We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice to visit Amsterdam museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #20 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Although we meant to book the sister hotel in central Amsterdam, this hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. Travel by train, tram and metro was fast and convenient from Amsterdam Zuid station.
The clubroom we had was quiet and comfy. The clubroom breakfast was sufficient and on return from a day at the museums the clubroom snacks, wine and coffee were a welcome extra. Although I would have preferred the Hiltons scones with jam and cream to the Hors d’Oeuvres provided.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KenTripUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your findings about your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South with us and the travel community on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that the accidental choice for our hotel, turned out to be a success. It is our aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to enable our guests to re-energise and have a productive stay. We appreciate your remark about the hors d’oeuvres and will keep your suggestion in mind when reviewing our selection of snacks provided in the Club Lounge.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South again for your future travel needs.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Crown Plaza Amsterdam South is a newly build and therefore also of a good general standard. There is however a lack of atmosphere, the little extra touch which makes the hotel feel extraordinary. The hotel room was ordinary with a view to an office building nearby. I had a room with 2 seperate and small beds, which is of course not the optimal for single use. You felt being the only guest in the hotel, there is no life or pulse, however in the morning I realized that the hotel probably was quite busy, as there was a strange (no marking or guidance) line up for checking out. I did not have time for breakfast but ordered a croissant in the cafe/bar. I was the only guest there and the croissant was just in front of me. However the waiter was busy organising and apparently did not have time to serve the ordered croissant, so after a couple of minutes waiting I had to leave for my appointment.
I stayed in the hotel because I had a meeting in the region and close to the airport, however will decide for another Amsterdam setting with the little extra, if I am not restricted by geography.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view, on an upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLIDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for selecting the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South for your business stay and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate all feedback we receive of our guests as it allows us to continuously work on improving our product and service.

It is very unfortunate though that we have not been able to impress you with a vibrant atmosphere, great service and the best possible facilities as this is what we aim to do.

Your feedback regarding the unstructured appearance of the check-out situation and the inadequate service in the bar has been discussed with all appropriate parties and necessary actions to prevent this from happening again in the future have been taken.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back as our guest in order to proof to you that we can deliver excellent service and make your stay memorable in a positive way and above all a success.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Only had a one night stay. It's about 4 minutes on the train, one stop, and another 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. The room was good, comfortable, newish. A good selection of stations in he TV, free Wifi. The club room is ok, but needs to be serviced a bit more often by the staff. When booking a club room, breakfast and evening drinks/snacks are included. I was in a rush in the morning and the taxi back to Schipol airport was €40, a bit higher the €3 train fare. It's a bit far out of the City, but if you are doing business locally it's a good place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for one night for your business stay. It is great that our location and various services and facilities that are important for you, being a business traveller, were at your satisfaction.

We are grateful for your remark about the service in the Club Lounge and will take this into account. We highly value the feedback of our guests as this enables us to continuously work on improving our product and service.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is very confortable with everything needed for a business stay in Amsterdam. Rooms are very confortable and quiet, room service is perfect and quick. Note that this hotel is not located in the city center. One negative comment: price of the parking is very very expensive (~50€/night).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FREDERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you consider our hotel to be a good choice for business travellers. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas. This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. Many large companies are represented in the area and the location is nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre is only a short ride away by public transport.

We are however concerned to read about your comment with regards to the parking charges. Indeed it is totally understandable that you consider these charges too high. As Amsterdam is one of the busiest cities of the Netherlands, the parking pressure is very high. In order to keep the city reachable and stimulate the use of public transport, the local authorities keep the parking fees very high. Should you prefer to come to Amsterdam by car it is an option to park at one of the Park & Ride areas and travel from there to the hotel by public transport. For more information please refer to http://www.amsterdam.info/parking/park-ride/.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay here as the price (£100 per night) was around my limit and I couldn't find anything more central that offered anywhere near the same quality for around the same price (Ibis etc came in at around £80-90). Granted the location isn't central and it's a 5-10 minute walk to the tram, but you're in the heart of Amsterdam within 30 mins of leaving the hotel which suited me just fine. It wasn't an issue getting into town at all. We took a taxi to the central station when we left and that cost around €30. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Really nice rooms, well appointed as you'd expect, comfy bed and efficient service. The staff went out of their way to help me with a personal issue for which I was very grateful indeed! The breakfast, included in the rate, was great quality and extremely plentiful. The bar area looked lovely too, but I didn't have time to visit on this occasion. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again at the right price, or indeed recommend to others to whom I feel may appreciate this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sthmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South over a city centre hotel. It is great to read that you discovered the many benefits of staying in the southern business district of Amsterdam: the Zuidas. Not only are Schiphol International Airport and the RAI Convention Centre located on a short distance of the hotel but also the city centre can be reached by tram within 20 minutes.

It’s great that the hotel’s design, rooms and facilities made a good impression. More important is that the staff members were able to show their hospitality by assisting you in making your trip a success.

We definitely hope to welcome you back again to our hotel and can absolutely recommend you to have a tasteful cocktail in our Manhattan Lounge- Bar or outside on the terrace.

Thank you again for reviewing us!

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a weekend in early June. The hotel was new and everything was well designed and functional in the room. The location of the hotel is a little far from the city center, but it is located just a 10 minute walk from a tram station with easy access to the rest of Amsterdam. The staff was exceedingly friendly and really made an effort to make the guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCtheEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your weekend stay in Amsterdam. We are happy that you rewarded our hotel with such high ratings.

It was a pleasure to read your feedback about the friendliness of our staff and the welcome experience that they provided. It is also great that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortable rooms and that you liked the design with “George Gershwin” theme.

Unfortunately the location of the hotel is not very close by the city centre with its many sights and cultural offer. But as you mentioned there is a railway station, Amsterdam- Zuid, situated on 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. From here you can take tram number 5 into the city centre. On its way to the end stop Amsterdam Central Station, this tram passes by many shopping streets, canals, canal houses, famous museums, the Dam square and is therefore an entertaining way to get acquainted with our beautiful city!

Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back as our guest if you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Checked into this nice hotel and found the ladies on the reception were very friendly and extremely helpful as I was staying for 3-4 days the ladies were very kind enough to direct me to trams and the local metro as well as selling me tickets from the front desk to use on the trams,metro. I found that the breakfast in the morning catered for everyone's tastes there was a great variety of different things to try from hot food to cold plus the staff were very helpful in catering for your needs A excellent hotel with very friendly staff who are not only helpful but also very knowledgeable of the city as well and can easily direct you to where you want to go I had a fantastic 3-4 days on my badminton tournament and it was great to meet up with old friends as well as make new ones. The rooms had a mini bar if you needed it and there was a safe for locking all those important euro's and passport away safely. The cleaners who came in quite early were also very polite and if you weren't ready for them they would say not a problem I'll pop back later when your out of the room. To summarise the whole experience I would give the hotel and the reception,and the cleaners 5 out 5. The only criticism I had would be maybe the management should learn from their staff how to treat there customers more there was one manager in particular who really needed a lesson in customer service but apart from that the 3-4 days I stayed we're really pleasant and enjoyable

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your review and we are happy that you had a successful tournament in Amsterdam. Moreover we are pleased that the facilities of the hotel and the staff service were a positive contribution and helped in making your stay memorable. Your positive words about our Front Desk and Housekeeping employees in particular are a great reward for their work and will only motivate them to continue to deliver great service.

It was however concerning to read your remark about one of our managers whose customer service did not make a good impression. We are sorry for the disappointing experience you had and would appreciate it if you could send some additional feedback to info.amspc@ihg.com. As we are always aiming to improve our service level and take the feedback of our valued guests very seriously, it would be much appreciated if you are willing to get in contact with us.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#62 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,952 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing