We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I booked this hotel because it was at 50 % (very expensive anyway), and apparently it was a very new and trendy hotel. Don't let the pictures fool you, the hotel is very very small, the entrance is about 50 cm wide and the rooms very small. Still in construction so you will be awakened by the hammers... Just too expensive for what they offer. Just very well located, near to the central station and close to the dam square

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    453
    166
    63
    50
See reviews for
60
613
86
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We arrived to the hotel as a building site. As the hotel was only open a week they were still "finishing" it. On arrival our room was not ready. The rooms looked nothing like they were displayed on the website. We stayed in a three star room. No where to place your items. No welcome pack, the room wasn't properly wired. We had an extension cord running across the room to the tv. No space in the room itself. No place to put clothes ect. It was not a practical room. There was also a charge of €50 which was added to our credit card. I don't know why this was in place. There was no minibar ect and they would only accept cards and no cash even in the coffeeshop next door. There was no space between the sink and the toilet which was impossible to use. Modern, idealistic and amazing it was not! It also was not worth the price we paid for. We got the room on offer as it had just opened but if people paid full price it would be extortion. I would not stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Don't book in here terrible hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conorourke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The hotel was still under going construction work, which was understandable as it had only been open 6 days. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in a excellent location down from train station and two minute walk to dam square at the other end of the road . I stayed in the 1- star room which was very nice with good decor, room was not massive but very comfortable. Next to the hotel had a cafe and its own shop.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Brand new fashion inspired hotel with a perfect position just 5 minute walk from central station!
Very nice people, creative and playful environment, clean room and very good breakfast, interesting selection of contemporary design pieces in the Options store too!
What else??!! ;)
A unique stay for curious young travellers!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

No heat for 2 days, no hot water for 1 day, no closet, no hooks, no hangers, no chair, no desk, no suitcase stand, no room on the floor for the suitcase, no room to move, no emergency info, no info at all, no numbers on the phone - try to figure out who to call to save walking down 3 bad flights of just-begun pseudo-stairs - and you'll never find your way out of that fire trap, lift doesn't work. The bed was severely moldy, had to sleep in my clothes. I got a "cheap deal" from expedia and pre-paid 2 nights, non-refundable they say despite these numerous complaints. Hotel charges €50 extra to your card and "will refund in 2 weeks" in case you order something you cannot order because there is nothing in the room, and no services.The window curtain hangs over the heater, which would be a problem if the heat worked. Amsterdam Hotel & building code Inspections, you have failed.

Room Tip: Stay away, and tell everyone you know. I will picket the place next time I'm in town,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Booked into this hotel last Thursday at a special discount rate of 50% which was because it was just open. Informed by reception when we left that the discount was because the hotel wasn't finished, informed them they shouldn't have opened. On arrival we were met by the noise of hammers and saws.

Got to the room, no wardrobe, hangers, drawers or anywhere to put your belonging. Lamp beside the bed had no socket, extention lead ran across the floor to the tv. if you wanted to sit on the toilet you had to squash your way around the sink. The only nice thing about is was the bed which was really comforatable but overall I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Booked a 4 star room, was not ready on arrival, given a 3 star room, on 3rd floor, lift not working, no facilities in room, no where in room to put your belongings.....Toilet in room 322 not practical at all, it is only suitable for people with no legs!!!
Overall very bad experience of this hotel, would not stay there again. Hotel when we stayed there was like a building site.
Stayed during early December 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinead28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing