We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but still an experience”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #116 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with a friend at the end of November in 2012. The overall experience was satisfactory, rooms were tidy, service level & commitment was above acceptable. All rooms are decorated in a unique way, which some people may find a very attractive feature for a hotel (I'm not included to those). Comfortable beds, very decent location, no noise in the room we were staying (3rd or 4th floor, not facing the street). Be aware though that 3-star rooms are tiny, and I mean tiny, even by European standards. So is also the bathroom. Did not mind it that much though, as we were there to see the city. Iron board and and iron was provided with problems and were ours to keep during the whole stay. For someone that is used to business hotels, I would not recommend it, however if you like to have a slightly "unique" experience, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: As I have understood, rooms that are facing the street are non-desirable due to the döner outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamhtonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked this hotel at (almost) the last minute as we had been offered tickets for the Benfica v Chelsea match at the Amsterdam Arena on May 15th. Naturally we were expecting prices to be high, given the sheer volume of people staying in Amsterdam for the match, but nothing prepared us for the shoddy (practically non-existent) service. On top of this, the (attic) room was about the size of a shoebox and the bedroom could only be reached by walking through the shower room. The shower room consisted solely of a wall-mounted shower head and semi-tiled walls. Considering we had paid over £300 for one night it was extremely disappointing and we will definitely not be returning to this hotel. Amsterdam is, however, always a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racingtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Perfect location. We stayed at the Exchange on an incredibly busy weekend. Unlike some of the larger hotels, there's just a small door to enter, but the rooms, at least ours, was far away from noisy, busy Damrak. We were in Europe for 2 weeks and stayed in several cities and the room here was actually much larger than any we had in other places. The downside: claustrophobic elevators.

Room Tip: Be sure you're at the back of the hotel for real peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JaneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed in this property twice within of weeks as a stopovers in Amsterdam (one night on each visit) On the first visit I stayed in the "3 star Suite", the room I stayed was in the 5th floor, had paper mache designs. It would be ideal for someone who did not carry too many bags as the rooms were quite small and there was hardly room to put them, Since I was alone this was ok with me. Simple bathrooms, again not very big.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyDadisAJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Tue-Thu 14-16 May 2013; 2 twin rooms; 4 blokes - CHELSEA Europa final.

I originally booked this via EXPEDIA, but then made changes via email direct with the hotel - EMAIL and PHONE comms were great!

I chose it for its fabulous location, half-way between Central Stations and Dam Square - each are only about 1/4 mile (500m) away. The lanes and canals and Red Light district are similarly close!

The hotel is not the easiest to find simply because it is merely a doorway/entrance between two shops, as the reception is behind them, and the rooms above them - weird, but doesn't detract from the place.

We had one room on the 2nd floor, and one of the 5th, both at the fron. It's directly onto the street, including a busy road and trams, and lots of bars etc, so it can be noisey if/when windows left open overnight.

2nd floor room was very minimalist and funky and quirky, with small "wet room", twin beds, polished/painted concrete floor, curtains, safe, wooden chair and NOTHING ELSE!!!

5th floor room was 100% tiled, including the bedroom, and larger "wet room".

Both were listed as "4*" which I guess they could be, if you're into funky / weird / minimalist... or is that just the Dutch or Amsterdam ARTY way?

There was certainly nothing WRONG with either room, and prices of EUR 200 and EUR 240 for the Tue/Wed nights weren't bad given the fab location.

Beds looked floppy, especially when you sat on them, but were surprisingly comfy, though could do with larger duvets!

All in all, a great little find, and would certainly use again!!!

Location would be VERY difficult to beat!

No food included, so nothing to comment on as far as that goes.

Room Tip: rooms at FRONT may be noisey overnight, cos of trams etc, and local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were intially very worried when we landed on the manically busy Damrak to check in to this hotel. We needn't have worried at all. Although the Damrak is crazy, busy and noisy the Exchange is an oasis of unusual calm in the middle of it!

If you are claustrophobic or find small spaces frustrating this is NOT the place for you. Like many buildings in Amsterdam space is an absolute luxury! The reception is literally a ticket booth at the end of a narrow hallway but please don't let any of this put you off. If you like something a little different then this is the place for you.

Each room has a different design. I think it is designed by art students and they take an individual room as a project. Our room was in a very minimalist style, mostly white with lots of clear light bulbs. It was fantastic! We really loved it. It was incredibly basic, no tea/coffee and a basic wetroom but it was still very enjoyable. I cannot remember exactly how much we paid but I know that it was not cheap. I would still say that it was worth it due to its great location and quirky atmosphere. A definite recommend if you like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Even if you get a room over the Damrak they are still nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmurfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,072 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 373 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing