We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #25 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$43
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: A family owned bistro where we serve nice dishes with a good quality - price relation in a friendly atmosphere. Like in "brasserie Vlaming" we serve here also the "worldfamous" (anyway in Amsterdam) Sticky Toffee Pie and home-made Limoncello.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a return visit and if anything Vlamings has improved on its previous high standards. Frans and his team, including his daughter and with moral support from his wife and the family dog manage to create a wonderful, warm and friendly atmosphere which draws you in. The food is pretty good too and there are always daily specials to augment the menu. We really enjoyed our return visit and can't wait to go back. If we lived in Amsterdam we would be back every week!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    202
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner with personal attention by the restaurant´s owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

For our wedding anniversary we went to this sweet little restaurant. The service was outstanding and every plate very delicious. We enjoyed our time and really recommend this restaurant because of the very friendly, warm and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobias Sebastia... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meat and fish place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very good service, excellent atmosphere.
One of the best seabass I have tasted, lovely. And my friends had meat and loved that. The dessert was as lovely as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vibeche2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was so happy with this restaurant from ambiance to food to service to location. I had fresh caught dover sole (that night's special), green beans and sticky toffee pie! Delicious!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lesliep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pound for Pound the Best Meal we had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The day before we visited Vlaming, we had gone to Samhoud Places (by a 2 Michelin Star chef) and the day after Vlaming we went to Ron Blaauw (formerly a 2 michelin star restaurant).

Vlaming restaurant was our favourite!

The hospitality was amazing, they were aware that our trip was for our 30th Birthday and they presented us with Prosecco and a Cake afterwards!

I had a beautifully seasoned and perfectly cooked Steak and all of the other courses were as tasty and offered great value.

We were not aware of too many other English couples in here and the atmosphere was friendly and there was a sense of community rather than of tourists, which was appealing to us.

It is 15 minutes away from the centre of amsterdam but its a lovely walk into a local neighbourhood and authentic Amsterdam.

I would consider this a must visit restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markyshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing