We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality to the next level”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #25 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is magnificent, perfectly decorated and with a balance between modernity and functionality very hard to achieve. It was a business trip, but it felt like vacation to me. Awesome service as well. Andre, from Front Desk was exceptionally helpful and he even gave us recommendations of what to see in Amsterdam because it was my first time in this city. Beautiful Hotel, keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just returned from a (too brief!) weekend in Amsterdam and spent two nights at this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully, is very clean and modern, and the staff were very helpful indeed. We had an "Executive" room which, although not massive, was plenty big enough for our needs. High ceilings and classy decor made it feel comfortable and inviting. The bathroom was great: a big jacuzzi tub (big enough for two, easily) with a flat-screen TV at one end, and a powerful "rainforest" shower, meant that we could relax in luxury. One minor complaint - and this probably only affected us because the next door guest came in at 5 in the morning and turned his TV on LOUDLY - the walls are a little thin. But unless you are unlucky enough to have an inconsiderate person next to you, you probably wouldn't hear a thing. This seems to be a feature of many boutique hotels we've stayed in - they tend to be converted houses or apartments, and aren't built as solidly as perhaps some of the Marriots/Hiltons are - depends what you want, really. Oh, and if you fancy a great meal in a "proper" Dutch restaurant, get the staff to direct you to Loetje - it's only about six minutes walk away and was brilliant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drexl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed for one night at the JL hotel. We where lucky and could park in front of the hotel. The room was not big but with the high ceilings it gave a spacious feeling, good beds and fabulous cushions, a very nice shower and coffee/thee possibility in the room. Staff was very friendly. Good breakfast.
I just have one remark and that is the light above the sink area it could be a lot brighter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank jacquisteve1198
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great location, near shopping and sights. The service was solid - staff was warm and friendly. Two cons - TERRIBLE lighting near the sink area (this room was clearly not designed by a woman) and why charge for coffee and tea in the lobby? It's free in the rooms, but not in the lobby. Makes no sense.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurelmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

i have almost wonderful experience with this hotel. overall..the location is perfect, nice neighborhood , the tram stop is in a short distance and shuttle to the airport stops nearby, near to the best museums and posh shopping street. lots of yummy restaurant near the hotel too

the only downside is the staff that checked us in is new i think,trainee maybe, without supervision, to make a long story short, we have problem with wifi and room request, what i don't like , when we complained, they seemed to blame their website or my booking..i have traveled quite well, and i know what i pick and choose from the internet. anyway they make it up and upgrade my room.

not all the staff is weird, only some of them, so overall its a nice hotel, but only make sure on what you want in the check in procedure

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelsnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was one of our favorite places to stay during a 2 week trip to Europe. Location was so perfect--near museums and Vondelpark. The bed was super comfortable and the patio area was just beautiful--nice to hang out. Room was small but well decorated and very functional. We hope to go back. A couple of the staff members weren't overly friendly but it didn't dampen our experience there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie-in-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 372 in Amsterdam
770 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £103 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing