We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, light, and airy - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Margot B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margot B&B
Ranked #126 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, light, and airy - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We loved our three day stay at the Margot B&B. The rooms are lovely, light, and airy. They overlook the canal. We could see people biking and boating past and soak up the spirit of Amsterdam. The location is wonderful. We walked or took the tram everywhere we wanted to go with no problem, including the Rijksmuseum. (You can buy tram tickets on the tram itself at the back, so just hop on when you see the one you want.) The Margot is a few streets away from the very touristy areas, so it was very pleasant to walk around and stop for lunch or supper in a local cafe with actual locals. The nearby bridge is a great gathering place with cafes on almost every corner, and there were always people sitting outside drinking coffee or eating from early morning to late evening. We loved having the B&B cat visit us, as we were missing our own pets after being gone for two weeks. The stairs are quite steep with a vertical rope handle if that gives you an idea of how steep they are! But as long as mobility is not an issue for you, the steep stairs just add to the Dutch ambiance. The breakfast is hearty and delicious. Margot was a gracious and helpful host.

Room Tip: The third floor room is slightly bigger than the fourth floor room and one less flight of stairs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryTravelers920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 2 days during July 24-26. The location was fantastic. The rooms and bathroom are clean & lovely. The breakfast was delicious. Thanks Margot for her hospitality. I will definitely prefer Margot B&B for my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed at B&B Margot earlier this month with my partner and my father (we occupied both of the only 2 rooms!) - we had a fantastic stay. The rooms are bright & airy and the location was fantastic. We walked practically everywhere - Central Station (10 minutes) the Anne Frank Museum (10 minutes) and to the Museum District (30 minutes - but a very pleasant walk) from there.

The beds are comfy, the breakfast is top notch as Margot uses all of the best local produce, and we felt very relaxed and at home there. It was a very personal experience, far better than a generic hotel stay!

Would definitely recommend this place, it played a big part in us having a very enjoyable 2 day break in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Canal Room 1 (on the 1st floor) was the nicer of the two rooms! But both are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The walk from the station is an easy 10mins. Margot was there to welcome us and show us our lovely, clean and comfortable room overlooking the canal Singel. The cases up the steep stairs was a bit of an effort, but only needs to be done once. Margots breakfasts are excellent and she is so helpful with bookings and local advice. Margot's B&B is in a great location for exploring beautiful Amsterdam and we enjoyed coming back to our comfortable quiet room with a great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Located at Singel canal, give us great canal view from the room. It take 10 mins to walk from Central station, or take tram for 1 stop only. And we enjoyed delicious breakfast prepared by Margot, and when we check out, she helped us to carry luggage down the steep staircase. Thank you Margot for the great hospitality!! ^^

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Ang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Upon arriving Margot upgraded us to an apartment of our own for the same price and gave us lovely local foods to make breakfast with. She even Included a bottle of champagne and strawberries since it was our Honeymoon!! What a surprise! She was very helpful in telling us some great places to eat. Awesome local Thai food just around the corner! Great weekend experience in Amsterdam, always felt safe and it was just a short walk from the train station and local shopping and dining. Thanks Margot!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Margot is a wonderful Resource for finding just the right activities in Amsterdam. Just let her know what you are interested in, and she knows where to go and what to do. The rooms were spotless, quiet, and the breakfasts were exceptional. It is quiet, yet just a short walk away from the Dam, trams, and all the Centraal station. If you come to beautiful Amsterdam, stay here!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Jewel
Amsterdam Jewel
#43 of 227 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Empiric
Empiric
#228 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
MNQUE Bed & Breakfast
MNQUE Bed & Breakfast
#163 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Casa Luna
Casa Luna
#154 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#34 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot B&B

Property: Margot B&B
Address: 129 Singel, 1012 VH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing