We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wouter-ful !!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #30 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Wouter-ful !!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

What a great location. Chanel, Louis Vuitton, etc are all opposite the next turning from this hotel, so if you also live in cities elsewhere around the world, you know these boutiques are only located in well-heeled areas, not to mention Rembrandt’s infamous ‘The Night Watchman’ is in the museum at the end of this road!

I have to say the staff were fantastic, we arrived to a wonderful man, named Wouter, asking us if we wished to upgrade our room for £20 a night extra, to one with a Jacuzzi and higher ceilings which we agreed to. Before heading out we relaxed in the compact room, let’s not forget – this is a Boutique Hotel, as those in New York or London, the rooms are small, but they are beautifully thought out, as is the Jacuzzi bathroom suite and THE most comfortable beds we’ve ever slept in! The Honesty bar on site is a great idea and stocked with everything you need, as was the excellent breakfast.

But the real difference is, even when you return from your stay, the Customer Service is still excellent. I was silly enough to leave a full draw of clothing behind. When I called the hotel, Wouter had already emailed me and for a small charge to my card he said they would post the box to me. The next morning the medium size box was on my doorstep being signed for. The Honesty Bar obviously rubs off, the cleaner, reception, etc, could have removed any of the items, including high valued items, but everything was there. We will definitely return for another Valentines Weekend and I am sure when the weather is warm it is even better. "Wouter-ful!!!"

Room Tip: Upgrade to the jacuzzi suite, it's still small, but higher ceilings give a feeling of more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    300
    59
    18
    12
See reviews for
86
571
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my daughter over half term. Great location on a quiet street near the museums. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Honesty bar, nice touch. Within walking distance of most of Amsterdam amenities. Rooms comfortable and our room was a good size, not always the case in Amsterdam hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. The bed was undoubtedly the most comfortable bed I've ever had the pleasure to sleep in and the jacuzzi bath was an absolute delight after a busy day touring Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very well presented. Superb!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperRibs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Very friendly staff specially Andre and a young blond boy that works in the evenings.
We stayed for 6 nights and from the moment we arrived everything was amazing!

We will be returning to this hotel in the future and I would highly recommend it as a place to stay that's close enough to the centre, but still just outside and in a very nice area of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoAgustera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed at the JL No76 for 3 nights in february and enjoyed my stay.

Was welcomed by a happy and friendly member of staff named Wouden, felt like home straight away! He was very concerned about showing me all the major sights and museums on the map to ensure that my stay would be good in Amsterdam.

I had dinner (a salad) in the restaurant, another friendly member of staff greeted me also with a big smile and all my prejudices about that Dutch people always are happy were in fact happily confirmed. I was thrilled! Didn´t get his name, but he was tall and blonde.

The wine was delicious (white) but the salad was less happy.. €12 for just a few pieces of chicken and almost no dressing, so.. yeah not the best food experience. But was too tired to complain. Maybe give the customers the choice of salad dressing?

Got offered to pay an extra €20/ NIght for a room upgrade and got a big room with a jacuzzi and big bed, small seating area and great storage space.

Plus about the room:

+ Spacious to be in a big city
+ Bed is remarkable comfortable, haven't slept this good in a hotel room since years
+ In room safe
+ Place for the luggage
+ Honesty bar in the reception area if the minibar was not enough
+ Big TV with international channels

Minuses about the room:

- Badly cleaned (Found hair on more than one place)
- The cleaning staff didn't refill the Nespresso caps more than one time and it is unfortuntaly hard to start the day with a de-caff ;-)
- The rain shower head was more showering the whole room until i realized that it was all covered in calcium, wiped it off quick and it got better. Tips for the housekeeping: Use a sponge once a week and you will not have that problem.
- Very loud from the corridor. You hear when other guests get home in the night
- The Cleaning staff left a quiet nasty bottle of bathroom detergent. Should not happen when charging around € 180 / Night. The lady in the reception looked VERY surprised and barely said "I am sorry"...when I brought it to her.


Those nasty extra charges...

Extra charges for things like Internet is 2013 just not trendy. I luckily got it for free because I upgraded my room. But would have paid €8 per night otherwise. Expensive for something that each and everyone take for granted. Raise the prices with €4 / Night and have more happy customers.

AND, breakfast... come guys. You are not one of those big american chain hotels where business people take the expenses on their companies.. you are a small fine boutique hotel chain in one of the most prettiest cities in the world. Include breakfast in the future. It is one of those fine touches where people get the "at home"-feeling even more.


Lots of feedback yes... but this hotel has got great potentials. Really.

I met several reception staff and some were extremely personal, felt like their were flirting and were asking too much things (especially one older guy)- got to a level that it felt creepy, and some were just not interested in you as a guest at all.. one girl was almost angry when I asked if she could prepare my bill the evening before my departure (had an early departure).

When everyone in the reception had that professional approach as Wouden it would have been perfect. As a guest one only asks for a genuine smile and some polite questions in a great balance. So a big and special thank you to Wouden!


Overall, thank you for a good stay, I just think the management has to determine how service and the product overall should be placed and delivered and they can do something great about it for the future. This hotel is pretty, designed and well located and could easily be number 1 or 2 on Tripadvisor if it were just better run and managed. So much potentials!

....and I will come back soon and hope that some things have improved. Amsterdam itself is simply beautiful and definitely a city to visit more often.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 101 is one of their biggest rooms and very nicely located. Facing the street but does not bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

The expession "small but perfectly formed" could have been coined for this hotel.We stayed (via Voyage Prive) for 4 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday.The hotel was in a great location, quiet and elegant area, with all major attractions within easy reach. Amsterdam's transport system is brilliant with frequent trams to everywhere and very affordable with either the IAM card or GVB pass.
What really stands out however, is the superb quality of the hotel and it's staff in particular.Their helpfulness, kindness, courtesy and sheer professionalism stands above all other hotels we have stayed in (including some very exalted 5 star names).We were on a deal which included breakfast and this was excellent with a wide variety of cereals, fruit, high qualilty cold meats and cheeses, together with bacon sausages eggs etc.
The rooms are typically smaller than in the UK, but are beautifully furnished with many thoughtful touches and fantastic beds.The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and flatscreen TV to watch whist in it!!!! High quality tea and coffee
provided and thorough daily housekeeping with everything replaced and attended to, completed a picture of a role model for city hotels. We loved it.

Room Tip: Executive on third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBH-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We checked into this hotel having only booked it 2 weeks before arriving. We couldnt believe it was still available! From airport we just jumped on the bus and 20 mins later we got off at heineken exp and wlaked 2 mins to hotel! we had wine and a beer from honesty bar and our room was perfect. Small but perfect. Staff were great and location great next to really posh shopping street! all good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLLIE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing