wasn't put on day two wither. So you really had to put all the things you need either on the floor or on the bath, one meter away. It really made no sense! And next to this you had an awesome feature like TV on the wall of the bathtub. Neat but honestly I would have preferred that they make the room functional instead of adding features.
Bed? Real King size for once, rare in Europe. But only so so comfort. And the linens felt really cheap.
It was too expensive. I paid an average of 195 Euro per night (One night at 150 euro and the other at 24o euro!) , no including breakfast.

The area is quiet, but having stayed twice in the Museum neighborhood, I can tell you that it's a bit far off from most everything and a solid 40 min walk to the interesting areas, once you're done with the museums. Not a whole lot of interesting eateries or cafés around.

All in all: Not all bad, beautiful hotel, but I don't recommend the place, and certainly won't return.

Room Tip: Take a basic room, don't pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel is very modern, room was excellent - very spaciuous with huge bathroom and shower.. Very clean. Conceptually, a business hotel, in form and substance, a manifestation of the mavelous European sense of style and beauty.
It was a very good value for money and I would recommend it.
The Friendliness and Helpfulness of the staff is amazing and atention to detail is remarkable.
I work in hotel management and I really find what every Yeld manager have to do..
Good work guys!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBerria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Hotel JL No76 for 4 nights. We liked the hotel's location in the museum district. From Schiphol airport you can take the number 197 bus which stops just 2 blocks from the hotel. We found this easier than taking the train to Amsterdam Centraal and changing to tram from there. Getting from the hotel to the centre is a nice 10 minute walk or just a few minutes tram ride. In the neighbourhood there are some nice restaurants and shops so everything you need is basically within walking distance.

Our executive room was on the 4th (top floor). There were some quirky things about the room that were more boutique design than practical. For example, the bathroom didn't have sinks. Instead, the sinks were located in the room right next to the bathroom and room door. Although slightly inpractical, this didn't bother us too much. The bathroom was otherwise excellent with a luxurious jacuzzi bathtub with a TV and a spacious shower.

The hotel being practically brand new, everything was sparkling clean and fresh. The room had a Nespresso machine and we enjoyed the chance to have a nice cup of coffee in the room. A nice touch was also the honesty bar in the downstairs lobby where you could help yourself to some drinks.

The breakfast was fantastic, the buffet catered for every basic need and there was also à la carte list for extras, such as delicious pancakes. We also ate one evening at the hotel, the food was quite basic but worth the price.

One nice thing was also that tickets to the museums could be bought from the hotel, which saved us a quite a lot of time that would have been otherwise spent queuing outside the museums.

The service was excellent and staff were always cheerful and happy to answer any questions we had. Overall, Hotel JL no76 is a nice luxury boutique hotel with great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tervol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I am currently staying in this hotel and yes... I have had some issues with my room but I have had my room swapped and I will take these issues up with the manager. However this was a matter of bad luck (sort of) and I don't want to take away from what a lovely hotel this is.

First of all the area - well it is saying something when you walk out of the hotel and you can see the Louis Vuitton sign sparkling on the street adjacent. This is Amsterdam and its most upmarket with the most expensive shopping street in the city at your door. The street which is home to the hotel is on a small tree lined road parallel to the fashion district and is peaceful and pretty.

When you arrive at the hotel it has that "boutique" feel you expect. Classy, kitsch and dressed with persian rugs and quirky contemporary art. In the reception is also the "honesty bar" - a not so mini mini bar for all guests to use, take what you want and write it down on a card which you then leave at reception to be billed for later.

Now - the rooms. I stayed in the executive room. I walked in and my initially though was "wow." Now I am a 25 year old solo traveller but I have stayed in some nice hotels across europe but I think this is my favourite. Clean, cool grey on the walls, simple and functional storage with plenty of room and a grand double bed with coco-matt mattress which really has that "jump in" allure. And then what every boy loves - GADGETS. A jacuzzi bath, build in high definition TV at the foot of the tub so you can catch up on CNN while the bubbles ease your tired legs. A nespresso machine to begin your day with a shot of caffeine and the best bit is everything works. I have stayed in endless hotels with gadgets galore but you turn the TV on and are met with a snowstorm. There are several english channels to choose from and the picture is crystal clear both in the bathroom and the widescreen in the main bedroom.

To finish this review I would like to commend the hotel staff. The service is no doubt excellent and this is always best tested when you have a complaint. The issues with my room were dealt with superbly - there is a lesson to be learnt from many hotels by the way I was death with today. It makes such a difference when someone shows some understanding when you explain you have had a rough night.

This hotel is perfectly placed and perfectly appointed. It makes your trip feel special and I would thoroughly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: avoid basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nadeemcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#68 of 367 in Amsterdam
737 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,827 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing