We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Zuid(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
888
379
36
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
379
36
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness districtzuid stationcity centrebusiness hotelclub roomschiphol airportminutes from the airporttrain stopexcellent hotelbusiness tripduty managerminute walkhotel is moderncomfortable roomspublic transporteasy accessgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel gets a 10 from me. We go regulary to a hotel, but such beautiful and wonderful hotel we have rarely seen in the Netherlands. the room was pretty big and clean. The service was excellent esspecially for check-in and check-out. Breakfast with fresh juice was very good too. I find that this hotel is a 5 star instead of 4 star.
Thanks to all your staff...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. It was fantastic to learn that you would rate us with a 10 and that we stand out in comparison to similar hotels that you have visited before.

We aim to keep our rooms and facilities on the highest level and to assist our guests in making their trip a success. It’s great to read that our staff service has contributed to making your stay memorable.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The location is exceptionally good for the Amsterdam South business area - it is right in it. I think the train from the airport took just nine minutes and this is not an "under the flightpath" hotel at all. Public transport (if you need it) into the centre is not bad at all.

Nice rooms (you pay for it). Breakfast on my rate was not included and looked overpriced, so I skipped it - not that my employer would not have paid for it, but I could not quite bring myself to eat at that rate. And the conference I was attending nearby started with a light breakfast, so I got the best of both worlds.

Slightly strange WiFi set up - free if you register for the hotel loyalty scheme, otherwise you pay. At this rate, free "reasonable use" WiFi surely?

I'd stay here again, on business. Were it pleasure, I'd probably pick a hotel in the middle canal rings, closer in, but not right in town.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked pretty well located - nothing to watch out for that caught my eye.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamthatDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with the travel community on Tripadvisor.

It is great to learn that you benefited from our location and the convenient public transportation options in the direct vicinity of the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the WIFI. Should there be anything in particular that you would like to suggest please let us know by emailing info.amspc@ihg.com. We take all feedback we receive very serious as it enables us to tailor our product and service to the preferences of our guests.

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Hard to fault this hotel, lovely big room, great nights sleep even with the work going on outside the building. Cost an Arm and a leg to eat and drink here but the food is good, you will need to get a cab from here should you feel the need to go into the city and cabs are not cheap 45€from airport to hotel one way and 37€ back to airport. all in all very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happygolucky621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with the travel community on Tripadvisor.

It is great to learn that you benefited from our location and the convenient public transportation options in the direct vicinity of the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the WIFI. Should there be anything in particular that you would like to suggest please let us know at your convenience by emailing info.amspc@ihg.com. We take all feedback we receive very serious as it enables us to tailor our product and service to the preferences of our guests.

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We visited Amsterdam for a last minute weekend away using a flight + hotel package booked through Expedia. The hotel is located half way between the airport and the city center, about an 8 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. There are trains passing through this station on route to and from the airport every 10 minutes making this a very convenient location when arriving late. The tram and metro connections to the historic center and museum district are very convenient, also within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Once you are on the tram it takes about 15 minutes to get to the museum district and about 30 minutes to get to Dam Square. The hotel seemed new and the rooms were quiet, modern, clean, and nicely decorated. Beds are very comfortable! Service was friendly and efficient. Since we were celebrating our anniversary the hotel brought up a complementary bottle of sparkling wine. This was a nice surprise!
This hotel is a great choice if you want great value without sacrificing comfort. We didn't mind taking the tram back and forth. In face, we enjoyed the views from the tram (and the chance to rest our feet while getting to and fro) so the location was not a problem for us. Tip- take the room with breakfast option, particularly if staying over the weekend. There are no local eateries open on the weekend within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentTraveler1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city center of Amsterdam. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Airport and available tram and metro connections between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city center make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for a business or leisure stay. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic center.

It has been a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and that you were able to enjoy a good night’s sleep.

Thank you as well for your friendly remark about the surprise that was arranged for your anniversary. As it is our passion to assist our guests in making their journey a memorable experience, we were happy to contribute in this way to your special occasion.

We are grateful that you took the time to inform us about your stay and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the southern area of Amsterdam. Close to the airport and the RAI convention center.

The hotel is very clean and has a very friendly staff. The king size bed I had gave my wife and I one of the best sleeps either of us have in a long time. The bathroom has a huge bathtub but the way the shower door is setup on the tub makes it feel weird when taking a shower.

Had the breakfast buffet for 23 euros per person. All the food was good except the scrambled eggs. They tasted a little bit like flavorless foam.

They also have a nice bar to unwind in at the end of the day. Good selection of mixed drinks to choose from. Food is also available.

It's a short walk to a main tram station and a stop. Very easy to go down town and then hop on tram 5 all the way back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shad_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

While staying away from home it can be challenging to enjoy a good night’s sleep. It was great to learn that this was not the case for you. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

Thank you as well for your feedback about the scrambled eggs. It is very valuable for us to know what exactly can be improved on our product and service. With regards to your remark about the shower I would like to inform you that we have both rooms with walk-in shower as bathtubs so upon your next stay with us please indicate at check-in which option you prefer. We are always happy to consider and grant any guest requests upon availability.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews