We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #18 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a true Crowne Plaza. Built to be a Crowne Plaza and amazingly run. I don't wanna waste any time talking design, comfort, cleanliness - all fantastic. It has a great funky vibe and one can see that a lot of though has been put into building this. The rooms are lovely (I actually feel It would almost be InterContinental material, a few amenities added). Ha, the shower over the bath is right in the middle which we didn't understand but hey, not complaining. There were also no compendiums in the room so I guess its getting off the press as we speak?! Breakfast was lovely and spacious, courteous and happy staff offering beverage on arrival. Egg cooking station, amongst other great treats. The bar is also great, service I gotta say was a little slow both nights (for an empty restaurant) but the food and drinks were nice. We were sightseeing. Although the location is not ideal for that (15 min in metro to central, although you can't reach many of the sights easily), back to my point, its not downtown, but it became this peaceful heaven. We had a peep up in the functions floor and it was of the exact outstanding standards. The hotel seemed quite empty but it was over the weekend. They assured me its a lot busier during the week. Hats off to the staff at Front Desk, who gavel one of the best arrival experiences in Europe (wish I could remember that chap's name). If the location does it for you, stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspector_to_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. We are delighted to read that you overall considered our hotel to be fantastic after positively experiencing our facilities and staff. It was very rewarding to read that you considered the arrival in our hotel to be one of the best you have ever experienced in Europe. As we are always trying to make our guests feel comfortable and at home it is a fantastic compliment to get the confirmation of valued guests like you that we are succeeding in that..

As you mentioned, our quiet location outside the city centre in combination with the many public transport options at the Amsterdam Zuid station, are definitely a reason to choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for a leisure stay in Amsterdam.

Again we greatly appreciate all feedback and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    322
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
403
47
397
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in March for my husbands birthday, I mentioned this at time of booking and when we checked in we where upgraded to a suite! We ate room service at different times of the day and each time it was fantastic! Thank you to all your amazing staff for really spoiling us!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South with us.

Your remarks regarding our staff and the room service are highly appreciated by the entire team. It was our pleasure to assist in making your special occasion even more memorable.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to express your satisfaction and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me and my partner visited Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at the Crown Plaza South. We both had a very pleasent stay and the staff was outstanding. The hotel atmosphere was very peaceful and fresh.

The gentleman on reception was very welcoming and printed off the transportation information to city centre. The room was lovely, the added amenities in the room such as the lavender linen spray, complimentary spring water, slippers and robe was a nice touch. The bed was so comfortable and felt very rested. Breakfast at the One o One Restaurant was very delicious and filling. The Manhattan Lounge was also very nice. Me and my partner really appreciated the late check-out the last day, as I was was not feeling my best and gave me extra time to rest. The house keeper even gave me an extra bottle of water to make me feel better.

Even though the hotel was located out of city centre the transportation was quick, and only within 5min walk from the hotel to the trams. A hotel is only as good as there staff. Well done to the team at Crown Plaza. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBird103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments with the entire team.

First of all we hope that you had a quick recovery from being unwell and that it did not discomfort the last moments of your stay too much.

It was very nice to read your positive feedback about the interior of our hotel. Every peace of furniture has been chosen with care as we find it important to offer you both a good design as well as comfort. You are perhaps aware of the fact that the beds as well as the lavender spray are part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage which helps you to rejuvenate during your stay.

We very much look forward to having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South is a great hotel in a not so bad location. Thaw it situated rather far from the center, it shouldn’t worry you, since there is an efficient transportation in to the city center. You can take tram no. 5 or the metro and within 10-20 minutes you will be were its all happening. 7 minutes train from Schiphol, you will get a comfy bad in a beautiful decorated room, you will get the friendliest stuff that will go off his way to help you around and great and not so expensive f & b.
I stayed in this hotel for an all week and loved every minute of it. Thank you all in CP Amsterdam South for a beautiful Dutch holiday!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GuyHadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

As you mentioned the city centre is indeed located slightly away from the hotel but perfectly reachable from the nearby located station Amsterdam-Zuid. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Aiport to the hotel enables our guests to start their holiday or business trip soon after arrival in the country and to make use of every minute of their stay until flying out.

Thank you very much for complimenting on our staff, rooms and facilities. As a hotel it is our goal to make your trip a success and learning that your week’s stay in Amsterdam was worth every minute is very rewarding.

Thank you again for your very positive review. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Southe for 2 nights after Christmas 2011 and the staff was phenomenal extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were really nice and very clean. It is a bit from Central Amsterdam but the train is only a block away and we were in the city centre within 10 minutes. Thought this was one of the nicest Crowne Plazas I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarity1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very rewarding to read that you consider our staff to be phenomenal and that our rooms were at your satisfaction. In addition we are pleased to learn that, despite our location outside the city centre, you were able to benefit from the many transportation options nearby.

Being rated as one of the best Crowne Plaza’s you have stayed in, is a great compliment and we are honoured that your experience with our hotel was such a positive one.

Thank you again for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to receive you as our guest in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I use ICHotels a lot and have to say that the Crowne Plaza brand has become very mixed with widely varying quality depending on where you stay. This Crowne Plaza, however, is probably the best I have stayed at. Very good rooms and very quiet, even though the hotel was quite full because of a business convention. Staff are excellent and the bar and restaurant food was quite good (try the suckling pig if it's on the menu). You may find yourself using one or both of the bar/restaurant as, like others have said, this hotel is out in the financial district and there doesn't appear to be much in the vicinity.
It is a plus that the hotel is near the RAI and the airport but I can see that if you were visiting Amsterdam for sightseeing, you would want to get this hotel at a very good rate in order to allow for the need to travel into the city.
Overall, if you need a hotel that is near the RAI, I think this one will fit the bill. If you are sightseeing, stay closer to the city unless you can get a really good rate at this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashlessinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience with our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you are a frequent guest of the InterContinental Hotels Group. Following your remark regarding the varying quality of the Crowne Plaza branded hotels, I would like to inform you that in the coming 3 years a globally oriented plan for Crowne Plaza will be put into action in order to freshen up the overall look and feel of the hotels. Great products and facilities, efficient processes and dedicated staff members delivering seamless service should be the combination to result in great guest experience delivered consistently in all Crowne Plaza hotels. As we are a recently opened hotel we are very proud to discover that we are on the right way to display some of those objectives.

As you mentioned as well our location is most suitable for the business guest visiting an inhouse conference, one of the many surrounding offices or the RAI Convention Centre. However there are many public transport options that bring you from the nearby situated railway station Amsterdam- Zuid to downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza South in Amsterdam between the 7 - 11 March 2012 for a conference. The hotel is a new one in a quiet location.
The location:
It is far from the city center but almost 10 to 15 minutes from the airport (by Taxi).
The RAI was only 10 to 15 minutes walking from the hotel, but you can reach it by the Metro.
The Metro is 5 to 10 minutes from the hotel, with which you can go to the city center.
Around the location of the hotel, nothing much to do especially at night.
The Hotel:
A new one with reasonable space of the room.
Clean room, with all what you need.
The staff are cooperative and helpful and nice.
The bed in the room is comfortable.
The Restaurants:
Only two available, and I tried one for dinner and it was excellent for food and service.
In Overall, the hotel is excellent and its location is an advantage and disadvantage according to what you are after.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaniMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience with our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you overall considered our hotel to be excellent after positively experiencing our facilities and staff. We are always trying to make our guests feel comfortable and at home and greatly appreciate all feedback.

Being a hotel situated in the heart of the rapidly developing business district of Amsterdam, we are ideally located for guests visiting one of the many nearby offices or the RAI Convention Center. The railway station Amsterdam Zuid enables fast connections to both Schiphol Amsterdam International Airport as well as the cultural heart of Amsterdam with its many recreational possibilities.

Thank you again for posting your comment and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,416 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing