We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, modern and amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #93 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a lovely time in this hotel. Everything is new and shiny and the service was good too. The room was super clean and the view of the city is fantastic. The only thing is that is not walking distance from the city centre, but the tram stops in front of the hotel. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarioandCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear MarioandCarmen,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on tripadvisor.
The hotel is indeed located right next to the main attraction like Dam Square, these are however easily reached by taking tramline 13.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us a review and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 3,174 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

My friend and I stayed there last weekend and had a few problems such as a hire bike stolen and my friend had an accident on her bike that required being checked out at the local hospital.
The young staff was excellent in every way and couldn't have been more understanding and helpful. I have stayed in a lot of places and would have to say that the service is 10 out of 10.
The rooms are comfortable and the easy access to the Rembrandt Park makes it all the more enjoyable.
Easy tram travel to the city centre. I would advise this rather than a bike, not for the over 50's highly dangerous as scooters share the bike paths and no one wears helmets, not even children.
Once again, would like to say that the staff are superb.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank RoseRae160P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear RoseRea160P,

Thank you for this wonderful review. Your comments regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre are a big compliment to the whole Ramada team!

Hopefully, everything is going a little better after the accident. If there is anything else we can do regarding your recent visit, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Again, thank you very much for these amazing words on Tripadvisor and I do hope to welcome you once more.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located well outside Amsterdam. However, the Tram station is only 5 minutes walk away. Tram number 13 takes you to city center and Central train station. The staff are very helpful. They don't change your towel unless you have to phone them. It took only a few minutes for the house keeping to bring you the fresh ones. The 2 bottles of water was mistakenly provided to me upon my arrival. When I called and asked for the refill on the second day, I was politely informed that the water was for airline crew only. There is a convenience store about 700 meters from the hotel. KFC is about the same distance to another directions. The best thing about this hotel in my opinion is that it sits next to a public park. I went out to jog in a few morning. The hotel shuttle drivers are very friendly with good service mind. The shuttle runs every 40 minutes. Not very convenient but manageable. Will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and city view. I got a room on 15th floor with Amsterdam view. Love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PativateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear PrivateB,

Thank you very much for writing such a marvelous review regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre! What a compliment you were over the moon with your stay in Amsterdam. I would also like to thank you very much for all your useful tips towards our future guests.

Regarding the housekeeping service I would indeed like to inform you that we only change your linen or towels each two days, or as mentioned, on request. This, due to our Golden Green Key.

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed her for one night as part of a Cosmos tour April 29. Very nice hotel with clean rooms and nice shower area, we were very comfortable.There was a neat gift shop on the lobby floor where we bought our souvenirs.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank OneSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear OneSouthernBelle,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor and what a compliment you are so enthusiastic after just one night.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you any time in the future to see more from the city of Amsterdam.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This Ramada wants to have its cake and eat it too. It charges premium prices but provides, in most respects, a low-budget hotel experience. Priced in the same bracket as the Amsterdam Hilton but this place isn't in the same league

Room was large but basic. No cups or glasses. Tea and coffee making facilities but only paper cups and cheap instant coffee.

There may be some good staff working here but I didn't meet them. Everyone from reception through to the bar and restaurant staff seemed to exude an air of indifference. Watching the bar staff leaning on the bar chatting wouldn't be a problem if I hadn't ordered a drink 15 minutes ago which hadn't arrived. After a further request for the drink I only had to wait another 5 minutes. I suppose that's progress. Another example: at breakfast two members of staff decided that a good place to complete some of their paperwork was right in front of the coffee machine. When I asked if I could please use the machine, one of them stepped a few inches to the side, grunted "yes" and then just carried on with the paperwork, leaving me having to stretch across to use the machine.

To summarize, this hotel falls a long way short of acceptable at the price. If I hadn't been staying on business but paying myself I'd have checked out on day two and looked for something better. I'm often in Amsterdam but this place definitely doesn't make the approved list.

Good points: Spacious rooms, good breakfast
Bad points: Basic furnishings, poorly motivated/trained staff, general air of cheap budget hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surrealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Surrealistic,

I’m very sorry to hear about this rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Unfortunately, I am not able to look into this unpleasant situation. Please do contact me in person so we can discuss this matter.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and the staff were so friendly.could not do enough for you
Room was modern and comfortable and slept well each night
Downside was the breskfast.We were quoted 35 euro for two,when we paid this was 50 euro with local tax,this was not explained also not a lot left when we went and staff clearing away buffets before 10.30
This said, really enjoyed the stay and stunning views from the roof terrace wiyh excellent bar and out door seating.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Jim O,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us such a useful review on Tripadvisor.
I’m especially delighted with your compliments towards our members of staff since this is one of our main focus points.

Regarding the taxi charges, I’m wondering from which destination you made use of this service since every place in Amsterdam should be reached for a maximum of €35.
I’m looking forward hearing from you.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a few days break in Amsterdam and decided to stay at a hotel out of the city centre. Upon our arrival we were checked in by the very efficient and friendly reception staff. The room was fairly clean but a bit basic for a four star hotel. The hotel’s big drawback was the restaurant, at dinner we ate al la carte, the menu is very short, my husband thought there must have been a page missing, but there wasn’t. The food was ok but expensive and the portions very small. No need to worry about over eating at this hotel. The breakfast selection was not much better. One plus point about this hotel is that it is located just a short walk from the number 13 tram which goes all the way through the city to the central station. Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holiday-Note
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Holiday-Note,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments regarding the service delivered are a big compliment to each colleague.

I am however quit surprised by your comments towards our restaurant Floor17. Floor17 is indeed a fine dining restaurant. When you would like to enjoy a more simple meal, please have a look at our bar menu. I am however, very pleased with your constructive feedback towards our restaurant area so we can constantly update our services and facilities.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing