We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great potentials..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #30 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great potentials..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed at the JL No76 for 3 nights in february and enjoyed my stay.

Was welcomed by a happy and friendly member of staff named Wouden, felt like home straight away! He was very concerned about showing me all the major sights and museums on the map to ensure that my stay would be good in Amsterdam.

I had dinner (a salad) in the restaurant, another friendly member of staff greeted me also with a big smile and all my prejudices about that Dutch people always are happy were in fact happily confirmed. I was thrilled! Didn´t get his name, but he was tall and blonde.

The wine was delicious (white) but the salad was less happy.. €12 for just a few pieces of chicken and almost no dressing, so.. yeah not the best food experience. But was too tired to complain. Maybe give the customers the choice of salad dressing?

Got offered to pay an extra €20/ NIght for a room upgrade and got a big room with a jacuzzi and big bed, small seating area and great storage space.

Plus about the room:

+ Spacious to be in a big city
+ Bed is remarkable comfortable, haven't slept this good in a hotel room since years
+ In room safe
+ Place for the luggage
+ Honesty bar in the reception area if the minibar was not enough
+ Big TV with international channels

Minuses about the room:

- Badly cleaned (Found hair on more than one place)
- The cleaning staff didn't refill the Nespresso caps more than one time and it is unfortuntaly hard to start the day with a de-caff ;-)
- The rain shower head was more showering the whole room until i realized that it was all covered in calcium, wiped it off quick and it got better. Tips for the housekeeping: Use a sponge once a week and you will not have that problem.
- Very loud from the corridor. You hear when other guests get home in the night
- The Cleaning staff left a quiet nasty bottle of bathroom detergent. Should not happen when charging around € 180 / Night. The lady in the reception looked VERY surprised and barely said "I am sorry"...when I brought it to her.


Those nasty extra charges...

Extra charges for things like Internet is 2013 just not trendy. I luckily got it for free because I upgraded my room. But would have paid €8 per night otherwise. Expensive for something that each and everyone take for granted. Raise the prices with €4 / Night and have more happy customers.

AND, breakfast... come guys. You are not one of those big american chain hotels where business people take the expenses on their companies.. you are a small fine boutique hotel chain in one of the most prettiest cities in the world. Include breakfast in the future. It is one of those fine touches where people get the "at home"-feeling even more.


Lots of feedback yes... but this hotel has got great potentials. Really.

I met several reception staff and some were extremely personal, felt like their were flirting and were asking too much things (especially one older guy)- got to a level that it felt creepy, and some were just not interested in you as a guest at all.. one girl was almost angry when I asked if she could prepare my bill the evening before my departure (had an early departure).

When everyone in the reception had that professional approach as Wouden it would have been perfect. As a guest one only asks for a genuine smile and some polite questions in a great balance. So a big and special thank you to Wouden!


Overall, thank you for a good stay, I just think the management has to determine how service and the product overall should be placed and delivered and they can do something great about it for the future. This hotel is pretty, designed and well located and could easily be number 1 or 2 on Tripadvisor if it were just better run and managed. So much potentials!

....and I will come back soon and hope that some things have improved. Amsterdam itself is simply beautiful and definitely a city to visit more often.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 101 is one of their biggest rooms and very nicely located. Facing the street but does not bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    303
    60
    18
    12
See reviews for
89
584
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

The expession "small but perfectly formed" could have been coined for this hotel.We stayed (via Voyage Prive) for 4 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday.The hotel was in a great location, quiet and elegant area, with all major attractions within easy reach. Amsterdam's transport system is brilliant with frequent trams to everywhere and very affordable with either the IAM card or GVB pass.
What really stands out however, is the superb quality of the hotel and it's staff in particular.Their helpfulness, kindness, courtesy and sheer professionalism stands above all other hotels we have stayed in (including some very exalted 5 star names).We were on a deal which included breakfast and this was excellent with a wide variety of cereals, fruit, high qualilty cold meats and cheeses, together with bacon sausages eggs etc.
The rooms are typically smaller than in the UK, but are beautifully furnished with many thoughtful touches and fantastic beds.The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and flatscreen TV to watch whist in it!!!! High quality tea and coffee
provided and thorough daily housekeeping with everything replaced and attended to, completed a picture of a role model for city hotels. We loved it.

Room Tip: Executive on third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBH-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We checked into this hotel having only booked it 2 weeks before arriving. We couldnt believe it was still available! From airport we just jumped on the bus and 20 mins later we got off at heineken exp and wlaked 2 mins to hotel! we had wine and a beer from honesty bar and our room was perfect. Small but perfect. Staff were great and location great next to really posh shopping street! all good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLLIE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were in Amsterdam in Oct, 2012. This hotel is great location for the museums, the canals (what isn't), the trams, excellent, expensive shops, and good restaurants. The staff were very helpful, the lobby inviting, and rooms while not large were tastefully appointed.

Room Tip: Courtyard if available, we didn't know they existed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldeloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and from the moment we arrived everything was amazing! We arrived in the morning and even though check in wasn't until 2pm select our luggage securely with the hotel, where given a coffee and seat and a very warm welcome.

We were on our mini moon and my husband contacted hotel before we arrived and we were upgraded to an executive room, had a lovely chilled bottle of wine and fruit left in the room with a note from the staff to welcome us.

Nothing was too much trouble and we will be returning to the hotel in the future and I would highly recommend it as a place to stay that's close enough to the centre, but still just outside and in a very nice area of Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SOS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Very good hotel in the cultural heart of the City. Too bad that there was no standard Wifi in the rooms. Stylish accommodation with good creativa facilities, like washing basins outside the bath room!




  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank cornelis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is magnificent, perfectly decorated and with a balance between modernity and functionality very hard to achieve. It was a business trip, but it felt like vacation to me. Awesome service as well. Andre, from Front Desk was exceptionally helpful and he even gave us recommendations of what to see in Amsterdam because it was my first time in this city. Beautiful Hotel, keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing