We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
Ranked #879 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Estavayer-le-Lac, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The food was not bad, but not very tasty. The tables are very very small and with all the dishes they bring you it is a little bit difficult to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    180
    100
    19
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast ”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon this eatery after we left our hotel our first morning in Amsterdam. I had the English and she had the Mexican breakfast. Mine came with two eggs, toast, beans, ham and sausage. Everything was great other than the toast it was way to hard. My wife's came with two eggs, cheese, tortilla, small salad and guacamole. She truly enjoyed her meal. The service was excellent and the decor was nice and clean.

Helpful?
Thank hueyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican ever! Plus an unsympathetic, health and safety negligent owner”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Worst diniing experience.The restaurant didn´t have a wide variety of food. The food was bland and there was no spanish/mexcian atmosphere. None of the staff spoke Spanish and the owner was Indian.

Treacherous staircases. Toilet wasn´t well signposted and I ended up in a private area and fell down their steep stairs, the next day I could barely walk. No sympathy off the owner who had neglected to lock this door and sign post the toilets efficiently.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food for Europe”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was amazed of how good the tacos were in this restaurant. The rice could use a little more Latin flavor but over all not bad. Also, their Strawberry margaritas were made with real strawberries that had been pureed for the drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not quite Mexican but clean bathrooms”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This title sums it up. Nothing authentic here. Tasteless chips. Burrito was mixed with frozen vegetables. Guacamole tasted like it came out of a tub. Horrible food. I know these places are a tourist trap but its so easy to make decent mexican, this place cut too many corners. Service however was friendly and fast.

Helpful?
1 Thank NJArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing