We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houseboat Little Amstel
Ranked #52 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Totnes
1 review
“Great spot to stay on the river”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a fantastic three night stay on the Little Amstel Houseboat.

We stayed in the corner room, which was light, clean, comfortable and had great views of the river. The room had everything you needed for a short city break.

Mirjam was very welcoming, and she brought us a great breakfast each morning.

We hired the bikes for a couple of days, which were perfect for getting around Amsterdam on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    39
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Excellent houseboat very well equipped and comfortable. In spite of being tucked in under a bridge with a major road going across it is quiet and pleasant. Easy walking to all the major attractions and a pleasant neigbouhood around for shopping and eating. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in the self catering apartment of the houseboat. Really well equipped, tv, coffee machine, all the appliances etc you could need. We enjoyed feeding the ducks and watching rowing/canal and all other sorts of boats going by. Little Amstel is situated very close to the restaurant district, Coyp Market and tram lines. It's also possible to walk in to the city centre from here which we did quite often. Really nice, quiet area and the owner was very welcoming and helpful:) I would definitely recommend staying here for a relaxing break and for enjoying Amsterdam while staying in a unique setting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed two nights in the corner room and had a great time. Setting up the trip went smoothly - Mirjam was great. Te room was nicer than we even expected. It is small but everything you need. Great views with your new duck neighbors. Worth getting the breakfast - fresh breads and croissants with peanut butter, chocolate and jam. The beds were extremely comfortable. Only negative is we wish we stayed longer to enjoy the room more. Only thing is the location. Quick ride on the train into town but not right in the thick of things. We didn't mind at all because you are away from the craziness, see much more of Amsterdam and right near the Albert Cuyp market which is great fun and worth some time. Highly recommend staying at Little Amstel - especially at the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent two nights stay on the Little Amstel. We were in the corner room, with a beautiful view down the Amstel River. It was a lovely light and bright room, cleverly making use of every bit of space, and had a modern and clean decor style. The bed was comfortable and we loved looking out at the boats passing by. Lovely crisp white linen. The bathroom was modern and perfectly clean. The location was easy to get around Amsterdam from, and there is a great cheap supermarket (Lidl) very close by, and a great restaurant Icebreaker just across the river .Beware taxi drivers may not know its location just by a bridge and best to have a map with the location marked as we were dropped quite a long way past it. Mirjam was very helpful and welcoming. We enjoyed using the bikes provided and had a great time exploring, worth riding to Vondelpark for the riding paths that meander through this majestic park with lakes and cafes well worth having a meal at.

Room Tip: Corner room gets the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Spent a week in the family room on the Little Amstel, it was amazing.

The room was fabulously decorated, and a lovely place to be; we've decided to redecorate our own kitchen to match it. We will definitely be back.

A special thanks to Miriam the operator of the Little Amstel who made our stay even better with her great smile!! : )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband surprised me with a weekend trip to Amsterdam for the Labor Day holiday. He knew how much I've been missing boating and waterfront living so a stay at the Little Amstel was his fix. We stayed in the middle unit, which we found to be cleaner than most Euro-hotels we've visited and had a lovely view. The occasional gentle rocking from passing wake added to the relaxation. The juice, milk, rolls and spreads delivered each morning were a great start to the day and the leftovers made great duck food. The locations was easy for getting to and from the trams, etc. I'm a light sleeper and left my earplugs at home so my first night was sleepless due to the noise of the bridge overhead and the 4am door slammings from the guests in the larger unit next to us. Luckily I was able to find a pharmacy in one of the larger squares that sold ear plugs. My last two nights were great after that purchase. We also rented Mirjam's small boat and cruised through the main canals for about 2 hours. That made for a fun evening. The only additions I would make are two pillows per single bed (4 total) and an iron. We would love to come back with out of town guests and rent the entire boat. Now I'm wishing I lived on a houseboat full time!

Room Tip: The single room on the end seems to have the best windows. The larger unit looked lovely when we wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBruiserGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#82 of 335 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Houseboat Southern Comfort
Houseboat Southern Comfort
#114 of 335 in Amsterdam
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Minties
#61 of 335 in Amsterdam
82 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#20 of 335 in Amsterdam
152 reviews
Houseboat under the Mill
#105 of 229 in Amsterdam
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houseboat Little Amstel

Property: Houseboat Little Amstel
Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houseboat Little Amstel is moored along the Amstel River, in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The boat offers two rooms, the Basic-room and the Standard-room. Each room has it's own private entrance, en-suite bathroom and is suitable for maximum two persons, couples or singles. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay nice and easy. Luxurious beds, coffee- and tea making facilities, a fridge, a flatscreen TV, free WiFi, bluetooth speaker and a complete bathroom with towels and soap. Public transport is just around the corner, just as a lot of popular restaurants and bars. Its convenient location makes that all of Amsterdam's finest attractions and sights are within striking distance. For breakfast there are a number of nice spots very close to the houseboat and the bio supermarket sells fresh bread, croissants and jus d'orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing