We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel In Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great hotel, great view, great location! We stayed 3 nights from 5 to 8 of January, 2013. Beautiful, clean & modern room, great breakfast, free WIFI, friendly staffs and there are tram stops in front of the hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Leo W,

Thank you so much for your nice review!

It really is pure joy to read that your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre was great!
I am happy to read that you will definitely come back to our hotel.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    1,113
    326
    96
    79
See reviews for
319
1,397
91
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at the Apollo in Dec 2012 to visit the Xmas Markets, however no Markets....thank you travel company!!! The hotel is clean and comfortable, however you are a tram ride out of town so this was a bit disappointing as there is no where to eat or drink within walking distance of the hotel. Our room was comfortable but on the small side, the hotel is not very attractive from the outside as it looks like a 70's office block, I was expecting the staff to be wearing roll necks and slacks but they where all smartly dressed and very helpful....shame!! On the plus side they do run an airport shuttle service which makes life easier, however for the price I would have preferd to stay more central and in walking distance to all the bars and restuarants of Amsterdam Central.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear MPound,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I'm sorry to read that you had some difficulties with our location. I can emphasize that the hotel is at 10 minutes distance from the heart of the city, but with the ease of Tram 13 it is nice to come back to a peaceful location away from the noise.
When you exit the hotel to the main road 'Jan Evertsenstraat' take a right (Centraal Station direction) and walk about 5 minutes. You will find all the restaurants, fast foods and even a large supermarket.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here in April 2013 for four nights. We (couple and one child) had an "Executive Large King Bed" room on the 10th floor (1016). By looking at the escape plan on the back of the door, it appears that only two rooms (per floor?) are larger than the rest - and we were not disappointed by the size of the room. I paid €406 for the four nights. There was ample room for the three of us, a large, probably Queen Size bed, a large bathroom with shower, bath and twin sinks. My young son had a fold out bed which he was comfortable on.

The hotel is a refurbishment of an old building into a modern hotel, which took place in August 2012, I believe. Therefore the rooms and corridors are generally still very new looking and still have that new carpet aroma.

LOCATION - located about fifteen to twenty minutes from the city center by tram. A tram stop is right outside and runs regularly (number 13). I think a single journey is €2.80, therefore we bought a 72 hour ticket for all travel at the cost of €16.50, but made the mistake of not buying it at the airport. Therefore, we had to travel in to the city to buy it at the main station. So the tip is to get them at the airport so that you are ready to go when you first venture out.

TRANSFER - the hotel runs a minibus transfer from Schipol Airport. We squeezed on to the bus and thankfully left no-one behind, but I could see how others would have to wait for the next bus if it were full. Still worth the wait though as a taxi would have been costly. On returning to the airport, the Ramada charges €5 per person - still worth it - and you can reserve your seat.

OTHER POSITIVES - Beautiful views - didn't close the curtains at night so we got the city lights all around. Not noisy - never heard another guest and the road noise was not noticeable from the 10th floor. Free luggage lockers in the basement were ideal for after checkout as we had a late flight. Received a discount for a boat tour - see the barcode on the Ramada city map from reception. Free WiFi at 20Mbps speed. Large TV with UK channels. Free large safe in room, iron and board, and hairdryer. Fantastic 17th floor bar and restaurant - great views - great cocktails - nice bar. Bakery and supermarket two blocks away in the neighbouring square.

NEGATIVES - no sink plugs (minor detail) but had the chain reattached to the bath plug without fuss! Only supplied two paper cups for drinks, despite there being three of us - rectified after I left a note. I was not too worried about there being paper cups - I could see the benefits in supplying fresh ones each day. Restaurant too expensive to use really - the hotel is well priced for its location, but then seems to be out pricing itself on its food - therefore we never ate there and enjoyed the restaurants in the city instead. Biggest negative for me was the price of the breakfast - again, we would have used it more, but at €17.50 per person (worked out at 15GBP) it was too expensive for the three of us (maybe the exchange rate doesn't help?). We ate there for two mornings out of the four, for convenience and a treat as the breakfast was really nice - but if it was more reasonably priced around the €12.00 mark we would have used it four times! This is the only reason that I rate the hotel four, and not five out of five.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel, with the tip to use the bakery in the neighbouring square for a budget breakfast or instead venture into the city for the cafe lifestyle.

Final tip - book your Anne Frank house tickets in advance on-line. Massive queues otherwise!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner that overlooks the city if you are going for one of the two executive rooms per f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stugra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Stugra,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

With regards to the breakfast I can inform you that we offer breakfast for €12.50 instead of €17.50 when you book it upon arrival at the reception for your entire stay.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have had a 2 day meeting / training in this hotel in March and again in April 2013. Both times the service was great. The meeting specialist (Caroline) is great and helps you with all your wishes. even last minute changes, which always happen when you organise big trainings, was not a problem. They are only a phone call away and will go out of there way to help you out. Once the meeting starts there is a team on the meeting floor ( Vincent, Helma and Guido) ready to be of any assistance. They are there the whole day and really help out wherever needed. We had both out meeting and our team dinner at the hotel, the restaurant called "Floor 17" gives a great view of Amsterdam, and offers great food! The chef made a special Indonesian Rice Table for our group, which shows again, they will really try their best to help you.
All I can say, if you are looking for friendly staff, great location and a well organised meeting, this is the place to go!
We are sure to come back here for our next Company Team meeting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanyaf368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Tanya368,

Thank you very much for granting Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 5 bullets! What a compliment that you like our hotel so much.

We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your meeting and we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff! I will share your feedback with our entire team and Caroline, Vincent, Helma and Guido in particular.

I am delighted to read that you will organize your next Genzyme Company meeting again in our hotel! That really put a smile on my face.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had a lovely weekend in Amsterdam, staying at the Ramada, arrived quite early off the ferry but our rooms were not available till 15.00 so we had to leave our bags and headed straight to town which I think a bit rotten if only there for weekend. Tram Number 13 into town excellent dropped at Central station very cold but lovely day looking at the sights round red light area, ha ha.Rooms are quite comfortable but we struggled to get the heating going had to ask for extra duvet, the wardrobe space is a little limited if there longer than two days and you have to be quite tall to hang your clothes in it, in fact we struggled to find it as its very small size.. Breakfast area seems quite a tiny place in regard to the amount of guests, so can imagine its a bit chaotic, but the staff do a very good job in clearing the pots away. Overall a good clean modern hotel. Excelleny views from restaurant and bar on floor 17. Little pricey for drinks but well worth having one. Lots to see and do. We did City tour and jump the queue to Anne Frank house which am glad we did as it was too cold to stand in queue.But they just left us at Anne Frank house we left our water on coach no one told us it was the end of trip

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanetteSMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Janette,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with the entire team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Great place when visiting the city of Amsterdam. Conveniently located directly next to a Tram station where you can catch the 13 right into the center of Amsterdam passing the Anne Frank House as well.

Rooms were very nice, very comfortable bed, great shower. Bar upstairs was also a plus, friendly staff and great drinks.

Overall the hotel is a great place. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sully_4_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Sully_4_22,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others!

I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a General Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here and loved it, rooms are beautiful and clean, staff Friendly and helpful. Tram station is right opposite the hotel and only a 10 minute trip into town. The floor 17 bar is a great experience, pricey but good views! Would definitely recommend this and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gracekelly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear GraceKelly91,

It really is pure joy to read that your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre was great!That is exactly what we are ranking for!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing