We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Zuid(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
888
379
36
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
379
36
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness districtzuid stationcity centrebusiness hotelclub roomschiphol airportminutes from the airporttrain stopexcellent hotelbusiness tripduty managerminute walkhotel is moderncomfortable roomspublic transporteasy accessgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were here for one night at the beginning of April 2013. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I loved the decor. Check-in went very smoothly - the front desk staff were very accommodating, even helping us with our suitcases!
There aren't very many restuarants in the area, so we ended up eating at the hotel restaurant, which was very good.
The hotel is outside the central part of Amsterdam, but you could take a Tram to the centre.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank aingeal_cailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for reviewing your stay.

It’s great to know that you received a warm welcome by the Front Office staff and that you enjoyed staying in one of our carefully decorated rooms. The hotel has a musical theme inspired by our address at the George Gershwinlaan. This famous composer is represented on paintings in all the guest rooms.

Great as well that you had a good dinner in the hotel. The Zuidas actually has quite some café’s, lunchrooms and restaurants. Most of them are situated on walking distance around the Zuidplein and the Mahlerplein but a bit farther away there are also some special places. Our Front Desk staff is more than happy to advise you where to go.

Once again thank you for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 and thought it to be excellent. We had a suite and after a long flight from Australia it was perfect. It as exceptionally quiet and the room was quite large. Blackout curtains helped a lot. It was clean and functional and the staff very nice. It is a little way out of the city but is easily accessible and the tram ride was no trouble. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for letting us know that you had an excellent stay.

All rooms in the hotel have been designed with an eye for detail and comfort so we can offer our guests the possibility to have a rejuvenating night’s sleep and to regain energy for another day of working or exploring Amsterdam.

It is great that our slightly remote location was no obstacle for you to enjoy your stay in Amsterdam. In fact we are extremely pleased that you would recommend us without hesitation.

The team of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South looks forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed for 11 nights while visiting family nearby. As others have written, the hotel is close to Amsterdam Zuid (South) station with trains only 6 minutes from Schiphol airport, plus trams and the metro, all within about a 7-8 minute walk across a plaza. The tram takes you into central Amsterdam in about 15 minutes.
The rooms are quite sizable, the bed very comfortable, the bath large with a great deep and long tub, all extremely clean and orderly. We received a special bottle of water and a big chocolate bar as a special arrival gift. The front desk staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.
We had one very nice dinner in the bar and breakfast two mornings. The breakfast is expensive at 23 euros per person, but you can get an omelet made to order, plus fresh fruit, various breads, cheese, yogurt, cheeses, etc. Rather overpriced for a buffet. There's a nice cafe, Julia's, on the plaza nearby where you can get good coffee and a croissant for a reasonable price--a better choice than breakfast in the hotel.
We would happily stay in this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degustibusnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us and the travel community.

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest for your lengthy stay in Amsterdam and to help you in making your journey a success. We aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to allow our guests to re-energise and be more productive. A good night’s sleep and energising food and beverage selection plays an important role in that philosophy.

We therefore appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. As each culture and person has its own breakfast preferences we aim to compose a buffet with a wide selection of choices that appeal to everyone. We understand that the price of the buffet is high for guests who eat a small breakfast. To also meet their needs we offer the option to compose your own small breakfast with products like yoghurt and croissants combined with juice or coffee in our bar against a more affordable price.

Once again thank you for your review and your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you as our guest again.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you have to stay around the WTC in Amsterdam Zuid, this is a great choice. It's a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid station which is 5 minutes from Schiphol, and the service is welcoming. The rooms are modern and nicely fitted out; they are also quiet (or at least 402 is). Light duvets which I like because generally hotels are overheated; functioning AC; bath tub; nice toiletries; and the Crowne Plaza's little touches which include their 'this works' range of things to help you sleep. Breakfast and dinner are fairly standard and with a good selection. Unusually for a hotel the lighting in the rooms is fairly good. There's not much more to say except it's a good hotel for,the location.

Room Tip: 402 was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your recent stay by posting a review on TripAdvisor.

As you mention the hotel is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas and with the WTC on walking distance. The area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. Our location is unique as it is situated nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and with the city centre only a few minutes away by public transport.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and quiet stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed here on a weekend alone visiting friends. The room was great, the service pleasant but some things were lackin on the breakfast side and overall service. So lets get into it...

The rooms
The rooms are that of a great business hotel. The easily pass the standard test: great bed (comfortable and large), great TV (a lot of channels and not only in Dutch) and nice enough desk. You also get free Internet and a ton of little details...a complementary water every day, a cream to open up your nose if you have allergies and a perfume for the pillow that is supposed to help you sleep. You also get nice tile toiletries (not high end brands but complete) and room service is very helpful. You don't get the luxurious feel of a large chain or boutique 5 star but it does a great job as a four star.

The breakfast
So...if the hotel was very good I have to say the breakfast felt a bit off in many ways...first of all the restaurant feels a bit like an IKEA commercial: furniture that tries to be modern but actually looks cheap. You feel like you are having breakfast in a 70s diner. Aside from the decor and the view (you can look right into a construction site or a random open area) the choice is quite limited. The bread is great but oh have a fairly limited buffet: limited fruit, limited choice of cereal and overall just limited choice...

Location
Even though you are not in the heart of things you are not that far away. The hotel is located a train station away from the airport and if you take the tram you are about 15-20 minutes from downtown. It's not really walking distance from anything (and you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere) but thanks to public transportation you can move around easily. Of course if you take a cab things are even simpler...

Overall
I'd probably consider this as a place to stay alone or for business. It is functional and nice enough (although breakfast could improve) although it feels a bit sad for a romantic getaway...

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank cvidela4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It was very motivating to read that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. We are happy indeed to offer our valued Priority Club Members complimentary use of internet in the room.

It is unfortunate though that the breakfast and restaurant did not impress you. The design of the restaurant has been put together with the highest care and with the intention to appeal to as many people as possible. Nevertheless it remains a matter of personal taste weather one likes it or not.

Your feedback regarding the limited choice options of the breakfast buffet is taken very serious and has been brought under the attention of the Food & Beverage Manager. Please be assured that we are always aiming to satisfy and impress our guests and that we are more than willing to make any changes based on valuable guest feedback. Therefore it would be very helpful if you could inform us about the exact items that you missed and would make our breakfast buffet more complete. We value your opinion and look forward to receive your additional feedback per e-mail at info.amspc@ihg.com.

Our location within the business district is indeed mostly preferred by business guests; especially those visiting one of the nearby located offices. Even though we probably are not the first choice for leisure guests due to our distance from the city centre, the several nearby available public transportation connections bring you in downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes. The Zuidas area is rapidly developing from an international top location for business- and knowledge development to a mixed city centre for living and working. This development is ongoing and will take place in the next decades but will without a doubt give more flair to the surrounding area.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews