We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and tram stop close to centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #81 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and tram stop close to centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Couldn't fault anything about this hotel, my husband and I stayed last week for our wedding anniversary and everything was just perfect. Bar is a bit pricey but a beautiful view to make up for it, loved it, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sazroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    1,112
    326
    96
    78
See reviews for
319
1,393
91
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have just stayed at this hotel
For 2 nights.
It is in a former office building on outskirts of the city and an easy 15m tram ride to the centre. The room was box fresh but had hand wash in the shower. I had to ask for shower gel - that request was treated with surprise!
I had a double room but it was simply two singles Pushed together. Very far from ideal but when I complained and asked for a double bed I was told that they were not available! This is a strong negative.
The quality of theDesk staff was mixed- from an incredibly rude north african (I would guess) man to a jolly lady.
I would strongly recommend the breakfast, primarily as it's on the 17th floor overlooking Amsterdam.
There is an hotel bus to/from airport. Makes it easy although it's €5 each way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here because I thought the price was reasonable. But when I checked out, the staff named Celesta, who has really bad attitude, told me i haven't paid city tax. I showed her my invoice with all the charges paid online including the city tax but she didn't listen and said everyone paid city tax at checkout. She even claimed that the room is 85 euro instead of 79 euro which I booked online. I didn't know they can change the price on you like that! I was really angry and asked for manager and he just ignored and said yeah you paid tax when you checked out. The amount is small but I hate it when the hotel cheats on you and customer service is BAD BAD BAD!!! Don't go there, they will disappoint you. Plus it is far from city center

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joannepchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Mrs. Chan,

Thank you for your review.
Please note that a personal email message has been sent to you on the 23rd and 24th of September already.

I am tremendously sorry to learn you were disappointed about the customer service.

To clear up a few issues:

On your booking confirmation nr 577211929 from Booking.com the price of your stay is incl. VAT and incl. city tax.
In our system the total price of your stay is exactly the same, but we split the room charge and city tax. I will explain the reason why we split the city tax from the room charge; when guests make a reservation in Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and do not arrive at the hotel, they do not have to pay for the city tax. City tax is governmental tax which only needs to be paid when you are actually staying in the hotel.

Assuring you our best intentions at all times.

Imre Heijboer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma'ale Adummim, null, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

New hotel with advanced services, Pleasant room with a very beautifull view off amsterdam.
10 minutes from center off town by tram or by bus. The was clean with hi quality. very good for families as well as for business.

Room Tip: high floor and corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Brand new hotel based on the outskirts of Amsterdam. Enjoyed staying at the Ramada Apollo, was out a little (about a 15 minute ride on the number 13 tram). We are regular visitors to Amsterdam and didn't mind this at all, if its a first time visit may be a little far out if you aren't confident using public transport,
The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and the views from the hotel are fantastic, the gorgeous roof top bar where they serve breakfast also is well worth having a few drinks in.
Breakfast is £12.50 if you pay on check in, its ok but could do with a few more choices.
My only gripe sounds silly but the pillows are cushion sized and make the otherwise comfortable beds a little uncomfortable...I suggest if each room had a couple of proper size pillows also this would help alot.
The hotel also runs a really handy airport shuttle which is a brilliant service and very good value at 5 euro, saved us alot of time on the way home.
To summarise, the hotel is clean, with great rooms and bath rooms and good facilities and I would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff too make it a great option for a trip to my favourite city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarbar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göktürk, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

when u consider Amsterdam conditions during IBC show, my visit was close to perfect. the hotel has been opened last month, Aug 2012. it is clean, modern and has a nice view.
it is close to one of the big park, where u can rent a bike and ride around.
it is 15 minute to the down town by train, during the show, there are regular shuttle services as weil.

Room Tip: do not choose rooms close to the sliding doors or stairs. isolation is not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GokhanOzcevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of August, having booked earlier through Trivago. The rate charged was very competitive, even though breakfast was extra. This is a new hotel which opened early August. The bedroom was very comfortable. The staff were all very welcoming as well as efficient - the receptionist even booked our tickets to the Van Gogh Mueum online to save us having to queue.The restaurant on the 17th floor had wonderful views over the city. We would cedtainly stay there again, especially if these rates are available.

Although not located in the centre, it was very well served by the tram service which took only 10 -15 minutes to Dam Square and the Central Railway Station.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing