We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having just returned from 4 nights at the Tourist Inn I am in 2 minds about the rating for this hotel. The hotel is basically quite bad….but it is in such an amazing city and so well located that for the price you pay it was fine!

We were given a triple room in the “Outhouse” which was just tiny – there was a bunk-bed and a single bed tucked up in a little attic accessed by a kind of ladder. We managed it for one night but after that asked to be moved (there was no sink in the room as described when booked). The hotel staff kindly moved us to another triple room on the top floor of the Outhouse and this room was better – it at least had a sink and a window. The safe did not work, and despite reporting it to reception on 4 occasions and being informed that the issue would be resolved, we did not have a functioning safe at any point during the stay. The shared shower and toilet facilities were fine and cleaned daily.

Breakfast was pretty good – bread, cheese, ham, salami as well as yoghurts and juice. On our last morning we didn’t go down to breakfast until 9.30am and by the time we went to get food they had run out of bread and were down to the last 2 slices of cheese. The lady preparing the breakfast said that there was no more food to replenish it. This seems a bit crazy when breakfast is advertised as being served until 10am. Still, a nice breakfast if you get there early.

I truly loved Amsterdam and had so much fun. Because of our experiences and the location of the hotel, I would stay at the Tourist Inn again if I could not find a better deal. You have to remember that accommodation is at a premium in the City so the rate is reasonable. Watch the stairs though…

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    402
    112
    32
    18
See reviews for
61
128
298
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were informed our room was in the second building, and that's where the fun begun...

Walk past the ladies of the night operating just outside the door, input the key code and you are now checked in to hostel hell.

We found our room easily enough, after climbing the narrow and steep staircase. No safe in our room. So we left our valuables at reception. We only did this once as shortly after putting our things in the top drawer the member of staff left the desk unattended. When we returned and asked for our things a different member of staff quite happily handed over passports and cash without checking our names.

2 days later a safe was put in, however it was not secured and someone could easily picked it up and left.

The sink leaked, so Dripped all over the floor.

The building wasn't ready - and was being painted, renovated etc while we were staying there. We had to get up early to beat the workman to the shower. When exiting/entering our room we were constantly having to avoid wet paint/paint pots/rubbish left by the decorators. Do the staff care that you have paid to stay in on a building site? Course not!

One day some blokes entered our room while we were out and removed the chairs!!! With access to our room being so readily available you can work out why we kept our valuables on us at all times after day 1.

Breakfast is average and served up by possibly the most unenthusiastic person in the world. Get there early or you'll be struggling , she rarely replenishes the food/drinks which includes stale bread which can be out through the worst toaster in the world and some tropical juice which is horrendous.

Oh, and the mints they offer at reception are like chalk.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were very happy with the living situations. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful, the location is great (only a few minutes from the center of the Red Light District). I would recommend going again for the accessibility to many of the main attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

When we booked we chose 9am as our arrival time. When we got there we were told the room wasn't ready and wouldn't be available until 1pm. We could deal with that so took our bags and went for a walk. When we came back at 1, we asked if it was ready and was told 'it could be a while'. We finally got in at 2pm! When we did, the heaters didn't work so were given an extra duvet (by the cleaner who is contracted and felt sorry for us), the doors had printed numbers on paper sellotaped to the doors, there was no ceiling, just exposed wires, and we had a leaky pipe that got out stuff wet.

The hotel is on a street but our room was in a separate building out the back door down an alleyway that is surrounded by red light windows (ok if you're a guy I guess!)

We were woken by builders fixing the air con and heating at 8:30 which was just great.

The reception staff were not bothered about checking us in 5 HOURS late and because the building we were in was very clearly not ready for guests (there was even building materials in the hallway?!) others were complaining too. Some even wouldn't stay for fear of getting sick because the room was so cold.

Shame there was no apologies about the state of the room or checking us in so late. Our room was available the next day but they wouldn't even let us stay a bit longer than 11 which we thought would have been a nice way to apologies as we didn't fly out until 9pm but no, they couldn't even accommodate that.

In all, it was such an awful stay we could only laugh. I really really really REALLY wouldn't recommend you stay. Unless the staff become a little more helpful, sympathetic and empathetic and the building is actually completed ready for guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank R0lloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of Feb for two nights. Room was very clean with a lovely shower and spacious bathroom. (It was able to cope with three Irish girls getting ready for a night out so had enough space!!) Staff were so friendly and really great help when you were trying to find how to get to places. We pre-drunk down stairs till 1am with no hassle from the night porter who was great craic!! Would really reccommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam as it is literally two streets over from Dam square and all the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Property: Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing