We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #20 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife was staying here for a couple of weeks and I joined her for the weekend. A standard room, but really nice. Although the area is a business area, it was nice and tranquil over the weekend: and it does not take long to get into town, so you have the best of both worlds. Staff very friendly.

The hotel has bikes for hire and while they are more expensive than renting them in town, it's a lot less hassle and you will save a few euros not having to use the metro/tram. If they have run out, a 20 minute walk to Europaplein and there are some bike shops on Scheldestraat that hire.

Why not 5 stars? Breakfast is NOT value for money in fact very expensive and very poor. I did find the room quite hot and the aircon not overly effective - but that is european hotels for you!

A short (7 minute) train ride to Schiphol airport - much quicker than waiting for a transfer to the airport hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Despite our location outside the centre of Amsterdam, the nearby presence of Station Amsterdam Zuid enables our guests to combine work in the Zuidas area with leisure activities in the downtown Amsterdam area, which can be reached within 20 minutes. It is fantastic to read that you were able to benefit from our location.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the breakfast and the air-conditioning. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused. Should you be willing to share any recommendations regarding the breakfast with us, please send them to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy to consider your suggestions and would appreciate to receive them.

We very much hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review and feedback.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

The rooms are very comfortable, I just loved the bed, it was so comfortable. The dressing gown on the bed and the "It Works" sleep kit with spray for the pillow and rub for your pulses to help you sleep are lovely touches. Will be going out to buy the spray - not sure if they sell it in the hotel, will check the next time I am there!

The weather was lovely and we ate outside on the terrace which is a nice area to dine or have a few drinks in good weather. The breakfast was very good and the service from dining and bar staff was excellent. There is not a huge amount to do around the area however only a 3 min walk from train station and they rent out bikes in the hotel. This is a good location if you are travelling to Amsterdam centre or Amstelveen on business.

I travelled here on business with a colleague, our company paid in advance for both rooms with breakfast, there was a little confusion around this on check-in which was sorted relatively quickly however the same confusion occurred on check-out which I thought was a let down on the customer service side of things. This is the only reason why it gets a 4 rating instead of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narnia_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We enjoyed your review about our hotel. It was especially nice to read that you found our rooms very comfortable and that you loved the bed. The bed is part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme featuring quiet zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. Items that are part of the programme are available for purchase online at www.crowneplaza.hotelsathome.com

In addition we appreciate the fact that you pointed out a development area to us as well. This enables us to critically review our procedures in order to continue to strive to deliver seamless service.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived early A.M. from America and the staff was expecting our early arrival and we were able to get into our room right away. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. We wanted to enjoy Amsterdam, but not be in the middle of the city. Taxi's were easily accessible as was the tram which was a short walk. The hotel is new and beautiful. The rooms were very modern and a nice size for two people with a weeks worth of luggage. What really made this a perfect vacation was the staff, all of which were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We loved the brick patio which was on a small canal, with sunbrella's and modern furniture. The perfect place for a cup of coffee, or a cocktail. The restaurant was also very good.

Our room was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet at night allowing for a great night's sleep. Complimentary coffee and tea was in the room as was a mini bar if you wanted to purchase a soda or liquor. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels, and a very nice modern bathroom with beautiful glass tile and stone. Themed with soft grey walls and a high red headboard with black and white prints on the wall, the decor was sophisticated and pleasing.

Forget business! We chose this hotel for our vacation and were very happy with our choice. I can't thank the staff enough for a memorable week in the Netherlands!

Room Tip: This hotel has views of the office buildings on one side, and the small canal and residential on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We are very happy that there was an option to offer you an early check-in. It is always our pleasure to offer this service upon availability, especially to guests like you that travelled long. Great as well that you enjoyed a great vacation in Amsterdam and that our hotel and its facilities could contribute to that. Moreover we are pleased that our staff were able to make you feel at home and to make your trip a success.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed at the Plaza for a weekend. Was under the impression it was near the Amsterdam Central station. very clean,smart, business hotel with amazing staff, namely Ms Ilona Suurs who assisted me in a slight health emergency. Easily acccesible to all transport and will highly recommend it especially as it is the financial district. Service and food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Despite our location outside the centre of Amsterdam, the nearby presence of Station Amsterdam Zuid enables our guests to combine work in the Zuidas area with leisure activities in the downtown Amsterdam area, which can be reached within 20 minutes. It is fantastic that you were able to benefit from our location and will recommend the hotel.

Moreover it was great to read that one of our employees was able to assist you when needed which made you qualify her and the other staffmembers as amazing.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com as a "Top Secret Hotel". I asked for a hotel 15minutes walk maximum from Centraal Station. This is what they gave me...

It is located in a business district of Amsterdam, about 20minutes by tram or metro from the Centraal Station to Zuid Station (closest station to the hotel). It is also one train stop from Shiphol Airport (main Airport). Its about 5-10min walk from the Zuid Station to the hotel itself.

On the outside the hotel doesn't look like much, but then again neither do many European hotels. The interior of the hotel is quite stunning! The rooms are very modern and definitely of the highest standard. The hotel doesn't have a pool but it has a small gym (which I didn't see).

The staff MAKE this hotel. They went above and beyond what most 5 star hotel staff would do (and this is 4 stars). They were very nice, very patient and helpful. Where the hotel lacks, is its area. Staying at this hotel on a weekend is like a ghost town. The entire area is closed Saturday and Sunday so you will be forced to either stay in the hotel or venture into Down town Amsterdam (again only 15-20mins away by tram/metro). During the week it is slightly more bearable, but again there is nothing in the area other then large business' and cafes.

NOTE that Trams and Metro stop operating at 1am, so if you plan on having a night out in Amsterdam, you will need to pay for a Taxi home (unless someone can prove otherwise?)

I stayed there for 2 nights at the end of an Amsterdam "bender". I was a little frustrated when I turned up at 11am and was told my room wasn't ready, even though the hotel was empty. I had to wait until 3pm. I couldn't get angry because the reception was just too nice and polite.

WiFi isn't free (initially) and that really annoys me. I think it should be a standard feature in any modern hotel, like free bath towels, or new bed sheets, TV, etc. I don't see the need to charge people to use the WiFi, I really don't...

Overall, I enjoyed relaxing in my room watching UK/Euro TV, but was annoyed at the effort of having to travel into central Amsterdam to eat most of the time.

Regardless of the flawless service I would only really recommend this hotel for a business visit (do you have some kind of business to conduct in the area?) or if you have some kind of deal/offer to stay. Simply because it is in the middle of no where.

Sign up with their hotel membership and you get free late checkout, free WiFi and free daily newspaper.

I would give this hotel 5/5 if it was in a better location. Obviously that can't be changed now - BUT there is another Crowne Plaza in the city centre and I wonder if it would be just as good? who knows.

+
Service/Staff are perfect. no question there.
Room was immaculate.

+
Pricey Food/Drinks
Location can be poor, depending on your attitude.
No free WiFi

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

As you mentioned the hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Especially during the week it is a very lively area with quite some nice places to have lunch, dinner or a drink after work. The nearby located “Gelderlandplein” offers a wide selection of shops. These features make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South one of the best situated hotels in Amsterdam for all guests, whether for business or pleasure. Perhaps you will be able to experience some of these features during an upcoming stay in Amsterdam. Our Front Desk staff is always more than willing to share their knowledge about things to do and see in the area.

Thank you for complimenting the interior of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We are sorry that there was no option to offer you an early check-in. Please be aware that our Front Desk staff will always do their utmost to enable early check-in but that high occupancy or unavailability of the booked room type at the moment of check-in do not enable that.

However it is great that you joined IHG Priority Club Rewards, the world’s largest hotel loyalty programme and were already able to experience some of the many benefits of the programme.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed at this new hotel in June 2012 for a girls weekend away. Hotel is very new and fresh feeling, with all the reception area very clean and modern. The rooms are fabulous... spacious and stylish with fantastic rainforest showers!
The service was second to none, with a very warm, helpful welcome from reception staff. They also went above and beyond with helping us when a taxi driver tried to rip us off, and sorted the whole situation out. There are slippers and bathrobes in all rooms, and the mini bar is very reasonable also.
The only downside was the location, slightly too far from the centre for a city break. However we got the hotel for an unbelievable price on lastminute.com (£390 for 5 people for 2nights!!) and so didnt mind spending an extra bit of cash on taxis etc. I would definately recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good deal!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your recent stay in Amsterdam and for sharing your experience through a Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to read that the style and decoration of our product and facilities appealed to you. Moreover we are happy that you experienced a seamless and hospitable service delivered by our staff.

It is a pity that our slightly remote location did not work so well for you despite the presence of the nearby located Amsterdam- Zuid station with its public transport options to downtown Amsterdam.

Thank you as well for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#61 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,951 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,533 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing