We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel in quiet Amsterdam street”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #28 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in quiet Amsterdam street”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

It's the second time that I have booked this hotel. It's a great find. Small and comfortable with great beds, jacuzzi style baths and air con in a quiet street
The staff are friendly. Thomas Is particularly caring.
It's not a big hotel with fancy service but a small quality fun
Place with a self service bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    311
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
93
608
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

A stone's throw from the museums on a quiet street, one block from the tram line. What more could you want? Modern rooms with great shower and tubs, extremely comfortable beds and wonderfully cheery, helpful staff. The 'honesty bar' in the lobby is a handy feature. We didn't take the breakfast for obvious reasons (17.50€), but did have a light supper there after our late arrival in town. It was very good. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Nice hotel near Museum area. We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The rooms had been remodeled and very contemporary and clean. I think we had a deluxe room with a spa tub! One block from the tram stop made it easy to get around Amsterdam. The breakfast deal was a little pricy but we found a nice place a couple of blocks from the hotel for a quick breakfast. I would recommend to friends and would stay again next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

this hotel is about 200 meter from VanGogh Museum entrance and very close to the other museum in Amsterdam. Not very cheap, but in-line with the other hotels in the area. I paid 150euro 1 night/ double. Executive rooms are ok, well equipped. Standard room may be a bit smaller. Breakfast is very expensive in my opinion, 20euros each : same for the other hotels in the area. Find a bar or a bakery or a pub and get yr breakfast for little money. Access to the city is very easy with 3 trams stopping 200 meters from the hotel. And walking to te center is pretty easy as well. Staff is very kind and offer good tips. Wifi in the public area. Bycycle on rent. If you want to spend few relaxing days in Ams, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I loved this hotel - it is in a brilliant location and is the perfect base to return to after spending the day exploring Amsterdam. All the staff were fantastic, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants etc.
For our first night we were in a basement room, as mentioned by many other travelers, these rooms are very dark and a little bit depressing (they are much bigger though and the bathrooms are also bigger w/ separate shower and bath). We were kindly moved for our remaining 2 nights and having a big window and natural light higher up in the hotel makes a big difference.
Breakfast was good and the honesty bar in the lobby is a great addition.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAmericaVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't fault it (apart from the bed being a tad soft for my back!). Great to use as a base for exploring the whole of the city. Friendly staff. I've stayed at a number of hotels in Amsterdam and this rates well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAKDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very nice stay at the JL in Amsterdam. The Hotel is small and friendly, the decor is modern and clean. The room is big, the bed is extremely comfortable and there is a tv in the bathtub ;)
This is a very good hotel both for business trips and for holidays!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing