We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning....like a young Burt Reynolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #92 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

As students, we came to the Ramada on a travelzoo offer and were thoroughly impressed. Staff were lovely and all spoke fluent English and the airport shuttle was delightful, informative ....and FREE! We were given a free room upgrade on arrival...overlooking city; it was a dream! Although a little ways from the city center....the tram stops outside and is only €7.50 for 24h. overall... Would definetly come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 3,172 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stopped here for a three night mini break in February having read the reviews on here. We were not disappointed at all and were most impressed with the friendly staff and lovely clean premises. We were lucky enough to have a room on a high floor and facing dam square. the rooms were a bit compact but with a lovely shower? Only a ten minute tram ride to dam square. the tram stop is just over the road. Went to the sky bar one night for a drink and while the view and surroundings were very nice it is expensive for food and drinks. Breakfast was ok but no bacon and not a large choice of hot food and would you believe they had no butter on our second morning . . . . .ran out!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank lesstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Having just recently spent a few days in Amsterdam, I was very impressed with my stay at the Ramada Apollo. I was even picked up at the airport and taken back for my return flight . The Hotel is very clean and tidy throughout, with great rooms, and a beautiful veiw of the city from the 17th floor, where the dining area is situated. The staff are very helpful, and pleasant, with a welcoming friendly approach. And even though I only stayed for 3 nights, I would strongly recommend this Hotel to anyone. My special thanks go to-- Celesta and Thysia who work at the Ramada, for helping make my visit to both Amsterdam and the Ramada an enjoyable experience, I will most definitely use this hotel when visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank markferris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This a fantastic hotel in Amsterdam. Its not in the center, but its about 5 minutes walk from the tam and then you can reach the center in about 15 minutes. The room is big, the service very nice, and all installations as well. The breakfast is expensive, so go out and have it somewhere else. Great hotel, good price, just in front of Rembrant Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The Ramada Apollo is a very peaceful and modern hotel. Extremely clean and has the line 13 tram right outside the door to get to the centrum in approx 15 mins.You can buy tram tickets directly on board from the attendant who is sitting at the rear of the tram..
There is a small animal sanctuary across from the hotel in the park which adds to the peaceful feel.
A KFC is within walking distance if the food menu which is a bit limited in the restaurant for snacks is not affordable.
The tower bar on floor 17 is great to relax with views indicated on the windows of the panarama that you can see of Amsterdam.
Excellent cocktails, and the staff here are very attentive and in particular Mele who looked after us and gave us an anniversary cocktail on the house. This was excellent customer service and gave us the impression that the staff were highly trained and interested in making your time there special. For this reason I would reccommend a stay in the Ramada Apollo and the bed was extremely comfortable to boot, so definitely will be back to sleep over again.

Room Tip: Moeders restaurant which is on the tram stop Rozengratz is a great place to eat and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharonStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

All my partner asked for for Christmas was "a break" she had been to amsterdam before, I had not, I was looking at Venice or Rome but settled on Amsterdam as this hotel looked better than the options for either of the other two destinations.

We were not disapointed, We had the first flight out of Gatwick and landed in Amsterdam around 8am, we were on the free shuttle bus (warning only has 8 seats be prepared to wait if you get there later) and promptly whisked to the hotel arriving at 9, our first concern would be having to wait the regulation four/five hours to check in before our room was ready but that was not the case, it was ready as we walked through the door which was a bonus as we had been up for a few hours already we went and had a little kip before starting our busy weekend.

And there is my first major bonus points for the ramada, the bed was immense, if I could have got away with taking that on easyjet I would of although I would hate tho think how much that would have cost me, would never have got away with hand luggage..... people complaining that the "pillows" were cushions, yeh they are but they are massive and three cushions easily cover the head of the bed, the room was more than adequate for two people, no bath but the shower room was plenty big enough, my partner wasnt feeling too well on our second day so we spent quite a long time in the room and we didnt feel claustrophobic at all, the hotel was very warm and inviting, the staff were all very happy and very friendly, I didnt catch his name but the young lad with blond hair on reception was really helpful.

I am only taking one mark away from the ramada because of the food, the breakfast was "ok" plenty to eat but nothing amazing, the room service food there was no real choice, it consisted of a pizza, a salad, one other main and a dessert and the evening meals, it feels strange to complain about it but here goes, we had a fantastic evening meal, possibly one of the best burgers I have ever eaten, however my complaint is, for normal people this was the only edible thing on the menu and it was hidden, "Wagyu burger, cheese, bacon, pont neuf" we googled pont neuf realised it meant chips, googled wagyu, high quality meat...

The menu was pretentious and expensive, I dont doubt the quality and you know, I dont even mind that I paid 22 euros for my cheeseburger and chips but maybe, just maybe introduce a more familiar menu? I'm not saying go all cheap but instead of a farmers pate which consists of "brioche (what?) Sea buckthorn (What??) and compote (i give up) have a nice steak and chips?

That is my only gripe with ramada, I still enjoyed the food but its trying too hard, the rest of the hotel was amazing, we had a great time and if ever my friends go to amsterdam or if ever we come back then I would fully and whole-heartedly recommend the ramada.

Oh, just remember what the tram stop is called, we kept forgetting, we knew where we were getting off but it would have been easier if we remembered the name...

Room Tip: Couldnt really comment, the whole place seemed unbelievably quiet, I guess rooms facing the town wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights where we paid £20 each per night and that was including breakfast. Cheaper than some hostels that are in the city centre.

It is a very modern hotel and breakfast was great with lovely views over the city.

Location is a little far out but easy enough to get to the city centre by tram.

We were not charged any city tax or deposit as others are previously mentioning.

Will definitely be returning, particularly if we can get at that price. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kylieclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,948 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,178 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#108 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing