We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Portugese Synagogue and Deportation Centre”

Jewish History Walking Tour
Ranked #57 of 353 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jeanette Loeb has studied Jewish history and culture at the University of Amsterdam (UvA).She organises guided tours and lectures in the Jewish field in and around Amsterdam.In a personal consult you can develop your own programme.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Tour of Portugese Synagogue and Deportation Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Jeannette was superb. Great knowledge and a lovely person. Would highly recommend her.
David & Jane Letschert (March 2014)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Letschert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Walking tour of Jewish District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our 12 person group really enjoyed this 1.5 hour brief introduction tour and the wireless headphones were very impressive. Jeanette was very friendly and so knowledgeable and i would sincerely recommend anyone who wishes to get a good understanding of the Jewish side of Amsterdam to call Jeanette. Next time we come we will use Jeanette to tour the other sites to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank adamcohen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for both kids and adults!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A tour with Jeanette is a MUST on a trip to Amsterdam. She knows a lot, she is not boring at all, on the opposite very entertaining. And she cares about her town, its history, its future. This tour is a fantastic experience for both kids and adults! Bravo, Jeanette!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had already heard how good Jeanette's tour was and we were certainly not disappointed. Having arrived on the overnight ferry our children of 13,11 and 7 were a little tired but Jeanette's excellent knowledge and story telling ability bought the Jewish history of Amsterdam to life for us in a way we could never have done ourselves. There is so little left, we would certainly have just walked past things without this tour. Both us and our children were kept interested and even though some of the holocaust history can be challenging, Jeanette's sensitive handling of the subject matter was fabulous. The tour was excellent despite the rainy weather ( with a very welcome cup of tea half way through!) and we would certainly recommend Jeanette to friends and family.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos, california
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewish History Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My college age daughters and I loved this tour. Jeanette is very knowledgeable and we really learned quite a lot about the Jews in Amsterdam. I really enjoyed how she asked us questions to keep us thinking throughout the whole tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn more about jewish history in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dglaveque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewish History Walking Tour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jewish History Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing