We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #20 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. The hotel is incredibly clean. Staff on reception were very helpful whenever we had any questions. Beds were huge! Hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to Zuid metro station. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hrclarke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Your compliments on behalf of service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We are very pleased to learn that our spacious rooms combined with the location, made your stay with us a success. We strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel and are very grateful that you noticed this, which is a great motivation for us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I recently spent 9 days at The Crowne Plaza South in Amsterdam, and from the moment I arrived to the moment that I left everything was absolutely First Class. The staff, the facilities, the room, the service- everything! It's hard to single out one specific member of staff without excluding all the others, but Michael in The Manhattan Bar constantly went that extra mile to make sure that I had everything that I needed.
Many thanks to all- I shall return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel. We are so pleased that you consider us First Class!

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest for your lengthy stay in Amsterdam and to help you in making your journey a success. We aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to allow our guests to re-energise and be more productive. A good night’s sleep and energising food and beverage selection plays an important role in that philosophy.

I have passed on your compliments to Michael, thank you very much. On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent hotel. Located right in the business center. Short walk to the train station. The decor is great and so is the hotel staff. I have stayed in this hotel couple of times on business trips and found very comfortable. Rooms are particularly very well maintained. The hotel should provide free breakfast for the rate they charge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel for it's excellent service and facilities but I did find it quite expensive on the whole. As the hotel is located amongst several office buildings, there aren't many surrounding restaurant options so I found myself having dinner in the hotel on both nights I stayed there. The food quality was good but very expensive in my opinion. It was €165 for 2 nights stay and this didn't include breakfast which was an extra €23 per person, per day. The good thing about the location is that it is only 1 train stop away from the airport and only a few minutes walk from the station, Amsterdam Zuid. I would probably stay in Amsterdam central on my next business visit as public transport around the city is easy and there will be cheaper food options in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Prilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are sorry that you considered the price tag for our hotel to be high. Please be aware that our location close to the conference centre and offices as well as city wide events, can drive up the prices in our area. But there are other days that our location outside the city centre has the effect that our prices are lower than those of downtown hotels. For your next visit please consult our website or contact the reservations department to find the best available rate.

We would like to welcome you again in the near future and let you know about the different restaurants in the area.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent 2 nights at this Hotel -31 December 2013 and 1st January 2014 .. We were given a room on the 11 th floor and being New Years Eve , got to watch the fireworks light up the Amsterdam sky - beautiful . The room was a delight with little extras like slippers and a gown on loan . The hotel is very close to the tram line to central Amsterdam which takes you to the Museum area , Albert Cuyp Street Market and other tourist sites . It is also very close to the Amsterdam South station and you can catch a train straight to Schipol from this hotel which is far cheaper . If you do not want to eat breakfast at the hotel there are some lovely places close to the stations where you can grab a snack . The area is extremely safe and since the tram service operates till very late at night , we were able to enjoy Amsterdam at night . Great tip - get the I Amsterdam Card - gives you free transport on the GVB bus , trams and trains , lots of discounts , free entrances and a free canal cruise . The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shama188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location was connecting well to the purpose of your visit and that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed 24th and 25th January and at the price -144€ per night. Wanted to add nights but price went to 188€ which is too high. Excellent breakfast was included in price. The place is clean and we'll maintained but lacks any character. Still it is only 30€ 20 min ride to central.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear valud guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

I am sorry to read that in your opinion the hotel lacks any caracter. I would like to get in contact with you to hear your experience. Please contact us at nienke.veldman@ihg.com

Following your remark about the costs of a taxi into the city centre or the airport I would like to point out that the nearby located Amsterdam- Zuid railway station offers excellent connections against a very reasonable price. Schiphol Amsterdam Airport can be reached by train within 10 minutes and the various attractions in downtown Amsterdam within 20 to 30 minutes by tram or metro. If you do not need to travel to Amsterdam by car, our hotel is a great location to start exploring the city.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the CP Amsterdam South for the weekend on a sightseeing trip through Amsterdam.

The location ist quite good, though you need approx. 15 min. from the hotel to the center of Amsterdam, you really enjoy the quitness of this place ( good hint - you can buy a 24h train ticket for 7€ at the front desk, taxi costs approx. 25€).

The rooms are state-of-the-art, everything you need for vacation or business reasons you will find in your room. The level of cleannes is very high & there was nothing to complain about.

The restaurant was unfortunately closed on weekends (due to the location of the hotel, which is situated in a great business complex) - but well explained by the warm hearted front desk member who invited us to the bar. The dinner at the bar was really great, a very quick service with a very positive attitude. Really good recommendations of cocktails & spirits - and even better recommendations of evening locations in Amsterdam.

The breakfast (Sundays until 11:30!) provides everyone really everything they need! If there is anything missing, the friendly staff did organize it.

We can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocHard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. It is with great pleasure that I read your review.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

Your kind words about our staff members and dinner are extremely rewarding as it is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service on a day to day basis. It is great to be acknowledged for that by our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#61 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,951 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,533 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing