We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel close to everything”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #26 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the museum district on on a quiet tree lined street. You are close to everything without being in the center of everything. The staff are wonderful and made great recommendations. The rooms are not huge but you can move around in them. The bed was a good size and comfortable. The decor is modern and the bathroom fixtures are sleek and modern as well. Our bathroom had a great tub which we didn't get to use but was a great feature. The room is also well air conditioned, which is a big plus for us when it's hot, which it was! My only critique is that the toilet was not spotless when we got there, and I'm VERY picky about that! Aside from that, this is a great place to stay while in Amsterdam, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anticopalazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for Hotel JL No76
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Perfect location (steps from the museums and night life scene), beautiful spacious rooms, chic and quality design.

We truly enjoyed our stay, hotel met all expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We selected this hotel because of its admittedly excellent location...just steps from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. However, the "basic" room they gave us was (A) in the basement and (B) next to the elevator. We complained and got a room on a higher floor, but still next to the elevator.

The room was okay...very trendy color schemes, good shower and towels. There is a self service bar and breakfast area in the lobby. However, the room cost us around $350 a night and was nowhere near worth that kind of money. It was a nice $175 room, but at twice the price.

Plus...tabletops and nightstand surfaces were dusty. The room was not well cleaned.

My suggestion: shop around more than I did. If you have $350 a night to spend, there are much more luxurious hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Rooms are quite comfortable and clean, but not capacious, at €160 (US $205) a double when we stayed. Rooms have capsule espresso machines as well as the other usual conveniences, while there is an honor system bar in the lobby. A rare must-try-it-once feature: TVs in the baths.

Front desk is lovely here, alway cheerful, even when we asked for 9 wifi codes for various appliances. Vespas and bikes for rent if you need them during your stay. But no gym, and the small foyer on each floor means room doors are close together, so you will hear other guests in the hallway if they come in late and rowdy or clunk their suitcases around during an early departure.

"JL" is for Jan Luijkenstraat, very well located for Amsterdam's major museums and an easy walk to Vondelpark and several decent restaurants, including Bakkerswinkel for a good breakfast option outside the hotel. It's a good kilometer or more, however, from the city center and other Amsterdam attractions and meetings.

We found the double a reasonable value for this city, while the triple room was overpriced for three, considering it is in the windowless basement and two of the beds are bunks in an alcove. Comfortable bunk beds, but bunk beds nevertheless.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Expat_road_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you're headed to Amsterdam then you must stay here! It will not disappoint. Firstly, the location is perfect. You are literally down the road from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum - just a couple minutes walk. And you can purchase museum tickets at the hotel lobby which will save you from waiting in long lines. Also just a block away are the streets with the most expensive shops - Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Burberry, etc. - this may not be your thing, but who doesn't like to do a little bit of window shopping while acclimating to the area? It's a great way to stretch your legs and be mindless. And a few minutes walk a way is the popular area of Leidesplein - this is where you will find a lot of restaurant and nightlife options. It can be crowded, but I think that's part of the charm of Amsterdam - throwing yourself into a mix of locals and tourists and just enjoying being swept away by the crowds.

Secondly - the hotel itself is wonderful. Enjoyably modern, the atmosphere is clean and feels like you are on a fancy vacation. The rooms are large and comfortable, ours had a balcony so we could enjoy the night air and quiet mornings. The bathroom is large and features a deep jacuzzi with a tv built into the wall. We loved the jacuzzi! It was wonderful for our achey muscles. The staff were all friendly and helpful as well, and provided you with a map that showed all the popular areas for nightlife, shopping and sightseeing.

You really can't go wrong with this hotel and I would stay hear again on my next visit - without a doubt!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

returned back to routine today, after our 5 day trip and vacation to the beautiful & unigue city of amsterdam we so much felt in love with it!!! the hotel is what we usually looking forward to all european city breaks. modern, great and friendly staff, spacious & beautiful design of rooms, with fantastic bathrooms having the relaxing jaccuzzi while u watch tv right opposite!!! the very famous designer road fron the left and the van gogh museum on the right!!! what else anyone could ask for when everything is covered in package of this jl 76 hotel... truly very happy adding this one again to our best modern city stays of our life!!! thanks to the special city at the best time of the year.... amsterdam the beautiful colourful touching city of all!!!!! fantastic modern design hotel!! we ll for sure return!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have just arrived from Amsterdam where I stayed at hotel JL Nº76 and I would like to thank all the staff of this hotel for their kindness during our stay. They gave us reccomendations, booked restaurants for us and where as kind as it is possible to be in a very busy weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel is new (they were celebrating their first year since the opening) and very well located. If you want to visit the Van Gogh Museum, this is your hotel as it is located at two minutes walk. The Rikjsmusem is five minutes walk and one of the best indonesian restaurants to have Reijstaffel (Sama Sebo) is also very close to the hotel.
We shall be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,190 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,856 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
761 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £103 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing