We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not sociable, and rooms could be better... but wouldn't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK, but not sociable, and rooms could be better... but wouldn't stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location of this hotel is OK, but there are several things which I think that the hostel needs to improve.

-First of all, I booked this hostel through hostelworld.com. I have booked this way many times while travelling, and in the past have simply paid a 10% deposit and then settled up upon arrival. What BTI failed to tell me was that they were going to try and take a 'pre-authorization' sum and hold onto it until I checked in on my first night. I didn't mind, but really wish this had been made clear to me before I booked, which it wasn't.

-The dorm was very dark, with only a small window. It got very hot at night, and we could only open one side of the window. The beds themselves were nice, but the temp of the room made it quite uncomfortable.

- On our final night we stayed in a private room with an ensuite. The ensuite had mouldy walls, and was very poorly designed; when we tried to take showers, the entire room flooded.

-Finally, there isn't really a common area in the hostel, which is a real pity.

The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was OK. I just think that for the cost per night, this hostel needs to be a lot better. I have stayed in other places in Amsterdam that give you a lot more for your money. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorS647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    385
    106
    32
    16
See reviews for
57
124
281
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel is perfect located. Just 1 min walk from tram stations, about 15 mins walk from Amsterdam Central station. Staffs are quite friendly and kind. It's not expensive at all. The bed is comfortable, they also have lockers in your room to keep your personal belongings safe. Breakfast is noting special. I enjoyed visit Amsterdam and stay here. :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rongtai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed on 23rd June for 3 nights! Great location, staff very helpful and available 24 hrs, rooms and toilets/showers were very clean too and beds were surprisingly very comfortable.
couldn't find a fault and definitely would return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeC2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

As two first time travellers on an interrail pass, this hostel was very accomodating to our needs. Location was good, surrounded by lots of coffee shops, bars, clubs and a 5 minute walk to the station. Staff are friendly and knew the area well, the only downside is possibly a lack of a communal area which we find is good to meet new people! Despite having 2 crazy welsh boys in our slightly small room, we still had fun and it met all our needs!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The location of this hostel is great, 5 min walk from train station and dam square. The hostel was clean, and the free breakfast was good. The rooms weren't very big but there are free lockers to use to store luggage etc.

The hostel was quite and there was plenty of hot water.

For the price you can't go wrong

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel had a good location and service. The lockers in rooms doesn't have maintenance.

Definitely for young people that want to have some fun in Amsterdam.
The beds are very small but they are good enough


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Sahaely L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Property: Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing