We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay in an excellent hotel with very easy access to the city centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in an excellent hotel with very easy access to the city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is one to remember, with beautiful and spacious rooms, very friendly staff and with extremely easy access to the city centre. Value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were extremely exited to read that you had a fabulous stay in our hotel and that our staff and facilities contributed to a positive and memorable image of our hotel.

We definitely hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you visit Amsterdam in the future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    314
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
102
377
44
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I've visited Amsterdam before and always stayed in the city center, but no more! This was quiet, with all mod-cons and wonderful, courteous staff. The fact that it is just a couple of blocks from the Amsterdam South station -- convenient to buses, trains, trams, and metro -- makes it easy to get to anyplace in the greater Amsterdam area quickly. It's just one train stop from Schiphol airport.

I bought a four-day pass on the public transit system and was able to make easy rest stops at the hotel in the middle of the day. As a bonus, the hotel is just two tram stops from the Amsterdam Bos, the huge park that lies between Schiphol and the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilopatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor following your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are very happy that our location worked well for you and that you discovered the many advantages of staying at the “Zuidas”. Did you know the Amsterdamse Bos is six times as large as Central Park in New York and that on a yearly basis 6 million people come to the park to relax, exercise or visit an event?

But also the famous Vondelpark can easily be reached by tram or one of our rental bikes; this is another place in Amsterdam that is definitely worth a visit.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon as our guest.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife was staying here for a couple of weeks and I joined her for the weekend. A standard room, but really nice. Although the area is a business area, it was nice and tranquil over the weekend: and it does not take long to get into town, so you have the best of both worlds. Staff very friendly.

The hotel has bikes for hire and while they are more expensive than renting them in town, it's a lot less hassle and you will save a few euros not having to use the metro/tram. If they have run out, a 20 minute walk to Europaplein and there are some bike shops on Scheldestraat that hire.

Why not 5 stars? Breakfast is NOT value for money in fact very expensive and very poor. I did find the room quite hot and the aircon not overly effective - but that is european hotels for you!

A short (7 minute) train ride to Schiphol airport - much quicker than waiting for a transfer to the airport hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Despite our location outside the centre of Amsterdam, the nearby presence of Station Amsterdam Zuid enables our guests to combine work in the Zuidas area with leisure activities in the downtown Amsterdam area, which can be reached within 20 minutes. It is fantastic to read that you were able to benefit from our location.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the breakfast and the air-conditioning. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused. Should you be willing to share any recommendations regarding the breakfast with us, please send them to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy to consider your suggestions and would appreciate to receive them.

We very much hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review and feedback.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The rooms are very comfortable, I just loved the bed, it was so comfortable. The dressing gown on the bed and the "It Works" sleep kit with spray for the pillow and rub for your pulses to help you sleep are lovely touches. Will be going out to buy the spray - not sure if they sell it in the hotel, will check the next time I am there!

The weather was lovely and we ate outside on the terrace which is a nice area to dine or have a few drinks in good weather. The breakfast was very good and the service from dining and bar staff was excellent. There is not a huge amount to do around the area however only a 3 min walk from train station and they rent out bikes in the hotel. This is a good location if you are travelling to Amsterdam centre or Amstelveen on business.

I travelled here on business with a colleague, our company paid in advance for both rooms with breakfast, there was a little confusion around this on check-in which was sorted relatively quickly however the same confusion occurred on check-out which I thought was a let down on the customer service side of things. This is the only reason why it gets a 4 rating instead of 5.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narnia_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We enjoyed your review about our hotel. It was especially nice to read that you found our rooms very comfortable and that you loved the bed. The bed is part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme featuring quiet zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. Items that are part of the programme are available for purchase online at www.crowneplaza.hotelsathome.com

In addition we appreciate the fact that you pointed out a development area to us as well. This enables us to critically review our procedures in order to continue to strive to deliver seamless service.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived early A.M. from America and the staff was expecting our early arrival and we were able to get into our room right away. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. We wanted to enjoy Amsterdam, but not be in the middle of the city. Taxi's were easily accessible as was the tram which was a short walk. The hotel is new and beautiful. The rooms were very modern and a nice size for two people with a weeks worth of luggage. What really made this a perfect vacation was the staff, all of which were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We loved the brick patio which was on a small canal, with sunbrella's and modern furniture. The perfect place for a cup of coffee, or a cocktail. The restaurant was also very good.

Our room was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet at night allowing for a great night's sleep. Complimentary coffee and tea was in the room as was a mini bar if you wanted to purchase a soda or liquor. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels, and a very nice modern bathroom with beautiful glass tile and stone. Themed with soft grey walls and a high red headboard with black and white prints on the wall, the decor was sophisticated and pleasing.

Forget business! We chose this hotel for our vacation and were very happy with our choice. I can't thank the staff enough for a memorable week in the Netherlands!

Room Tip: This hotel has views of the office buildings on one side, and the small canal and residential on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We are very happy that there was an option to offer you an early check-in. It is always our pleasure to offer this service upon availability, especially to guests like you that travelled long. Great as well that you enjoyed a great vacation in Amsterdam and that our hotel and its facilities could contribute to that. Moreover we are pleased that our staff were able to make you feel at home and to make your trip a success.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing