We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #110 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

You can't knock this hotel at all, there are five different stars of room from one star to five star.

We stayed in a two star room and I am not sure what more you need if your like us and basically just showered and slept in the room.

There is also wifi everywhere in the hotel and the cafe attached next door.

The rooms are done up very quirky by art students. Yes it is small and basic but has everything you need. A nice big comfy double bed, safe, clothes rail and a wet room. Everything looks very new and well maintained. The cleaners come in your room every day to change towels and make bed etc. The whole hotel is spotless.

The location of the hotel is spot on your five minutes from the train station, red light district, western canals and 10 / 15 minutes from most other things. You can get trams to most places if you wanted. We walked everywhere and found it great as you can find lovely little pubs/cafés and restaurants down the alleys.

The only negative about the hotel room is the light in the bedroom could be brighter as room is dark and there are only two plug sockets.

I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovelife123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Ross, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and room in our hotel very much. You are always welcome to come back to Amsterdam and stay with us again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    465
    172
    65
    51
See reviews for
63
632
87
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had. DO NOT spend your money here. I had high expectations for such a quirky, well located boutique hotel with a catchy slogan like "rooms dressed like models".

Here is a short recap of my first night:
IF YOU PLAN ON GETTING SLEEP- DO NOT STAY HERE. The windows facing the street are not double glazed and you can hear EVERYTHING- from the clicking high heels of a woman walking by to the tram that will wake you up at 5am, to the church bells that chime on and on and on regardless of what time it is. If the noise outside does not keep you from sleeping, the noise from the neighbours will because the walls, floors and ceilings are so cheaply constructed and made, you can hear every footstep. If you do manage to get some sleep, you will get woken up by a stray fire alarm that goes off by accident in your room as it did in mine.

Other complaints/disappointments:
-no shower curtain in the bathroom
-no fridge, water, cups, hot water boiler etc. "BASIC" tools in every standard hotel room.

Extremely extremely disappointed by my experience. The hotel put a huge damper on my entire trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petram1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Petra, we are disappointed to read that your stay in one of our 2 star rooms wasn't to your satisfaction. Hotel the Exchange has 61 unique rooms ranging from one to five stars. The number of stars refers to the size of the room and the amenities. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a nice and quiet room where you will sleep very well. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It was really trendy with a special love of fashion. It was full of inspiration and the rooms were furnished by students at the Amsterdam Fashion Institute. Even though design comes before comfort which was what I expected, I do recommend Hotel the Exchange to fashion lovers!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevdademirsevda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Sevda, thank you for your review and your recommendation. It's nice to read you are enthusiastic about our special love for fashion and our rooms dressed like models. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Be aware when booking that the rooms are 'made up like models'. You should expect the rooms to be quirky, comfortable and fabulous.

While themed/dressed up rooms might not be to everybody's taste, the room we stayed in I found modern, tasteful, bright and comfortable. We booked less than two weeks before arrival and paid approximately £120 for the two nights we stayed, a steal by anyone's standards.

The hotel is located less than ten minutes walk from the Central Station, literally thirty seconds from the nearest Tram Stop, it is central, well priced, individual and I will be booking again very soon indeed. I can honestly say that this hotel was a key factor in us enjoying our trip as much as we did.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms seem to be less individual, part of the price you pay for is the experience with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mike, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy we were a key factor during your stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is the worst I ever saw. For 150 euro a night there was a 1 star standard in a 4 star room. I can't even discribe in words how creepy and ugly the room was. I stayed there one night by myself and 2 times somebody tried to enter my room. Would not recommend it ever to nobody.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Martha, we are disappointed to hear that you didn't like the 4 star room that you were allocated. We are always happy to relocate guests if they prefer another room. There are 61 rooms and they are all completely unique. We would very much like to welcome you back in the future, as we are confident we can find a room that you will enjoy. We are confident that the hotel is entirely secure. We would appreciate more information with regards to your review. Please feel free to contact us directly. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westende, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Perfect location, close from central station and easy to reach other main atractions, small room but good bed and pillows, bedroom is small but its ok, clean and quite, nice deco. Staffs are friendly. When we come back to visit Amsterdam we will stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuzmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for the compliments. Looking forward to welcoming you again in sunny Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

elegant and comfortable. the location is excellent. The hotel is on Damrak St. which lies between Central Train Station and Dam Square. decoration is very smart. staff is friendly.

but the rooms are tiny, additionally not very clean. be very careful about the cleaning.

Room Tip: pay a little more and stay at comfort rooms at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evrim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Evrim, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is nice to read you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of our staff. We regret you experienced the room as not very clean, we take cleaning very seriously and never received this complaint before. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Amsterdam and will make sure you will experience the cleanliness of our hotel. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 367 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing