We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel was brilliant. We literally stepped right off the train and into the hotel which was right in the middle of the main street. The hotel receptionist was extremely friendly and, when we were checking in, we were informed that we had been upgraded from a one star to a two star room. Upon making our way through to our room, we couldnt help but notice how stylish and sleek everything was. Most of the walls were made from glass, and the elevators had a really funky design. Our bedroom was really stylish, and exceptionally clean too. We had a flat screen tv, a superblt comfortable bed, and a safe. The bathroom was a really nice wet room.
The cleaners came an changed beds etc. every day and although there is not a lot of storage space, we were provided with hangers etc for our coats.
The cafe downstairs didnt accept cash, however the breakfast there was lovely as crossants and other pastries and smoothies were provided.
There's nothing really bad that I could say about staying here. Perhaps the room could have been a bit more cosy with a rug (the floor was covered in linoleum), but nothing big apart from that.

Room Tip: We were charged a travellers tax of 7.50 upon arrival so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    447
    164
    61
    49
See reviews for
60
603
84
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was really worried about staying in this hotel because of all the bad reviews I nearly cancelled our stay in The Exchange but really glad I didnt. The hotel is lovely it is right in the centre of Amsterdam and a 2 minutes walk from central station. Our room was ready and we were allowed to go in at 10 o'clock rather than the 3 o'clock check in time. The beds are really comfy and the rooms are really modern and spotlessly clean. I don't know what everyone was moaning about we couldn't pick one fault with the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jess-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there last weekend. We were already very pleased with the interior design, its originality and how everything felt easy and comfortable thanks to an efficient and highly amiable staff. Mostly we are grateful for the extra help they provided on securing our parking discount. The receptionist came all the way to the parking with us, in order to resolve the problems we'd encountered. Most places would have just made a call. That is priceless.

Room Tip: What's cool is each room is different and unique, making for an exceptional experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmeralda1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I booked to stay at the exchange for a short break between Christmas and New Year. I'd got a fantastic price as I'd booked before the hotel had opened (opened 3rd Dec) and I was so pleased I did. The hotel is a stones throw from Central station and very easy to find. The young lady on reception was wonderfully warm and professional. We were even allowed to have our room at 10am rather than wait for the official 3pm check in.
I'd booked the smallest cheapest room they had and it was blooming lovely! It was small but the bed was huge and suprembly comfortable. The decor was very cool, the fittings were all very good quality and the ensuite shower room was beautiful a wet room.
And it was immaculate.
The little cafe attached to the hotel is also to be recommened, but they don't take cash weirdly. They do great coffee, fresh wheat grass, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh pastries, all really beautiful and terrific service to boot. So, if you want a romantic get away in a proper authentic Amsterdam building with style (if not space) then you'll love it.
Its not a faceless chain, its quirky and high quality. I loved it.......

Room Tip: NB the star rating applies to room size not quality, my 1* room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smileygirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Are new years stay at this hotel was more than a pleasant surprise. Lots of bad reviews I can see but no complaints from me. Staff very helpful and room impressive very modern and artistic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBenz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

we booked this hotel because we thought it would be new and a little different and also because of a 50% discount!!we didnt expect a room that had a double bed shoved against the wall and if the bathroom door was open u had to walk on the bed to pass it,the room was 3 star but i have stayed in better hostels.The health and safety non exsistant wires running across the floor,absolutely nowhere to hang a coat,put a cup down,put your clothes or belongings.The whole hotel put together with no thought at all to practicality.My clothes remained in my bag for two days,it was raining heavily during our stay and we had to just leave our wet coats on the floor.Our room was on the 5th floor and the lift was out of action so tracking up the numerous narrow stairs was no joke...This hotel is below standard and the only thing it has going for it is clean as it is new and pillows and bed very comfy but it will never get the prices they expect when completed.As for design pre school kids would have done a better job,a few bits of crumpled a4 paper and wool dont suffice as great design.finally dont expect a wholesome meal in the hotel restaurant,its a juice bar which you have to leave the hotel and access through another entrance.We travelled with a group of 8 others who all were sorely dissappointed with this hotel and who wont be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellyjWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very nicely 'dressed' room with a very comfortable bed. The hotel is made from 3 separate smaller buildings, which makes it seem like a labyrinth and gives it a lot of character. Great location and friendly staff, perfect for a weekend in Amsterdam. would go there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing