We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tooooo small pls go somewhere else!”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #119 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The room is very small... perhaps 12 sq.m.
no air condition
no mini bar
No lobby or place where you can sit and relax...
there is a cafe attached to the hotel (use different entrance) but only accept card... no cash...

It's such a shame because the hotel has got a lot of potential... but for the size... it's make me feel like being in the backpacker (if you have large suitcase, I don't think you can fit your suitcase in the room)

Location: 5min walk from the main station... plenty of restaurant and shops

Overall: I know for some people size doesn't matter... but for this hotel... perhaps you can less somewhere else to get a much better room similar location... or pay a bit more to get a larger room near the canal.... this room is wayyyy too small for 2 adults... (image you can't walk around the bed...no room)
The picture showing on the website are way too good to be true....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piya-namwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

centrally located hotel- simple to find only 2 mins walk from Central station-did walk past first bbut that was our own fault small enterance- heard absolutely no noise at night although room was in back of hotel and as requested fan was provided so did not notice lack of air conditioning only critism would be that it would have been nice to have a cup of coffee available in the room but apart from that could not fault this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room away from Damark street one to the back of the hotel and ask for a fan to be provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyd535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I had a 20 hour layover in Schiphol and wanted to stay in the heart of the city to maximize time to see Amsterdam, so chose Hotel the Exchange. The location was perfect, and despite having a room on the first floor facing Damrak my room was very quiet, which was great. I enjoyed the quirkiness of the room design, although the lack of closets or drawers for clothing was odd (can't extrapolate to the whole hotel since each room has a different design). Bed was comfortable, bathroom was small, but serviceable, so no complaints on that end.

All that being said, the price was steep, and there weren't a lot of amenities for it. Had I been to Amsterdam before and realized just how accessible it is and how close things are I probably would have booked a less expensive hotel not quite so much in the center of things. That is certainly what I would do next time, since I would have been able to see just as much of the city as staying at Hotel the Exchange. Also, while the staff was friendly, I wouldn't call them knowledgeable about Amsterdam. When I asked them to suggest their favourite places in Amsterdam they just gave the stock tourist book answers. I would also avoid their associated restaurant, which is right next door. Expensive instant machine coffee and slightly stale croissants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adigallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel as I've seen some quirky and stunning photos online. However, I can't say that I was impressed by this hotel at all: the location is central but awfully touristy (the equivalent of staying in Times Square in NYC or Leicester Square in London). The rooms are VERY small- I had to ask for an upgrade from a 2 to a 3 star hotel to be able to stay here at all as the first room reminded me of a tiny hospital room and was blazingly hot with no air-conditioning available. I have been to Amsterdam over ten times and stayed in various locations/ hotels and this is my least favorite by far.

I checked in late (around 10.30pm) and as I arrived I asked for bottle of water as there is no bar in the rooms- this was not possible which I find odd in a hotel with over 60 rooms... It's also worth noting that this hotel is in a very noisy location, I found getting a good night's rest difficult.

I would not recommend this hotel, the lovely LLoyd hotel (a sister hotel I believe) has much more character and is offers much better value for money. In short: The Exchange Hotel is disappointing, inhospitable and over-prized.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stay here regularly on business trips and the location is what initially attracted. Over the last few stays I have been impressed by the friendliness, comfort and cleanliness of the Exchange. Ok so some of the rooms are a little bizzarely decorated, but that adds to the charm of the place. WiFi available in all rooms and the Stock Cafe next door does an excellent breakfast, again with friendly and effective service..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56MartinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The Exchange is a hotel for kids but with an adult price tag. Billed as a boutique hotel designed by fashion students, it's nothing more than 4 white walls with some fabric stapled on them. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are like hospital bathrooms... wet rooms with cold white tile.

Then there's the neighborhood. Amsterdam Centre is the equivalent of staying in the middle of times or leicester square, and the street is FILLED with drunken idiots, stinky kebab shops and piles of chips. If your room faces the main road, don't even think of sleeping.

If you want to experience the chic, leafy, lovely side of Amsterdam, stay in the nine streets or jordaan neighborhood where it's totally cool and funky, but pretty and quiet too.

The staff were totally cute hipsters but didn't really have any answers regarding restaurants and took ages to do stuff.

Even if you're 20-something and are just looking for a crash pad, i'd still say stay in a nicer 'hood.

Interesting concept, but it just doesn't work. If you appreciate good, boutique hotels, you will be very dissapointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Blink as you walk past and you could miss this charming hotel as it's frontage to the street is so narrow, but once inside you will find spacious rooms all decorated in individual style designed by arts University students. The room I stayed in was clean, spacious, beautifully decorated and well furnished, with a balcony and coffee maker. I believe it was one of the 5* rooms (rooms are available to suit a range of budgets 2* to 5*). The barrier on the balcony was not very high, so care must be taken. Very central location, but the top floor room I occupied was not noisy at all.

Room Tip: Non-smoking hotel: Choose a room with a balcony if you wish to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACE_W4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £90 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing