We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel with very original décor. The hotel is at walking distance from the train station, you just have to be careful not to miss the entrance.
Wish we could have stayed more nights in Amsterdam, but our schedule wouldn't allow it. The next time we will try to book The Exchange again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

It's so very difficult to find a good hotel in central Amsterdam at a reasonable price but the Hotel The Exchange is a real exception. Just a doorway on the Damrak and easy to miss but once inside a treat awaits. The interior has been designed by art and design students from the local university and they have done a great job with highly individual decorations and fittings. The double room that I booked was small but very comfortable with a good sized soft bed and a small bathroom with an excellent shower.

Free, fast wifi and a very central location would normally cost a fortune but this place was reasonable at about 90 euros a night.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband. The location is fabulous, just 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station and in the midst of shops and places to eat.

Room was very clean but quite small but that didnt bother us. Just enough room for a bed, table, chair and coat stand. The bed was so comfortable, I had the best nights sleep.
Only downside was the shower as there was no shower screen. The bathroom is extremely small so the whole floor was wet after each shower.
Soap, shampoo and body wash was provided.
No hair dryer in the room but you can borrow from reception.

Free wifi throughout the hotel which worked perfectly.

Each staff at reception was very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katriiiiiiiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Hotel entrance is so small, that you will pass by if you are not really looking for it. Inside everything stays small. Our XS room was decorated all around with a brown fabric. We had 5 oriental style lamps dangling from the ceiling.

There also was a very simple stand where you could hang 6 hangers. The glaring omission was any kind of drawer to put our things outs of our suitcase. So we basically had to put our suitcase on the floor and were taking things out directly. I have deducted a star for that.

The second star was lost when the airplanes started landing in the morning. The hotel consists of two houses and between them there is a gap of a yard. Any time an airplane crosses the hotel, you have quite a loud noise as the sound seems to be amplified by the gap. If you close the window the problem is gone as the window really insulates well. Still the combination of a room covered in fabric, no air condition and a closed window makes myself a little claustrophobic.

The bed was very soft, which I do not appreciate.

But what also has to be said is that the hotel is very clean and the staff is really friendly.

If you are only staying overnight and don't want to unpack, it is a nice possibility that I would consider again. For a longer stay I would not reconsider the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was with excitement that I booked the hotel. It said Boutique and it looked quirky. After reading all the reviews I thought it sounds perfect. But what a huge disappointment, there is nothing "boutiquey" about the hotel, quirky yes but not in a nice way. The reception area that is nothing more than a box should have been warning enough! I first had the 3* room that felt like I was in a prison cell, I thenI upgraded to a 4* room that was barely any better. At €185 per night without breakfast I feel a bit ripped off. Amsterdam has so much better to offer. The only positive aspect of this hole in the wall is location, location, location.

Room Tip: If you still insist on booking here don't book anything less than 4*
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazy-henk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Literally a 5 min walk straight down from the train station. Very central, walking distance to most tourist attractions - Amsterdam dungeon, Madamme Tussauds, Anne franks house, Van Gough etc. Tram line pretty much opposite which drops of at Heineken experience and the xtracold ice bar.

We stayed in a 2* room. Room 220. Was small but very comfy. Bed was amazing. Decorations were interesting and different but didn't get in the way. Wet room was spacious and clean. They provided towels which were replaced everyday. Very clean. Tv has a range of different English channels.

Only issue was housekeeping start at about 8am so make sure to put the 'do not disturb' sign on the handle the night before.

There is a cafe next door which looked very nice. Same company. Didn't have chance to go in but from what we saw food looked nice.

Would def stay in this hotel again. Clean, comfortable and perfect location.

Room Tip: Church bells start at 9am. Verry loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomi_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here with a friend at the end of November in 2012. The overall experience was satisfactory, rooms were tidy, service level & commitment was above acceptable. All rooms are decorated in a unique way, which some people may find a very attractive feature for a hotel (I'm not included to those). Comfortable beds, very decent location, no noise in the room we were staying (3rd or 4th floor, not facing the street). Be aware though that 3-star rooms are tiny, and I mean tiny, even by European standards. So is also the bathroom. Did not mind it that much though, as we were there to see the city. Iron board and and iron was provided with problems and were ours to keep during the whole stay. For someone that is used to business hotels, I would not recommend it, however if you like to have a slightly "unique" experience, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: As I have understood, rooms that are facing the street are non-desirable due to the döner outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamhtonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,074 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 373 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing