We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #114 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chatellerault, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very clean, contemporary hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Location convenient for visiting all of the city.
Bedroom very comfortable, no noise even though it is located on a busy street.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vienne86100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Francoise, thank you for your nice review and your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    467
    175
    66
    53
See reviews for
65
636
88
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfect location in the city center, helpful staff, nicely decorated rooms. There are different lounges everywhere to relax in, and luggage can be left in a luggageroom either after check-out or during a whole week (while we were cycling around in the Netherlands). I will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annemlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We hope you enjoyed your holiday on the bike. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokshetau
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

nice location right in the middle of the action, frindly personnel, good clean rooms, liked the interesting desing, high speed inteenet, since they had no 1 star rooms left got free upgrade for 4 star

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chingiz_akhmatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you liked the interesting design, high speed internet and the free upgrade. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My boyfriend and I love staying at boutique hotels when we travel! We stayed at The Exchange for 4 days/nights and it was such an experience! This hotel is known for their different themed rooms.. our room was 106 and our theme was "White T-shirt" .. basically our room was entirely all white! Our room was on the main Damrak street and it was a little noisy but we are deep sleepers so it was okay. Hotel is perfectly located - near restaurants, canal, Dam square, shops, etc. We walked almost everywhere! The staff are very friendly! Hotel is very clean. Great cafe next door too - Cafe Stock.

My only complaint, wish there was more than just a rack to hang clothes.. a small dresser would be nice to have.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi_MG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Miga, we are very happy to read you and your boyfriend had a great experience in our hotel. You are more then welcome to come back to the hotel and our café. We also have rooms with closets for your next stay. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

With so many different rooms, you'll never know what to expect until you check in. We wound up with a room dressed like the inside of a mattress -- springs hanging from the wall and thick felt curtains over the window. While it was a bit warm for August, the balcony more than made up for it. Lovely views of the Damrak, a unique experience. Very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 192andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Andy, thank you for your nice review. We are very happy to read you had a great and comfortable stay. We really hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for a total of 4 nights. The location was amazing, on the main boulevard and close to everything we needed..coffee shops ;), food, munchies, shopping. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The Hotel itself was VERY cute and quaint, the rooms were artistically decorated, super clean and quiet. Yes the rooms may seem a little small for some people but 1.you're in AMSTERDAM! get out of the room!! 2. ALL of Amsterdam is small, all the hotels we saw had the same sized rooms . Cafe' downstairs was really nice as well. We were even upgraded upon arrival which was awesome after a long day of traveling!
Overall i was extremely pleased with my stay here! I will definitely come back !

Room Tip: If a small room is a big concern when traveling to Amsterdam (all the hotels have small rooms) , i w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomydaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are really happy to read that you had a good time in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The position is awesome (near the station and the medieval zone), the price is competitive, the rooms are very particular (mine was the dishes-buttons one), all very clean, always someone at the reception, and Free wifi!
Next time, same hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikroMirko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It´s good to read that you had a nice time at Hotel The Exchange and that you´re willing to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
605 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing