We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much perfect”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Such a good concept. No hassle, comfy beds, wifi, nice simple decor and helpful staff.

If you're planning in staying in your room all day it wouldn't be ideal. But for sleep and a couple of breaks during the day it's perfect.

Would like to see more budget boutique hotels like this around Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Nick, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had such a great time at Hotel The Exchange. We would love to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Exchange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Dont stay here if you want large rooms, huge bathrooms, balconies, or large spaces to lounge around indoors. This is NOT your place. However, if you are in Amsterdam for the right reasons and lust to be outside soaking it all in, you will not mind the small rooms, and tight quarters. The hotel is well laid out, thoughtful, and down right crafty. Incredible location, to just about everything. Rates are fair. We were very suprised at how cool this place was for our stay. If you are a couple or single, stay here, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Spice it up, get a room that overlooks the street!
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Matthew, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy you loved the hotel and the rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

First of all: it's all about the location. At the hart of the city near the central station, red light district, one of the gay areas. Every room is different. Our first room was like a boudoir. I liked it as it was very cosy but my partner found it too small. Just went over the reception. There were some empty rooms. They gave us the keys of several rooms and could pick one we liked. Of course we had to pay something extra as the room was bigger. Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0rneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review. It is good to read you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to take a look at some of our rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Small rooms, big prices. All the amenities worked and it was roughly what I expected. We stayed in a "2 star" room and didn't spend a ton of time in there. Let's be real, it was a glorified dorm. The mattress was creaky and uncomfortable, only had one chair, a couple hanging lamps, and a bathroom small enough to relieve yourself/shower/brush your teeth all in one sitting.

If you're familiar with Amsterdam and don't care for the bustle and tourism of city center, I'd stay elsewhere. I hadn't been in a decade and figured this seemed like a good central location, which it is! But I rediscovered the city offers a lot more if you're willing to walk a little further from the train station. I'd imagine your dollar goes a bit further elsewhere as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Tom, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite the small rooms, you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked the 2 stars room which priced reasonably as the hotel located strategically in town, all the places are just minutes of walking distances. Shopping streets are just behind the hotel and District 5 is just minutes away. There is no aircond in the hotel but Amsterdam weather is cooling at night with window open the rooms get cold too.

Amsterdam is a very small city where everywhere is within walking distance, if you are too tired you may hop on those trams.

Very comfortable beds and pillows and love our stays in Hotel the Exchange. The cafe in the hotel has the best coffee in town.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor, if lower floor dont face the main street as it gets a little noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Shirley, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed our best coffee in town and the comforable beds. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Thought we'd booked a lovely airy room with a terrace, but ended up with quite a stuffy little room at the very top of the hotel with only one window that opened and no air-con on what was quite a hot day. It cost me £350 for one night! Must do more research next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nospamthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future as we have rooms from 1 to 5 stars. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It 'the perfect hotel if you want to spend and the right to live in the city as it is located in the center and near the train station. I found it very comfortable beds.
The pillows, the comforter very soft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Lara, thank you for your positive review. We are happy to read you liked our beds and hotel. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,339 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#67 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £98 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing