We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All style no substance?”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #28 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“All style no substance?”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The good points first:
- Location, location, location. Quiet, yet close to all the museums, shops, and restaurants (10-15 minute walk)
- Good in-room facilities (eg nespresso machine, flat screen telly, and best of all, three-pin socket so no adaptors required)

The negatives:
- Some problems with the housekeeping / levels of cleanliness. Room not ready when we arrived at 3pm. Housekeeper called but the room left quite dusty in places. Worst of all was finding staining (old, dried blood) on the pillow when I went to bed that evening. Although it was sorted out, problems like this could be avoided by using pillow protectors that can be laundered.
- Comfort room small. Lack of hanging space was irritating - not place to hang towels or anything longer than shirts. Bathroom contained toilet and shower only. The washbasin was outside in main room. This was inconvenient and not clear from room description.
- Despite being new hotel, tired in places eg very stained carpets.
- Designer shower which unfortunately flooded floor every time we used it

In summary
- Good hotel for short trip
- Not four star in terms of service or facilities. Good three star more appropriate desciption.
- We paid €220 per night for two of the nights which was overpriced. Third night was €110 which was about right.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TigerLily101666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    311
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
93
610
53
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Clean nice decorated rooms, good location near the fashion distr. Sure will stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grvforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I reached the hotel by way of the hotel shuttle bus at about 11am, hoping to check in early for a rest after a long flight. Wouter at the desk was very nice and helped arrange for an early check in to my room on the 3rd floor. He also provided me with information about the room and the surrounding areas of the hotel. The room was very comfortable for a solo traveller like me and came with nice soft pillows, amenities like the Nespresso machine and a jacuzzi bath. Used amenities were replenished, towels were replaced and room was cleaned every day. It was nice coming back to the room after a long day out. The only thing about the hotel is that there are some acoustics when people walked a little heavily around their rooms but nothing too disturbing and for the 5 nights that I was there, I had restful and peaceful sleep. Oh, another thing that I liked about the hotel is that the management listens to its customers - some earlier reviews I read mentioned how cramped it made the room with the placement of 2 armchairs. The rooms now have only 1 armchair and it made for more space in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Hotel JL is on a very quiet street in a prime location of Amsterdam. I arrived at noon, three hours before check-in and exhausted. The hotel had been full the night before, but Andre at the front desk called housekeeping to make sure my room was the next one cleaned, and he let me check in after first offering me a complimentary cup of tea. I had room 206, which was sunny with an incredible bath. I booked on Tablet.com and got a great deal (145 Euros). Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingergirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Very good location, but rooms are small, the type of windows do not have any, to recommend a short stop in the city. In room TV, coffee machine Nespresso, the staff is very courteous pleasant.
Everything is brand new and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinBuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for our last night of a long weekend in the Netherlands. This hotel is lovely, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the 3rd floor, the bed was very comfy and the best pillows i have ever slept on!! Tea and coffee making facilities were excellent.

Location is in Museum square, we walked from central station to get our bearings which probably took us about 45mins, but it is easily accessible by numerous trams from right outside the station. Taxi service was also not overly expensive, cost us £16 euros from hotel to station.

To anyone who is searching reviews endlessly to find a nice hotel at a nice price (as i was before i booked it) this hotel is the one you want, luxury hotel at a bargain price!!

Room Tip: From reading previous reviews about this hotel i did ask not to be placed in basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were previously booked into the sister hotel through last minute.com. The offered us an upgrade to hotel JL No76 and at first we thought it was too good to be true but we took the risk anyway and went to the hotel JL No76. Weren't we amazed!! The room we got was a nice big size and we were lucky enough to get the balcony room too!!! All this with no extra charge!! The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was nice and clean. All in all a fantastic hotel and for £97 for 1 night we were very happy with it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing