We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“domestic bliss in tree lined quarter”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“domestic bliss in tree lined quarter”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The location is unbeatable on a beautiful treelined quiet street. Two minutes walk to the Van Gogh and Rijks galleries.
My room was very comfortable. Nespresso machine, tv over the bath, etc
The hotel is small and there are very few staff so if you wished to be greeted every few minututes by liveried staff this is not the place for you. The hotel seems to have been converted from two 19th century apartment blocks but it retains old world charm.
Do rent a bike either from the hotel or from Mike's Bike's.

Room Tip: avoid the attic or basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    324
    62
    18
    12
See reviews for
106
630
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Romantic stay here with my husband. Great hotel, but room a bit small, breakfast wasn't great as they neglected to show us a menu, and we never saw anyone the whole time we were eating, so we were unaware we could order hot food til our second day. Also, our bed was 2 singles pushed together. But nice hotel, decent staff and the bath with a tv is great! location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsM3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

First impressions were great,interesting art , warm feelingand very friendly helpful staff. We were a little alarmed to have a ground floor room beside the lift but in fact we never heard the lift though occasionally other guests were a bit noisy. No traffic noise at the back though.
Space was a little tight in the room though this is generally the case in Amsterdam hotels but it had everything you would want and was very clean. Nice decor.
Breakfast was excellent one day with lovely fruit salad and delicious little croissant though the next day we were disappointed both to find only 2 tired apples as the fresh fruit and definitely inferior croissant. Good selection which can be ordered from the menu as well as the buffet. Nice dining area.
The standout thing about this hotel is the staff. Helpful, humorous and they really do the extra mile to assist.
Travel tip. Don't order the airport shuttle! Didn't turn up after 50 mins and innumerable calls from the desk.The train is excellent but if you have heavy luggage take a taxi. Came within minutes and only cost a few Euros more than the shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spent three nights in this boutique hotel and wouldn't mind staying longer if we didn't have to visit another city, Amsterdam...in spite of the rain in early October was a lot of fun. Taxis are a hassel. From Schippol Airport, it is reachable by bus 4.60 Euro and get off by Rijksmuseum, a 3 minute walk. The hotel is also minutes away from PC Hoofstraat which is a chic shopping area. Also a 5 minute walk to the tram. Rooms are small but very efficient and clean. Breakfast is quite good but expensive for 19 euros. There's a lot of choices nearby for half. Friendly staff, convenient location, efficient hotel- so worth it !!!

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flippywebsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just spent two nights at this new hotel. I am a regular client of Vondel Hotels and was pleasantly surprised by this third property. Location is GREAT , near enough to all the action but away from the hordes of tourists and backpackers. The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable although some aspects of the room were a bit quirky. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would be coming back for sure. I like ALL the Vondel hotels and thus it's hard to choose a favorite among the three.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmadsameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

THE area to be in: museum and fancy shopping district, yet quiet and with a real neighborhood feel.
Arriving at the hotel I thought 'great, that was the right choice'. Nice building, homey feel good bar area and a friendly welcome.
But bad luck, my room was in the basement. -1. Or a room with a special view: legs of passers by. Despite being a shoe fetichist I didn't enjoy this, feeling locked away. In addition it was a bit noisy due to the door of the public? loos right across the corridor.
Certainly a very nice hotel, but make sure you get a room on the upper floors. For one night, arriving late and leaving early, I survived, but had I been there for a weekend and some time off, I would have been seriously annoyed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suessmaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great location, within walking distance from main spots. Totally quiet area. Not big but cozy and very comfortable room with very large windows. Beds cold be stiffer. Quiet hotel could almost hear no noise at night which is quite a valuable factor in Amsterdam... Friendly staff, with a special mention to Andre. Prices varied along the four days ranging from affordable 125€ to overpriced 220€... Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epicedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
836 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#50 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 367 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,829 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#79 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing