We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, Great Location”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked the 2 stars room which priced reasonably as the hotel located strategically in town, all the places are just minutes of walking distances. Shopping streets are just behind the hotel and District 5 is just minutes away. There is no aircond in the hotel but Amsterdam weather is cooling at night with window open the rooms get cold too.

Amsterdam is a very small city where everywhere is within walking distance, if you are too tired you may hop on those trams.

Very comfortable beds and pillows and love our stays in Hotel the Exchange. The cafe in the hotel has the best coffee in town.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor, if lower floor dont face the main street as it gets a little noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Shirley, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed our best coffee in town and the comforable beds. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Exchange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Thought we'd booked a lovely airy room with a terrace, but ended up with quite a stuffy little room at the very top of the hotel with only one window that opened and no air-con on what was quite a hot day. It cost me £350 for one night! Must do more research next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nospamthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future as we have rooms from 1 to 5 stars. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It 'the perfect hotel if you want to spend and the right to live in the city as it is located in the center and near the train station. I found it very comfortable beds.
The pillows, the comforter very soft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Lara, thank you for your positive review. We are happy to read you liked our beds and hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely hotel in great location by dam square.very quiet hotel even though on main street couldnt hear any noise. Room was clean and shower was lovely but toilet cubicle was far too small and lock kept getting stuck. If it wasnt for toilet it would have been great. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Bexter, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you had a good and very quiet stay. We will take a look at the toilet, thank you for pointing this out. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was by far the worst 3 star hotel i have ever stayed in. The room was so small our luggage, not large, couldn't be wheeled across the room. The only place they could place a hair dryer was in the safe. There was nowhere to hang wet clothes except on a wall with 3 hangers, the window coverings, closed to hide the horrible view, were torn and tattered as were the furnishings in the narrow hallways. I have stayed at much better Amsterdam hotels for less money. It was so bad that we only stayed one night even though we paid for three. It is located on one of the busiest streets in the city with crowds and noise 24/7.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Marilyn, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't what you expected it to be. We have rooms from 1 to 5 stars. The more stars, the bigger the room. We also have rooms located at the backside of the hotel, it is very quiete at that side. Best regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was one good stay for sure. The hotel is located in the perfect location if you want to stay near the dam Square area. It is 3 min walk from the Centraal station to the hotel and within the next 2 min you will be in the center of Dam square.

The rooms are all creatively designed. We were initially given a room on the 4th floor facing the front side but there is some construction going on in front of the hotel so that room was too noisy for us. We called the reception and they moved our room right away and we got on the 6th floor. A very quiet, clean and cosy room. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is very basic for your stay so apart from the toiletries, you will need to get your own supplies like water and maybe soft slippers if you intend to stay more in room and don't want to get in bed with dirty feet. :)

The shower was amazing, bed was as comfortable as you would want on an Amsterdam trip and all the nice food places are within your walking distance so go crazy..

Loved the stay, will definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sadaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Sadaf, thank you for your review. It's nice to read you had a good stay and loved the hotel. We are happy to read the reception changed rooms, you had an amazing shower and comfortable bed. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a short honeymoon, hotel staff very helpful and friendly, room was small but clean and bed very comfortable. We booked through Hotwire so were unable to choose a room and we wish we had as 2 hangers for 2 people staying for 3 nights was not really practical! Really enjoyed our stay (even with all the construction noise coming from the main street) and would liked to have seen some of the other quirky rooms but we are unlikely to return to Amsterdam. One small criticism was that when we were in our room we felt that we had to keep the blind closed as the room was visible from the corridor and as people were walking past they were looking in to our room! But all in all brilliant location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sarah, thank you for your review. Congratulations with your honeymoon! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for pointing out the small amount of hangers in your room, we immediately brought some more. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,339 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#67 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing