We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for shopping”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very beautiful hostel , smiling staff but a little bit expensive, really the bare minimum in our room(chamber). Fantastic geographic situation, Kalverstraat and .Dam, just one step from central station and tram.
Really nice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederic w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Frederic, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Typical Amsterdam Hotel with it's narrow entrance and steep staircase. Clever design ideas in the rooms and great bathrooms. The wet bathroom idea works well provided you remember to take the towels out before you shower. Noted that the bathroom dries within and hour of use. Loved the tiles with the tyre tread pattern, very unique. The bistro attached to the hotel is great for breakfast and afternoon snacks. The 2 star rooms are very small but perfectly adequate for a short break. Staff were always friendly and cheerful.

Room Tip: 2 star very small so if you don't travel light, book a 4 star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Chris, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in a 2 star room. Thank you for the compliments about the tiles. We produced them in collaboration with Mosa - a tile fabric in the south of Holland. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Absolutely great!
Enjoyed the location and absolutely fantastic room design.
Elevators system is probably not the simplest in the world, you have to switch elevators to get to the floors 3-7, but that's what could be done in historical building, I think.
General impression: perfect for me and my gf.
Will recommend for those who comes to Amsterdam for entertainments and main attractions of this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Александр Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Exchange is literally right in the middle of everything in Amsterdam! The location is the equivalent to staying in Time Square on Broadway in NYC. It is within a block of the red light district, two to three blocks of the main railway station and within reasonable walking district to any attraction within the canal zone including the Anne Frank house and the Heineken brewery.

I read a lot of the reviews of the hotel prior to booking and decided on an upgraded, superior room for a larger size since we were travelling with our 2 year old and had a stroller. The room was super clean, quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of room for both a crib (provided by the hotel), a stroller and 3 backpacks. The staff was excellent and very nice. They confirmed our reservation a week prior and had a crib ready to go in the room as requested. There's a great little cafe next to/ part of the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch and coffee. **Tip, if you like larger cups of coffee or need more caffeine, order either a cappuccino or a cafe latte as even the cafe American is a tiny cup of excellent coffee.

The only caution I will give anyone is the location. While the location is fantastic for proximity and great for 1st time visitors to Amsterdam, it is a madhouse on Damtrak for people and bicycles. It is a sea of people in every direction at all times of day coming right out of the hotel. While that may appeal to a lot of people, I will choose a less hectic location upon return, but I loved the hotel and very glad we chose it.

Room Tip: If space is a priority book a superior room, otherwise the regular rooms are fine. Our friend trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy to read that you had such a great time with your family in Amsterdam. We hope to see you back in Hotel The Exchange. If you prefer a less hectic location in Amsterdam, the team of our sister hotel is looking forward to welcoming you there. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel The exchange is located at a very good place, which is closed to many famous attractions.
Due to the good location and the acceptable price, the room size is not large and the layout is very creative.

Room Tip: I choose the two-star room which is acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Kurtlin, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Highly interesting, comfortable, clean rooms. We had everything we needed and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They sell tickets for a few tourist attractions from the hotel reception so you can queue jump some things - one being Van Gogh musuem, very helpful. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Olivia, thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel The Exchange - Amsterdam

+ Walking distance to everything, central station, shopping, food etc, no need to buy passcard/tram-card.
+ Clean room (room 601) (1-star).
+ Free and fast WiFi.
+ Comfortable beds.
+ No carpet/rug.
+ You can charge your electronic device even when you leave the room, its not a roomcard that needs to be put in to get electricity.
+ Friendly staff with good english.
+ You can leave the luggage on the hotel even if you have checked-out.

- Every 15min, the bell from the church nearby is ringing.
For people who needs silence, maybe a room on the other side is more quiet.
- Thin walls but its only 3-4 rooms on that level so not many people walks by.

The hotel is not that hard to find, just get out of Central Station and you will see the big Victoria Hotel sign, walk towards it and just follow the main road with all the tourists.
The entrance is very small, but just look for the white flags.
Next to a kebab/grill restaurant.

The hotel doesnt accept cash, have a credit card with you.
The hall is kinda small, and you need to take the stair/elevator to the first floor and then change to another elevator to get to level 6.
No aircondition, it has heating element.
The shower didnt have any shower-drapery.

Anyway, it was nice and worth it :)

Room Tip: 601 if silence is not a must. No view even its on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverFang13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
967 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,085 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £57 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing