We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”

Kwekkeboom Patisserie
Ranked #14 of 30 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I tasted a strawberry pastry and was delicious!!! For a desert I think is really a good place!! The price is good too.

Helpful?
Thank Thayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our tour guide took us here to try a croquette which was delicious, but the real star are the desserts! The ambiance is great and the staff is really friendly and knowledgeable. We came back here to get dessert and bought three cakes (chocolate mousse, chocolate cherry, and raspberry mouse with a cookie bottom) all of which were absolutely amazing. Be aware though, they close at 5pm so be sure to buy dessert before dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely place, with the most amazing ice cream!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As you walk down Rembrandtplein, if your eyes wander to the window of this wonderful patisserie, that's it - you are lost and must visit. And take it from me, that's no bad thing! The ice creams, cakes, pastries, chocolates, pasties, etc are enough to entice anyone, with fresh orange juice or coffee to wash it down - it all looks mouthwatering!

I partook of the ice cream, on a couple of occasions. They have many different flavours to choose from - forest fruits, vanilla, rum and raisin, mango, coffee, chocolate, the usuals. But my particular favourites were the Honey and Almond and Dutch Cinnamon. It was such a pity when they were finished, I had to go back the following day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent. England
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream, cakes and service!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just off of Rembrandt Square, you will find this unassuming and yet excellent little bakery.... We tried the sausage rolls and the cheese rolls, which were delicious, but, in my opinion, their area of excellence lies in the ice creams they sell; rich full-bodied and full of fruit, such as Forest Fruits, Strawberry and Cherry Yoghurt, or Honey and Almond, Dutch Cinnamon, Chocolate and so many more that I didn't get to taste.

Pop in and lose yourself in some of the most amazing chocolate you will ever get to taste.

The staff are friendly and polite, making the whole experience a pleasure..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lastgothstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“maybe good for local standart....”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

nice coffee bakery just at rembrandsplein, good fresh orange juice and coffee after our arrival in town so we cam back for pastry the other day.

facination videos about the production, the pastry looks very good, we decide to try one of the dypical dutch applecakes and a sachertarte - just to find out how the dutch version gonna be.

the apple tarte is nice, not that i would travel for it there, a bit to sweet, but is the local taste - a had several apple tartes in town before and all tend to be to sweet.

the sacher, good chocolat, bad not nice in texture as not fully baked or to much marmelade. after have of it i give up, filling but not "lekker" at all

well - for a sacher you not need to travel to amsterdam and once again: in pastries stay with apple tart whats usually quite nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kwekkeboom Patisserie also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kwekkeboom Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing