We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #17 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
394 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is located in a mainly office district. Although some way from the city centre, it is actually very convenient for public transport. Sound insulation, against both internal and external noise, is very effective, making it one of the quietest hotels we have ever used .
The Zuid station is about 5 minutes walk and has rail (Schipol every 10-20 minutes - takes 8 minutes), tram & metro connections.We bought a 3 day urban transport pass at the tourist office (VVV) located in the arrivals hall at Schipol.
Staff are very attentive and responsive - one of the best hotel teams we have ever encountered!
The buffet breakfast is good, and you can also order egg dishes (our omelettes were excellent).
We had 2 dinners, which were very high quality. The main restaurant was closed on Saturday night, but the same menu was served in the bar. Note: this was extremely crowded later in the evening - get there early to secure a table.
The negatives: our safe was not very large and wi-fi is very expensive.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet superior room on the 11th floor. However, the whole hotel seems well-insulated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

It is great to learn that our soundproof doors kept away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. Our rejuvenating and energising breakfast buffet offers all you need to prepare for a long day of exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Most pleased and proud we were with your comment about our team. It is an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable and assisted you in making your trip a success.

We also value and understand your remark about the price of our WIFI and the size of our size. We are more than happy to offer you our complimentary IHG Rewards Club membership to offer you complimentary use of internet in the room. Also items which do not fit in the safe in your room, may be stored in a special safe at the Reception Desk.

Your compliments on behalf of the service and food quality of our Manhattan Bar will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality

We look forward to your next visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    319
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
107
397
46
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is not a nice hotel.

This is a stunning hotel!

I say "hotel" but it's the staff that make it. I stayed here on business from November 2013 - March 2014 and I can honestly say that I have NEVER been made to feel as welcome as I did at this hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful - they could not do enough for me. It was hard working away from home and my wife Angela but the staff made it feel like a home away from home which made my stay a lot more bearable.

Thank you so much to all of you and for anyone thinking of staying here I would not hesitate to recommend it. When I come to Amsterdam again I will definitely pop in.

Room Tip: The view of the colourful bridge is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babis_Gakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review about our hotel. Your compliments on behalf of service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We are very pleased to learn that you would recommend us and will return to us when you are in Amsterdam again. We strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel and are very grateful that you noticed this, which is a great motivation for us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 3 night 4 days. Marvellous hotel, room was fantastic, food was very good, service was excellent. In particular Michael who served us on an evening in the bar area was very polite and helpful. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: be a member of IHG loyalty system
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It delights us to receive such kind words,

Please be assured I will refer your gratitude to Michael and the rest of the staff you mentioned, I am sure they will be delighted and thankful to know that they were able to contribute to your wonderful stay.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was working on a budget on this European trip but didn't want to go on the cheap as this was a holiday after all! Last time my husband and I were here we stayed at the Sheraton in Schipol as it was the last leg of our European trip and we had too much luggage to commute to the city. The train ride from the airport was convenient, quick, and cheap (i think about 1.30 at the time) so I figured Zuid should also be fine. After all, similar quality hotels cost double in the City Center so a short commute and train fare for 5 would still cost less. When you're getting two rooms for 4 nights, the savings are significant.

My family was very happy to find Crown Plaza Amsterdam South! First, the rooms were much bigger than I anticipated. The bathrooms were a delight (the shower temp took no time at all to be perfect) and everything was clean and new! I loved that they had an Illy pod machine and their tea service was superb. They even had coffee cookies and little chocolate squares in the service :-)

The sheets were crisp and the pillows afforded us the best sleep on this entire trip. They even had linen spray and a temple rub which my husbanded prized. They only had one pair of slippers though...

We arrived early evening from Brussels and as it was raining and we were too cold to explore the area, we decided to have get room service for dinner. Turned out to be a wise decision. Not only were the satays good and generous, the sandwiches huge, and the soup delicious (our daughters ate in our room too) but the price was I believe the same as if you had eaten at the cafe. Normally room service cost nearly double the restaurant price but here they just added 5euro per trip to the room. In fact we were so happy with room service (dinner in your pajamas) we did it twice.

The tram and train to the city center were a 300 meter walk away. Just take the cafe exit, cross the road, and you're at a big station were there are convenience stores, a Starbucks, restaurants, and Wagamama! By the way try not to use the pay parking. We arrived at 6pm and the free street parking starts at 7pm. By the time we decided to move the van at a bit past 8pm we had to pay 14euro for the parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManilaGingersnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It was an absolute pleasure to learn that you were so satisfied about your stay.

It is fantastic to know that you had a great sleep. Getting a great night’s sleep when you travel is incredibly important. That is why Crowne Plaza has developed the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program. This program is a holistic approach to sleeping and includes features like comfortable beds enhanced to a new level of comfort with four pillows, a plush duvet, and luxurious sheets, designated Quiet Zone floors to ensure maximum silence, guaranteed wake-up calls and an aromatherapy kit with two specially selected exclusive aromatherapy products from the award winning This Works aromatherapy line. These are made from 100% essential oils and include a lavender pillow spray and eucalyptus pulse oil to help you relax, breathe easier and sleep well.

By combining the best facilities with great service delivered by our staff members we aim to assist our guests in having a productive trip. A healthy breakfast, water with mint and lemon and a range of sleep stimulating features are just a few of the rejuvenating and re-energising options that we offer in the hotel.

Once again thank you for your positive words and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

From when we walked in to check in to when we checked out this hotel was perfect. It is very clean and the rooms are gorgeous. The bathroom was large and looked brand new. We got a free upgrade to a superior room because the basic room we booked was not available. They let us keep the room for 4 nights at the same rate. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to "Zuid Station" which has metro/tram/train and bus access. From there it's a 15 minute metro ride to Amsterdam city center or a 10 minute train to Schiphol Airport. They both run quite frequently and are pretty straight forward.

The staff were friendly, helpful and understanding. My fiancee had her passport stolen and we needed to do some running around, they let us check in 4 hours earlier without any problems. It was our first time to Amsterdam so we had little to no knowledge of the many different methods of transportation. They took the time to explain everything with great detail and were happy to do it. Unfortunately we did not get to eat at the restaurant or drink at the bar but they both seemed to be really nice.

If you're looking for a beautiful quiet hotel not too far away from the city this is the one for you. I must say it was the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in while in Europe. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NothernOntario32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much on behalf of me and the entire team for taking the time to write about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. I am extremely proud that the continuously great efforts of the team in combination with the facilities of the hotel, have led to your much appreciated review.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your trip and it is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city centre of Amsterdam. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Airport and available tram and metro connections between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city centre make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for a business or leisure stay. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic centre.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a 3 day visit to this wonderful hotel, and I can't thank you enough for looking after us so much. Every member of staff we came into contact with greeted us with a smile, and gave us lots of advice for travelling around the City. With trams and the train station being just a few minutes walk away, it gave easy access to travel around. We saw some beautiful sights and hope to visit you again sometime. Our bedroom suite was one of the best I have ever stayed in, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Amsterdam. The breakfast gave us a brilliant start to the day, and was very filling !! Everywhere in the hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable, a very modern hotel. A very BIG THANK YOU to all the staff, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOLIDAYINN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing a Tripadvisor review and for sharing your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the various facilities of the hotel.
Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant and quiet stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing