We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel with the most comfortable bed”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #119 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here just for one night and loved it. The hotel boasts many quirky little details. The most remarkable was how comfortable the bed was, I had such a good night's sleep. Although it's on a very busy and quite noisy street, but that doesn't bother me too much. And also it's very convenient in walking distance to the train station. I would book there again. Breakfast in the café next door was okay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank piiika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

My boyfriend and I disagree slightly on our experience of the exchange, so I will write my review based on both our opinions!
We visited Amsterdam in October as the bf ran the marathon, we had difficulty in finding anywhere that was reasonably priced (even hostels which we have stayed in for other city breaks). So we found The Exchange.
The things both a the nd an I agree on:

Location- second to none. 5 minute walk to the central station (easiest way to get from the airport to Amsterdam!) Close to all the tram shops, restaurants and bars. It is difficult to find, but if you keep your eyes peeled and loom for a door between a cafe (Stock cafe) and a pizza shop, you will find it!
Staff- were friendly and very helpful pointing out how to get around the city
Style- quirky and stylish the rooms are fun an the hotel does look great, the staircase is very narrow though!
Room- we stayed in room 119. There were twin beds which were very comfy and the there was a separate shower room and toilet. All very clean and practical. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard. There isn't too much room in the room, we had to live out of the suitcase and if you had more than one they would be difficult to store!

Things we disagreed on:
Room- the curtains were Terrible! There were a lot of gaps, sides and top. For me this was a real problem as I do not sleep well if there is light and with being on the main road, the street lights were very bright through the gaps! The space is definitely a problem if you have more luggage than we did!

Sleep quality- we were at the front of the house so it was very noisy, especially as our room was just above a pizzashop (which I think didn't close till the VERY early hours). This is of course no fault of the hotels, this is what Amsterdam is all about, but just a warning. The room is warm so if you need to open the window in summer months I suspect you will get very little sleep.

All in all, I think that this hotel is great value for money!!!!!!! Stylish and the perfect location to explore Amsterdam's sights, you will be hard pressed to find something in a more ideal location for the price!

Room Tip: Try and get a doom away from the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpsomGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We got there early in the AM and found the hotel with no problem. The entrance is kind of hidden between two cafe's, but if you just look for the numbers on the buildings, you will get right to it. They put our luggage up for the morning and we met up with friends and checked in later in the day. We had a triple room, which was all in white and was very comfy. Beds were great, shower was wonderful and there was plenty of room in our room for 3 people. We were a group of 14, so I got to see some of the other rooms, and although they were small, they were very comparitable with other european "center of town" room sizes. Everyone liked the decor of their rooms, and I like it was not a generic run of the mill hotel room. Although we spent little time in our room, it was nice coming back to a uniquely decorated room. The hotel staff was wonderful, and the cafe downstairs was great. Location could not be better- 5 minutes to the central train station, 2 minutes to the red light district, and 5 minutes to the square. It was a really great location and the prices were relatively cheap compared to other hotels. There was some noise, but that is to be expected, so just bring earplugs and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Get the 5 star room- that was the bomb!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Really helpful staff. Got a back room. Funky little hotel. Small lift. The room was small but comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Great bathroom, in room safe and convenient location. Make sure you look carefully for the entrance. It is easy to miss! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they stored our gear which was good. Perfect location for nightlife, tours etc. The lift was out of order one day so they gave us complimentary coffee for the downstairs cafe. The only downside of this place was the cafe. The staff were rude, service poor and the quality of food not that great. Better off going elsewhere for food and coffee. We loved the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were only able to stay one night as we were on our way home from Athens but we will certainly stay here when we return to Amsterdam. Each room is decorated in a unique and artistic theme. A fantastic hotel in a prime location! Close to the train station and to a hopping nightlife and dozens of restaurants. Young people will love it - and even we older folks love it! We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaringdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived at Amsterdam Centraal, by train, from an early morning flight from Singapore.
The, approximately, 6 minute walk to the hotel was straight towards Dam Square from the station.
Don’t blink or you will miss the insignificant doorway, which we did and had to back track.
Book in time was 3pm but we were told maybe 2pm. We asked to store our bags and went to explore.
We did return at 2pm but the room was not ready and we were told that we could wait on the first floor. A couple of large divans and plenty of cushions made the next hour at least comfortable.
The room we booked had a 1 star rating on the first floor facing Damrak Street. [After having read many, varying reviews on the 1 star rooms, we were ready to ask for an upgrade if necessary]
The main part of the room, number 119, was small, contained two single beds, a small desk, chair, safe, a bedside table and the wall was decorated with handbags, both real and paper. Two other doors were 1 to the shower and hand basin and 2 to the toilet.
There was no cupboard or drawers but a rack to hand a few garments on.
Storing our suitcases was difficult because of limited floor space so, one was stored under the desk and the other in the toilet, which was quite roomy. So for the two nights we were there we lived out of our cases.
Overall the room was clean and fresh, comfortable beds and serviced daily. We don’t remember being bothered by any excessive noise from the street.
We are senior travellers, both over 70, and like our comfort but we were happy with the room for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValR161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Exchange. As expected, the hotel is conveniently located and has basic and clean rooms. But this review is about the 'Stock', the hotel's cafe adjoining it and the service here sucks! We went there for breakfast on the first day and had a terrible experience - first, the waitress took our orders after that of the others who came in later and after we reminded her; second, we didn't get our food (simple boiled egg and crepe) for a really long time, while everyone around us did; third, when we reminded her (again), she looked thoroughly confused and coolly told us that they crepes were over!!! It was clear that she messed up big time and gave our order to e table next to us! And more importantly, she didn't seem to care or apologise when we left!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SrividyaJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#147 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,354 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 372 in Amsterdam
677 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £96 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing