We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the people! Wonderful staff throughout.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #20 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's all about the people! Wonderful staff throughout.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is obviously a big corporate hotel group but the staff at this hotel were so good it made it feel like a dream visit. Room was well equipped and food in the evening and breakfast was excellent Only downside was the car parking which was not existent really! If you are arriving from Schipol it is a great location because it is only a 20 min tram ride into the city but without the price of city hotel rooms and much quieter. Cannot praise the reception and the staff enough. Thank you and I would recommend to anyone for the the city , the VU University and the large business quarter it seems to be in.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complementing our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

There are several different options for parking in this area. Next time you stay in our hotel we will be more than happy to show you where to go for the parking.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    341
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
119
422
48
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wych, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Crowne Plaza at Amsterdam Zuid is walking distance to both the Zuid station which is 9 minutes from Schiphol Airport and close to the WTC and other businesses.

The hotel itself offers a friendly welcome, all staff I met were helpful and spoke very good English.

The rooms were comfortable, including good quality towels and toiletries plus a stocked mini bar. In addition they offer a free bottle of water on arrival which is welcome if you've just jumped off a plane.

The restaurant serves a variety of food including daily specials and the chef is pleased to cope with specific dietary needs (I am dairy free).

I have stayed in both the ordinary rooms and a suite

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South with the travel community through Tripadvisor.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that during your visit, the hotel has met your expectations and that you were able to have a great trip while enjoying the hotel’s facilities.

Thank you for recommending us to other travellers and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It's only a short walk to both the conference centre and the metro station from which you can reach Central Amsterdam and Schipol Airport in a matter of minutes. My room was clean and quiet. The restaurant had a good menu for both food and wine. I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid_Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location was connecting well to the purpose of your visit and that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our travel agent booked it for 2 nights before we left on a cruise. Our rate included breakfast which was fantastic. The staff was so nice and helpful. Everything is provided including a huge chocolate bar and bottles of water. The bath room was very roomy. Even if it is not in city center it is a good location as it very near a tram stop and train station. To get to the hotel from either you have to go through all the shops in the train stop, through the plaza and past the Symphony Tower. You really can't see the hotel until passing the Tower. The train stop is Amsterdam Suid and tram 5. We had to ask after getting off the train where the hotel was. We ate dinner our second night here. The price was reasonable compared what we paid the night before and the food very good and large portions. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality, rooms and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After much confusion and walking, myself and a friend booked a hotel room at the crown plaza south. We arrived ragged and smelly after walking over 20k from a campground on the outskirts of town. instead of odd looks and curt speech (to which we have grown accustom) we were greeted by Diego at the front desk with a smile and more useful Information then a well researched travel guide. Everything in the hotel was exactly what you would expect from a four star establishment except the service which was five star for sure, thank you Diego! You made our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinksink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

To start off with; thank you very much for all the kind words!It is great to see you take the time to share your story here on TripAdvisor.

I have made sure that your praise is forwarded not only to Diego in making stay the success it was. Feedback like yours is a great motivator for all of us! We are very happy that you had a great stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

4 miles outside the city centre, but only a minutes walk from the tram station. Hotel is very clean, reception staff very helpful. Rooms are very spacious and most importantly very quiet. Easy commute into the city centre which is sooo busy I was glad of a quiet space. Not a lot of eateries near by, closest about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms. Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a weekend getaway with my girlfriends and had a great experience! I really like the relaxed neighboorhood of the hotel, the location at a water, the terrace outside at the waterfront, the area is very airy and relaxed, and quiet during the weekend.
The staff are truly amazing, very friendly and they know what they're doing, excellent product knowledge both at the bar and the restaurant. Everyone makes you feel very welcome!
The food is really good and rather inexpensive for a hotel. Real good coffee at breakfast, friendly cook making nice omelettes ... The rooms are very well equipped, great beds, peaceful and beautifully decorated.
I'll be back :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#39 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,333 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#35 of 369 in Amsterdam
143 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 369 in Amsterdam
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing