We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and homely hotel in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #27 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel with some work colleagues and we had a very pleasant experience.

The hotel is on a beautiful tree-lined typical Amsterdam street, it's an old property but full of modern luxuries, the reception and bar area is full of beautiful furniture and there is well stocked honesty bar, breakfasts were served here and we're really good.

My room was really spacious with a really high ceiling, my bed was extremely comfortable and full of everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality, free wi-if, flatscreen TV, DVD player, mini bar, nespresso coffee machine, plus some nice touches like a tv in the bathroom, plug sockets for uk and us appliances and a jacuzzi bath.

Overall the hotel was a vey high quality and beautiful place to stay and I would go back on business or for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

we stayed in room 207 which was supposed to be the deluxe room.
we payed almost 200 euros a night and it really wasnt worth it.
the room supposed to be 30sqm but i dont think its over 20sqm.
the room for itself is beautiful and impressive but that what we expect from a normal 4 star room, but it was not.

the positive: the staff! they are super nice! if you are new to the city this is the place to stay in, just get a normal size room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fodors14_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good location, a 10 minute tram ride from city centre and right next to the fashion district with expensive shops and some nice cafes. Room was very nice, clean with modern interior and the bed was really comfortable. Staff very helpful with directions and taxis. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had booked a 1 night stay for €110, which seemed pretty good value by Amsterdam standards. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to an executive room on the 2nd floor for €140 including breakfast which we accepted, The executive room wasn't especially large (few things are in Amsterdam!) but was cleverly designed and equipped with a Nespresso, jacuzzi and tv in the bathroom, Breakfast was good with bread fresh from the oven and a good spread of other items, We took an early night and enjoyed a (very reasonably priced) last drink in the hotel - it felt like being left alone in the very nice house of a friend:-) The staff were helpful, though I never got the WiFi working correctly on my iPhone:-(.

The location was good: on a quiet elegant street tucked in between the 3 big museums and the upscale shops of PC Hoofstraat. Trams will take you most other places and the 197 bus goes directly to Schiphol airport.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are nice and bright but still quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location is at a quiet street in the museum area, it is 5 minutes by walking from the hotel to Van gogh museum. Generally speaking, the room is clean and modern. I am not sure whether the holiday season caused the high price(over 200 Euro per night), and then low value of the budget hotel, because basically the everything in this hotel is compact rather than a design hotel claimed on the booking introduction. But if you can get a reasonable price, the hotel will be a perfect stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Take the tram No 2or No5from the train station to the museum area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yolandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over the marathon weekend. We booked an executive room and were initially given a room in the basement. The room itself was nice enough but the floor felt like the service area of the hotel and there was no view at all so we asked to move. For a small fee we upgraded to an executive deluxe room on the 3rd floor which was lovely. Lots of storage space, Nespresso machine, kettle, safe, hairdryer, and the bathroom had a deep jacuzzi bath with tv and separate rain shower. What let the room down however was the bed which was too firm for us, and the foam filled lumpy pillows and polyester filled duvet seemed surprisingly cheap given the quality of the rest of the hotel.

The location of the hotel was great, within walking distance to museums, shops, the canals and Vondelpark but on a quiet street which was a nice retreat at the end of a busy day's sightseeing.

The hotel has bikes and a moped for hire and is within walking distance to buses and trams. We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel which cost €45, but when we realised how close the airport bus stop (no. 197) was to the hotel we took the bus back at a cost of €4 each and it took the same time so would recommend doing that.

The reception staff were incredibly helpful and helped to make our stay really enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ClareB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved the staff! So kind and helpful in every way. The hotel is placed in a very nice area, with short walk to Vondel, Gogh, Reijks and expensive shopping street-Room high up, facing the backyard. Room was great. Everything we needed and really comfy bed.

Loved the breakfast and breakfast area. Enjoyed Amsterdam by feet. Lots of walking to different "want-to-see" in Amsterdam. And the hotel was a great place to come "home" to late in the evening. We enjoyed it and recommend it :)

Jørn and Hilde

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 682Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 375 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,410 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £75 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing