We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza out of Italy ever”
Review of De Italiaan

De Italiaan
Ranked #447 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Seraing, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza out of Italy ever”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The title speaks for itself. Ended up there at random and what a great surprise. Great food, great (Italian)cook, nice area, with locals...I will come back for sure at each of my next trips to Amsterdam.
Service was average, young ladies not always smart.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Transatantique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    99
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Just dumb luck”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

By sheer chance we stumbled into this wonderful restaurant. We arrived via train from London via Brussels tired and hungry. Our B/B (ranked #1) is around the corner. They suggested trying it. We sat outside with locals, a blanket provided as it was chilly. We sat for almost 2 hours. The Netherlands was playing Spain in the WC and the neighborhood was crazy fun. We were so lucky to find it. Two meals there...both wonderful. You have to order the bruschetta. Do not miss this place. It is a nice walk from anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1Denver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pizza, busy restaurant”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local and the food and wine was very good. The pizzas were among the best we have had anywhere, including Italy. It is very busy though and the service is a bit sporadic as the staff seem to be run off their feet. We didn't book, but were lucky enough to get a table for 2 at about 7.30pm. It fills up quickly around 8pm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brisbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian food , locals love it”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This little gem is located near the Museum Area of Amsterdam. Lovely neighborhood. You do need a reservation but you can leave a message and they returned call later that day confirming. Service was great. We sat upstairs so you have a view of the scene below. Certainly a local place as it was a very young and hip crowd. Food was fabulous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redbirdsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our nearest 'local' Italian eatery to our Amsterdam apartment.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Busy little place, but what a treat! I chose a pizza with truffles; it was sublime. Superbly presented and beautiful to eat. Why aren't all pizzas like this one?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Studfarm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Italiaan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Italiaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing