We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #91 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern and Comfortable”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is a bit away from Amsterdam centrum but the place is good value for Money, good services, right opposite the tram into town and really comfortable bed. The staff are helpful and there is even a scooter/cycle rent service right outside.
Only one grievance, Internet is chargeable, Internet should be free, it represents freedom.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executiveenclave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    1,169
    345
    107
    81
See reviews for
334
1,469
99
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good location, just out of the centre of Amsterdam but close enough. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The views from our room were great, overlooking the views of the city, and the bar on the 17th floor was a lovely treat. The shuttle service from the airport is brilliant, with a free incoming journey and then just 5 euros each for the return trip. The room was lovely and new. Stayed for three nights in September and got a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

OK.

So went to Amsterdam as had a few days free and booked last minute.

This hotel in terms of location is fine, there is a tram stop right into town just a few minutes walk away and assuming you pay attention you won't get lost coming back (ie me) you need to take tram number 13! 17 and 7 go close but 13 is perfect.

So the hotel, I stand waiting to be seen by reception and although there is enough staff, they seem to have their head down and not really paying attention to me. After a few minutes a female manager came to see me. The whole process was devoid of personality and seemed a little smug (Not sure this is word I need but seems fine when I write it) just did not seem overly interested in me. So got my keycard, nothing at all explained about the hotel or breakfast, and pointed to the lifts.

I go into my room and first thing I notice is my bed looks like it has been slept in.. it was made but looked liked someone had been sleeping on the top then I looked at the room closer and realised it was a dirty room, with bin full of rubbish and old coffee cups on table.

So I head down to reception to speak to same woman and she makes me feel like I am lying by telling me the room is clean on her system..ok.. thats all nice and good but its dirty so change it?
Then given an other room and got to room and keycard did not work, so again, all the way back down to see this same woman who by this time was quite sarcastic in her tone in suggesting she would "come with me to make sure" this time, Well her offer was declined and I went back this time all worked. The room was lovely and new, I liked the layout and loved the fact the tv stations were local to me!

The shower room was a bit basic with a few plastic cups and thats it and shampoo was out in shower (both days)

The view from level 17 bar/restaurant is unmissable but the prices are missable and very over the top for what they are.

There is no pool but there is a gym and sunbed room (strange?) and lovely sauna.

So overall...

Hotel gets 4 and half stars, service gets 1 so averaged it out to 3 stars.

How to improve? Hire people who are customer focused. I am a assistant manager in 4 star hotel in Edinburgh and I realise it is the small things not the big things that make the difference.

Oh yeah and airport shuttle was late! and I made my flight by nearly begging staff to let me on and with some amazing luck! So pay attention early morning for shuttle, pre book and book an earlier one just in case as motorway is terrible.

Room Tip: As for room near top? Why not huh! I was on 4th floor and seen trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Mr. Skene,

I would like to thank you immensely for taking the time to provide us with some very valuable feedback regarding our property, your stay with us, and the level of service you received. As you know, we are still quite new and appreciate any suggestions for areas of improvement. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not ideal and rest assured that we will address this with the front office staff.

I hope you will come back and see us again in the near future to see the improvements we are already implementing!

Kind regard,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Hotel is newly built just outside Amsterdam centre

Good points:
- price, having just opened this hotel is offering really competitive prices
- Airport shuttle means it is free to get to the hotel and just 5ruro to return. This was both cheap and simple
- Despite being outside the centre, it is just a 15min tram journey out the centre the trams are really frequent and the stop just a few minutes walk away. Recommend getting a 24hr or more pass. They tend to run out of these on the tram but can get from central station (end stop on the team if going into town)
- hotel is clean and modern

Bad points:
- rooms are v small and not much room with luggage. Incidentally it also took me ages to locate the wardrobe in the side of the bed

Overall a pleasant stay at a good price

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Lovely hotel just been renovated so everything is new. Beautiful views especially at night from 17th floor restaurant. Although it is a very expensive place to eat and drink 17.50€ for breakfast per person, for dinner expect to spend 30€ each at least without drink. Overall well located away from main city centre but easy to get to by tram.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cooksley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed for 6 days, the hotel is new: everything is clean, new and pleasant to touch. We had a corner room on the 13th floor with panoramic windows and a magnificent view. The staff was very polite and helpful. There is a free shuttle from the airport - very convenient, back to the airport they charge 5 Euro per person (still a good deal). The room is small, but very well equipped: small fridge, fan, USB port for charging, free wi-fi, writing desk and a chair, small sitting area with a coffee table, a kettle, an iron and a wardrobe. It's about an hour walk from the Dam, a 15 min ride on a tram. There is a tram stop (# 13) right outside. An hour ride costs 2.7 Euro. The hotel is located in suburbs, near a park. No supermarkets were found nearby. They have a luggage storage room downstairs, with personal lockers.

On the down side: the room was tiny, no bathtub, only a shower that was not very convenient, since it was only party closed and no matter how we tried - the bathroom floor was covered with water. Booked a room with a double bed more than a month in advance. Upon arrival no such rooms were available. Received a room with two joined single beds, but they offered me to check with them tomorrow, since some room might get available. Let's face it, after you unpack - no chance you move a room. The beds were moving and someone always got to sleep between the beds. The blankets were pretty small (we received two single small blankets) and the pillows were rock-hard (pretty bad for my neck). The quality of sleep was not so good.

Overall: we liked this hotel a lot!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariannak387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Wow! Great find, really reasonable stay & still new. Stayed here for 3 nights with my mother, reception staff really friendly & spoke excellent English. So here goes.

1) please note that the hotel offers free arrival transfer from Schiphol Airport, you can email to check. Then follow signs for Hotel Shuttle Buses from Arrivals hall & look for Ramada Apollo Hotel (to the right hand side). There is a cost for return transfer of 5€ per person & this should be booked at reception & paid for at time of booking.

2) The hotel is on the 13 tram line & is only 20mins from Central Station so very accessible. Taxis can be arranged but so expensive best not to bother.

3) The rooms also have digital safes so you can leave your valuables in the room. I closed door, entered a code of my choosing (I used 3 digits) then pressed # key. Safe then locked! Don't forget your code!

I couldn't fault the service of staff or quality of breakfasts, nothing too much trouble. My only niggle was the pillows & I'm not alone, they are the size of cushions! Most of the guests have commented & the hotel are taking note & hope to resolve this. Don't hesitate to stay here, it's great.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mairi H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#106 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,707 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing