We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #94 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my cousin and i would highly recommend anyone to stay here as well. The check in was quick and easy with all the local information offered to us.

We were upgraded upon our arrival as well which was nice of them. The reception area itself was modern, clean and warm which was was quite to see after a long day of travelling.
The room we were given was on the fifth floor and it was perfect for me and my cousin. We dropped our bags off and went out to explore for some food options. We found a KFC literally straight up the road and we were back in our hotel within ten minutes.

We were thankful that there were magazines in the room that offered information on the attractions of amsterdam such as restaurants and museums. So we were able to plan out our day without having to annoy recepion all night.

The free WiFi is also a bonus and allowed us to research the attractions in more depth whilst also staying in touch with family back in England.

Once we settled down for the night, the hotel was quiet with no noise coming from the corridors or the street which provided us with a good nights sleep.

The tram stop for the city centre is literally around the corner from the hotel and you can get a 24 hour pass for 7 euros 50 cents which lets you on all trams for the entire day with unlimited useage.

If you want to go see Anne Frank museum then get off at Westermaarkt which is literally across the road from the museum itself. I recommend that after you see the museum, head along the canal to the pancake bakery. You wont be disappointed!

On our last night, we made time to go up to floor 17 for a cocktail and take in the lovely views of the city. The staff were all friendly and attentive to all guests. The food menu could be a little more optional, it seemed to stick with one thing and unfortunately didn't cater to my or my cousins liking. However, the cocktail list was rather interesting. The Miss V became out choice for the evening.

Overall i had a very pleasant stay and will definately stay here again should i return!

Cons of the trip were that when we arrived we werent made aware of the free shuttle bus for our hotel and had to pay almost 40 euros in fares. However once we were made aware of this we booked the shuttle back to the airport which comes twice an hour for a small fee of five euros which was very handy and the driver was very kind and made polite conversation with us during the journey back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dcmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,142)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for three nights in February 2013...

The Hotel is new, i guess it was only opened last summer..Our room was modern and clean, very comfy king size bed, room on the average size i would say (ok, a small plus if you think to hotels downtown...)..The view from the upper floors facing the city center are impressive, though i guess can even be better on the summer time with the park next to the hotel...
Location....i guess the only minus of the hotel...it's about 20 min trip with no 13 tram to Centraal Station, but all in all cut half an hour every time you travel downtown or back..The tram's stop is in the near vicinity, and there are like 7 of them every hour..It depends i guess on everyone's interest and taste, but compared to what we paid it was an accepted deal for us....Also the day cards for the transportation helps...it's like 16.50 each for 3 days..I cant comment on the breakfast as our deal didn't include it....The bar on the 17th floor is nice, so i would recommend it for a drink or more..:)
Not to forget...the wifi is free and works perfect (though i take it as a negative opening trip advisor as the homepage, as we look here for unbiased comments from people who want to share something, no???!!!, but probably is like this because of the hotel being quite new, so easy way to advertise it..)
So to sum it up, the hotel is to be recommended, unless you want to stay in the very heart of Amsterdam....

PS: Not to forget, a big plus for the staff (drivers from the complimentary shuttle were very funny, the employees from reception very attentive and helpful, with a plus for Celeste)..

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the city centre will give you the same view as from the 17th floor bar.....
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neamtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights and cannot fault the hotel. Rooms great and got free upgrade to floor 16 with fab views. Clean and modern with very comfy beds. Booked this hotel as gor great deal of €180 which compared to prices in centre was great but location not for us. Tram 13 which is 2mins from hotel goes straight to Dam in 10mins and €7.50 for 24hrs on tram great value. Get off at marinxtraat if u want to go to Leidseplein - tram 10 outside fire station gets you there in 2-3 stops. Taxi back from Leidseplein to hotel €13 as trams stop after midnight. Location just not for us and will book somewhere more central next time but cannot daily hotel. Also free shuttle from airport great and only €5 return so great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lforan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here 4 4 nites and would highly recomend this hotel 2 any1. Tram stop just rnd the corner and u can b in dam square in 10-15 mins. the breakfast was vry good 4 continental stantards reallt enjoyed our stay and would def go back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samlavery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

my husband and i stayed here for 3 nights from feb 9th with another couple. we found the hotel warm,clean and comfortable. we were on the 13th floor with good views over the city. the rooms are your typical 4 star set up with comfortable beds, a free safe but no minibar (dont use them anyway). breakfast was continental style with plenty on offer but it was a bit of a struggle to find anywhere to sit- maybe we should have gotten up earlier! had a look at the evening menu-bit pricey but who wants to eat in the hotel when you have a city full of restaurants to choose from. i had seen on TA that people were charged 50 euros deposit and thought that was it-didnt realise it was 50 per night!! thought this was a bit excessive and have never come accross this practice anywhere else. money was paid back in cash on checkout.
the hotel is about 10 mins by tram from the city centre but its no big deal as trams are frequent. all in all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: get a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pgrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had a very Nice dinner at the restaurant on THE 17 floor of THE Ramada hotel. We tastend 7 small courses and most were wonderfull (THE perasoup was too salty). We also die THE wineflight, very Nice indeed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gido J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at The Ramada Apollo with 6 of my friends for a 30th birthday treat. The reception staff obviously didnt like the look of us when we arrived and were very rude and abrupt. When asking about airport transfers we were told they were fully booked, yet people were booking after us for the same times, when asking for extra tea and coffee we were frowned upon. I am a senior PA, I book hotels everyday and if this is the kind of treatment you give I will not be booking any of my directors in, when they are travelling to Amsterdam. Amsterdam is a wonderful city, but this hotel completely put us off returning. If you are not suited and booted they do not treat you as human beings they treat you like benefit bums.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,120 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#111 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing